We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel. FIVE STAR PLUS SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel. FIVE STAR PLUS SERVICE”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I never have written a review before the end of my stay but on this occasion I am delighted to make an exception while my mind is fresh with so many praises for this place.

I learned that Mary "Queen of Scotts" actually stayed here the night before she was executed. The Hotel has heaps of history surrounding it which makes it that much more of a special place to stay for me. It would be great if you could include some historical information about the hotel in the guest information booklet as I'm sure many people would be fascinated by this.

My wife and I are staying here on a living social deal. Because my wife is a wheelchair user we asked for a room with a wheel in shower. We were given room 201 which is in the lodge and I have never been in a room so large and comfortable. It even has 2 bathrooms. One for wheelchair users and another large ordinary one which has both a bath and a shower and a seperate toilet too. The rooms are very cosy and are furnished to a very high standard. I would say more akin to 5 star standards. The rooms have a large TV and "quadriga" multimedia system with facilities for in room conferencing, Internet, Movies, Just about everything you could ask for. It even has a keyboard for surfing the internet.

We dined in the dining room on both evenings and we were very much impressed by the quality of the food. Absolutely Excellent. Well worth the £17.50 for the three courses. They even do an excellent Bar Meal menu.

Breakfast is waiter/waitress service and there is an excellent variety to choose from. They do both English or Continental and have alternative options such as Haddock with poached egg which is delicious, or oak smoked kippers, 3 egg omelet with a choice of fillings plus an excellent variety of cereals and fruit juices.

If there was one thing I would say to the hotel about the accessible bathroom it would be to provide a couple of grab rails on the wall where the shower is but having said that, my wife did manage but it would be nice to include this next time you refurbish.

All the staff here couldn't do enough to help make our stay a memorable one. You can't beat good old fashioned friendly sociable service. There is a happy aura among the staff here and this is oozes out to guests. They know exactly how to treat people and are always happy to help.

Without a moments hesitation, we would stay here again and I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a base to tour the Peak District, or visit Alton Towers or Chatsworth House. Burton-on-Trent itself is a quaint market town and has a market running every Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

I would like to finish with a personal note to all the hotel staff by saying a big "Thank you" for making our stay so very pleasant and memorable. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: if you need a wheelchair accessible room, go for 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words, It really does mean a lot to the whole team to hear that your stay has been a pleasant one. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    146
    48
    37
    26
See reviews for
48
204
37
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Situated about a 10 minute walk into town. Staff were very friendly and helpful, we even tipped a young girl and I feel so bad I can't remember her name. The food was excellent and our room was very comfortable. Although the decor was dated the hotel was very clean and the breakfast room was lovely and bright. My husband wasn't keen on the lift, our only exercise on a weekend away is normally climbing the stairs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seirian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent we stayed in this hotel on 16th Aug for 3 nights with four friends. Food was outstanding staff were really friendly agree with other reviews
regarding decor but service far outweighs this negative.We all will return so watch out for us motley crew.Keep up the good work ,you deserve succes

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review, it is really appreciated by the whole team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Three Queens Hotel is an excellent establishment, situated close to Burton's town centre. For me this hotel is great for a number of reasons. First, is it's location. It's located quite close to the Trent Bridge; a wonderful old bridge which spans the river Trent (the Trent contains a lovely old, large weir at this point.) Once you leave the hotel you can take two directions. You can walk over the Trent bridge and into neighbouring Stapenhill. The walk through Stapenhill gardens (especially in summer) us really quite wonderful. Or else you can go straight into Burton town centre which is only a 10 minute walk away

The hotel itself is very attractive, the rooms are large, bright and clean and the beds and furniture are very comfortable. The windows are well glazed so traffic noise is not a problem. The hotel staff are also very good and really make the place very friendly. Even when there is the occasional problem, the staff are always on hand to put things right as soon as they can.

Another selling point for me is the breakfast. Rather than serving the traditional buffet, the breakfast is cooked to order. The full English is nice, but if you fancy something a little lighter and healthier, the poached haddock is excellent, so too are the kippers.

Given the quality of service, its excellent location and friendly staff, I doubt you will find a better place to stay in Burton than this.

On a final note, Burton has a proud history as a major brewing town. The town is still bursting with plenty of proper decent pubs, so too is neighbouring Stapenhill. The large Coors brewery (formerly known as Bass) and its visitors centre is located in the town centre and many other smaller independent breweries also serve many of the local pubs. The Burton Bridge Brewery in particular owns six pubs one of which, 'The Burton Bridge', is a delightful real ale pub and is literally just over the road from the hotel!

We are frequent visitors to this hotel and I will happily recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor_from_afar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
It is lovely to hear that as a frequent guest you enjoy your time with us. It means a lot to hear from you & that we are getting things right - we believe there's nothing better than starting your day with a freshly cooked breakfast! We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Recently stayed on a living social deal for two nights as it was a bargain and we wanted a base to explore the area. As others have reported it could do with a re-vamp in public places but the restaurant and our double bedroom was really nice. I can't reiterate enough on what others have said about the food and the staff. First the breakfast was exceptional, all freshly cooked to order and so many choices ie full English, kippers, smoked haddock and poached eggs etc etc....the evening meal was also delicious. We ate out on our second night at an Indian restaurant just down the road and that too was brilliant. However, undoubtably it is the staff here that make your stay so unforgettable, they were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Wish them all good luck with the take over, if the new owner has any sense he won't replace the staff !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room with aircon when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay & I can assure you that the new owners have no intention of changing the staffing - just the decor! The staff are the heart of any hotel & we are very happy with our great team. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed the same weekend as Jeanp below, and also enjoyed the histrionics of '22 minutes!' steak man. The staff were fantastic, dealt with him quietly and politely and my wife and I - celebrating our first anniversary - enjoyed a giggle at his expense later that night.

We actually got this on a KGB/wowcher deal for £100 when it was worth 3x that - but any suspicion we had about the budget price were put aside with the lovely room and fantastic food. Genuinely can't understand the complaints from the 'terrible' reviewers - must've been bad luck because the quality of the 3 course dinners was superb - worth the price on their own. Excellent location for the town centre too - only thing it needs is a lick of paint - it's not shoddy by any stretch but there are areas that could use some TLC.Thanks for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_BBradwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your review, your comments do mean a lot to all of our staff. We are really pleased to hear that you chose to stay with us on your first anniversary, its a very special occasion & we are happy to be a part of it. We are looking at improving our decoration over the coming months so we hope that you will visit again & have another great stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Well just back from Three Queens Hotel and cannot say enough about the fab food. We stayed two nights Friday and Saturday and both nights we had 3 Courses and different menus each night. We all said that the food is 5* and is up there with the best Hotels.

Admittedly the Hotel could do with a re-vamp, but nothing major really.

The staff are all under pressure due to changes which are taking place but they are so kind and friendly to everyone.

We think the Breakfast would be better if it was Buffet style, as we found the dining room full to capacity and staff running round like headless chickens this morning. Most good Hotels now do Buffet Breakfasts and it means the food is hot and fresh when you get it on your plate.

Thank you to you all, we had a fab time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ziotisbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, it is only with customer feedback that we can improve our standards of service. I am happy to say that your comments have been passed on to our breakfast team & they are now periodically reviewing our service. Breakfast can be demanding and unlike the restaurant, guests do not have to book a table &so on occasion they do all seem to arrive at once. We are pleased that to hear that you enjoyed your stay & we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
75 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
497 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
312 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Property: The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Address: 1 Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tracing our roots, this 16th Century Hotel hides a venue for personal service, modern meeting facilities, Bar and Restaurant. We have 62 rooms in total within the Hotel and Lodge. These rooms range from our well-equipped standard singles through executive air-conditioned doubles and Four-Posters to luxury suites and newly refurbished Lodge. Facilities include an in-room entertainment system, 24 hour room service, car park and free WiFi in Public areas. Ideal for trips to The National Brewery Centre, Donington Park, Alton Towers, the Derbyshire Peak District or even the National Memorial Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Queens Hotel
Hotel Three Queens
The Three Queens Hotel And Lodge Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing