We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Venue for a Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
burton on trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Venue for a Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Earlier this month our son held his wedding at this hotel. From our first meeting with Julie, she put us at ease and we felt confident that the day would be great and problem free, which it was. All the hotel staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you. Julie advised and made suggestions we had never thought, along with arranging any special request we asked for, nothing was too much trouble. Thanks again Julie and your Staff for making our wedding a day to remember.
Excellent service, great food and a very friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_dughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your son's wedding reception, We really do love to deliver the day the happy couple dream of & all of the team really enjoy making it special for them (even if it means getting our dancing shoe's on, we're always happy to oblige!) We wish them both a very long & happy future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    134
    44
    29
    26
See reviews for
42
193
33
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

just had a 3 night kgb deal and apart from décor being a bit tired, everything else was spot on. Food seemed freshly cooked and choice wasn't restricted because we were paying very little for what was an enjoyable break .Room was fine but due to a leak in the air conditioning, had an upgrade to a suite which was even better. Staff very polite, would definitely go again.

Room Tip: although surrounded by a one way system, wasn't troubled by any noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay & we thank you for taking a few minutes to write a review. As a small independent hotel your comments really do mean a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

What could we expect from a KGB deal offering two nights accommodation, two three course dinners and two cooked breakfasts (each!) at the normal KGB sort of price? Our expectations were not high. But, how wrong we were! The Three Queens gave us high quality, beautifully presented food, excellent friendly service and very good accommodation. A very large, comfortable bed in a sizeable room with a very well appointed and spotless en-suite bathroom. A good sized TV and (at extra cost) internet and movies on demand. We were short of nothing. We would recommend the Three Queens without hesitation and we thank all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable and comfortable.

Room Tip: Having read that some rooms could possibly suffer traffic noise, I asked for a quiet location. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HB031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We always try to offer friendly, efficient service & value for money so we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights on a KGB deal and were really impressed. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, we were actually shown to our room, instead of being directed which made a refreshing change, the room was clean and everything matched for a change and there was air conditioning which was a blessing in the rare summer heat!
Breakfast was freshly prepared, not buffet style, and the food in the evening was excellent also the wine was not over priced which made a pleasant change. It's central for visiting many attractions around the area and only a short walk across the road and there is a lovely walk along the riverside most pleasant. I would have no hesitations in recommending this hotel and look forward to going back and staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as a team we really do appreciate your great comments & look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malterdingen, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for a weekend for a family wedding. All the staff we met were extremely friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast was fresh and tasty. The rooms, however, (Catherine Suite) were old-fashioned rather than traditional and looked rather tired.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a two night break in this well positioned Hotel and, given the price, were very pleasantly surprised at both the accommodation and food. Other people have commented upon the friendliness of the staff and, without doubt, we would agree that they are a tremendous asset for the Queens. Customer service in the restaurant is efficient and reasonably quick and the menu is well balanced and varied. We particularly thought that the "starters" and "sweets" on the dinner menu were very well presented and a credit to the (likely) Sous Chef. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: As so often the case, investing in an upgrade room is well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely words, our staff always try to provide the very best service & its lovely to hear that it was well received. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & I will also pass on your comments to the Kitchen team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

stayed for 3 nights on a deal, staff all A1 friendly , a great bargain and the food was of a good restaurant standard. if i was a local i would eat here as theres not much better around. a good central place for visiting the the areas around. rooms a little outdated but clean and had aircon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alandsueSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & also for recognising the quality of the food served in our restaurant. Taking a few minutes of your time to write a review for us is very kind indeed. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
0.4 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
27.3 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Property: The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Address: 1 Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tracing our roots, this 16th Century Hotel hides a venue for personal service, modern meeting facilities, Bar and Restaurant. We have 62 rooms in total within the Hotel and Lodge. These rooms range from our well-equipped standard singles through executive air-conditioned doubles and Four-Posters to luxury suites and newly refurbished Lodge. Facilities include an in-room entertainment system, 24 hour room service, car park and free WiFi in Public areas. Ideal for trips to The National Brewery Centre, Donington Park, Alton Towers, the Derbyshire Peak District or even the National Memorial Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Queens Hotel
Hotel Three Queens
The Three Queens Hotel And Lodge Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing