We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3* Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good 3* Hotel”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed for the New Year's Eve celebration but will just review the hotel. We stayed in the Victoria Suite which is spacious and well equipped. However, although the bathroom was spacious and well decorated, the shower cubicle was very small. There were a number of nice extras such as chocolates on the pillow, complimentary newspaper and free room service (including a free hot drink brought to the room in the morning). However, the hotel does not offer free Wi-Fi, even in the public areas. It is difficult to review the dinner as it was a New Year's Eve function. The food was what you would expect for this type of event but surprisingly there was a choice of four main courses. The breakfast was very good. Customer service is of a high standard with friendly staff who are eager to please. We had the same waitress, Alice, for both dinner and breakfast. Despite the long hours she worked, she remained cheerful and helpful throughout. The hotel is also well situated, a short walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cringebythecurtains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    139
    46
    31
    26
See reviews for
43
196
36
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Spent a 3 day Christmas break in the Victoria Suite with my wife. The whole break from start to finish was excellent. The hotel is well maintained and makes a pleasant change from the usual hotel chains. The staff are very helpful and nothing is to much trouble for them.
A particular mention for Sylvia at breakfasts, a smiley start to the day

My favourite meal of the day is breakfast and these are wonderful. Im still thinking of the fried bread. In fact all the meal are fine.

A peaceful Christmas and totally relaxed which suited us just fine

If all is well we propose returning next year. Thank you Three Queens Hotel..

Room Tip: Try the Victoria Suite, it really is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed at The Three Queens Hotel last night. We are a couple with two young children. We originally booked The Three Queens Lodge but it wasn't available because of low occupancy due to the Xmas period, but we were not bothered in the slightest. We have stayed in The Three Queens Lodge, which is the adjoining accommodation, previously and were very impressed with it also.

On arrival we were greeted by Mary the lovely and helpful receptionist and she explained to us that we had been put in the hotel but due to our inconvenience (there wasn't any in our opinion!), we had been given a free breakfast and a hot drink and paper to be brought to our room. We thought this was a grand gesture considering it was hardly an inconvenience to be put in the hotel.

We were shown to the room and it was spotlessly clean and roomy, perfectly adequate for us and our two lively children. There was a huge bathroom, flat screen TV, tea and coffee, complimentary chocolates, internet access...i.e all the things you need to make you very comfortable and feel at home. The beds were comfortable and there was adequate bedding and the heating was just right but the rooms have air con in anyway, if you get too hot/cold. We went to a Christmas party and arrived back to another friendly greeting, infact the staff couldn't do enough for us and asked if there was anything we needed for us or the children.

We got the kids in bed and had a great nights sleep. Bang on time, a cup of tea, coffee and two orange juices for the kids and a paper arrived at 9am! We got ready for our complimentary breakfast and were served by a lovely waitress called Lisa. The selection was great and we settled on two full English and yoghurts and sausages and beans for the children. Lisa again couldn't do enough for us and even cut up my two year old's sausages for him! You never felt rushed or unattended to and it was the perfect start to a soggy December morning. The food was cooked to perfection and plentiful.

We checked out and tipped the staff as we felt they had gone above and beyond the requirements of what we were expecting for a budget nights accommodation while visiting family and friends in Burton Upon Trent. Having also stayed at The Travelodge on the A38 at this time of year, for around the same price, it was not a comparable experience. If you are looking for a good quality, friendly, comfortable hotel in Burton with fabulous staff, this is the hotel for you. Forget Travelodge, where you feel like a number and head to The Three Queens Lodge for personal service where you feel looked after. Will definitely be booking again soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyC123187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Well where to start? We arrived on Christmas Eve, met by Julia and with a warm welcome and a sherry, while details were registered. Then shown to our room ~ Elizabeth Suite which is apparently the Honeymoon Suite, complete with four poster bed and Spa bath. Much more than we expected when we booked our twin room! The food all throughout the three day stay was exceptional and the warmth and friendliness of all the staff was way above all expectations and made our relaxing break so much more enjoyable. Not only the front of house staff, but behind the scenes, it was obvious that the team worked well together.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
156 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Hotel is located near the centre of Burton, on a busy one-way junction. On arrival, I was told that I had been upgraded to an Executive room. However, if this was ‘executive’, I’d hate to have been left in a ‘standard’ room. Room and bathroom were small and cramped and the heating didn’t work.

On check out the next morning, I asked about the car wash service which was a part of the package for the room, but was told that my registration number should have been recorded on check in (it wasn’t), so unless I had time to wait (I hadn’t), it wouldn’t be done. Hopeless!

Full English Breakfast was reasonable, but for the overall price of £58, just not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trev2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights as a result of a groupon offer and were extremely impressed by all aspects of the hotel. Staff were friendly and professional, evening meals and breakfasts were nicely cooked and presented and our room was clean and well-equipped. What more could you want from a town hotel, which is not part of a large group? Well located with good walks by the river just a stone's throw away, although these were curtailed when we stayed there by recent flooding. We would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a local feel and a change from uniform chain hotels. We doubt you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a third floor room. It overlooked a main street but we hardly heard the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramblers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My wife and I have just spent a "Groupon" week-end at this hotel and we were both very impressed. The food was of a high quality and the staff very helpful and friendly. We were surprised how pleasant Burton on Trent is and enjoyed a very good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
305 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.6 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Property: The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Address: 1 Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tracing our roots, this 16th Century Hotel hides a venue for personal service, modern meeting facilities, Bar and Restaurant. We have 62 rooms in total within the Hotel and Lodge. These rooms range from our well-equipped standard singles through executive air-conditioned doubles and Four-Posters to luxury suites and newly refurbished Lodge. Facilities include an in-room entertainment system, 24 hour room service, car park and free WiFi in Public areas. Ideal for trips to The National Brewery Centre, Donington Park, Alton Towers, the Derbyshire Peak District or even the National Memorial Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Queens Hotel
Hotel Three Queens
The Three Queens Hotel And Lodge Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing