We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing ......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing ......”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Oh dear oh dear ob dear.......

Well they're trying in every sense of word. Charmless reception, a suite that all you can hear all night us the damn central heating humming and after asking 3 times for the dessert ordered in the bar before giving up and I trust the picture is painted.

Ordering breakfast is painful with everything off the menu and tables that begged to be cleared but with not enough staff just doesn't happen

Don't take the car as parking insufficient!....on short there is better nearby for the money !

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Samtom1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am disappointed to hear that you did not find your stay an enjoyable experience. The hotel does need some cosmetic work & we are planning this over the coming months with investment from the new owners. Most guests find our breakfast service refreshing in the fact that everything is cooked to order instead of being a dried out buffet that most typical "chain" establishments offer & unlike our evening dinning we do not ask guests to book a table for breakfast so we can never know if everyone is going to descend at the same time, for this I do apologise & I can assure you it is a very unusual for a delay during our breakfast service.I do sincerely hope that you will take the time to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    139
    45
    31
    26
See reviews for
43
196
36
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I was also at the HMS Tartar reunion and completely agree with linpowe's comments. Ample car parking and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel which is not your "anonymous chain type" For real ale drinkers this is a must with the Burton Bridge Brewery just across the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We really do appreciate your kind words, as a small independent hotel reviews really do mean a a lot to us. We really enjoyed being part of your reunion weekend too. We really do try our very best to ensure you all have great memories of your stay with us & we hope that you will find the time to visit if your ever near Burton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just returned from HMS Tartar Reunion weekend which was held at this hotel.
It was SUPERB. 'Highly recommended'
The hotel does look a little tired in places but it certainly made up for it in all other ways.
It is clean and comfortable, the food is magnificent and lots of it. The staff are the nicest and friendliest I have ever come across, nothing is too much trouble. They go way out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. You have the 'Personal Touch' which is often missing in the bigger hotels.
It's the ideal place to stay for a visit to the National Arboretum.
A big 'THANK YOU' to Julia and her staff for making our weekend so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linpowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We also had a great time over the weekend of the HMS Tartar reunion & met some lovely people. We hope if any of you are in the area again you will find time to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is a little tired, however, this is more than made up for by the staff, they have a great team of people at this hotel. Its location is perfect for getting out and about. The room was clean and tidy. The food was very good, we were on a set menu, so cannot comment on the rest of the menu. Overall we had a nice stay in Burton, thanks to the Three Queens Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking at some investment into the décor in the near future. We hope you will take the time to visit us again, Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we really appreciate your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were given every corticy. The room was spacious clean and comfortable.
Meals were delicious, and all the staff could not be faulted for friendliness or attention to detail
Thank you all for a lovely stay
the Galloways

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is really appreciated by the whole team. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay & we really hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is an oasis in what is a drab working class town. It is the ideal base for exploring the countryside and the nearby places of interest.
The accomodation was comfortable. The menu was varied and the quality of food was excellent. They had made good use of the evening dining room which created an intermate atmosphere.Breakfast was good and served by friendly staff, in fact all the staff were a pleasure to speak to.
Rumour is that this hotel may be about to change ownership, so lets hope they keep their friendly image

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakesideboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, as a small independent hotel it really does mean a lot to us. We are looking to invest in the décor in the near future but all the staff will certainly stay the same, we are really proud of our team who all work hard to ensure each guest has a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

After a two night stay at the Three Queens we came home completely relaxed and with a big smile .I would like to give the staff a big thankyou for being kind and considerate and patient. when we arrived we were given a free upgrade to a suite which was excellent two teles his and hers sinks beautiful rooms.We had a lovely meal waited on by Lisa a very nice lady is very informative excellent in her profession.The town has a wonderful shopping centre and plenty of places to dine.A short drive out of town there are many places to visit to many to name.Altogether a lovely weekend .We
will be going back. Cant praise this hotel enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick007Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
It is really lovely to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us & that you had a relaxing time. Our team work hard to ensure each of guests leave happy & have a memorable stay with us, so I thank you for your kind words, it really is appreciated by all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Property: The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Address: 1 Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tracing our roots, this 16th Century Hotel hides a venue for personal service, modern meeting facilities, Bar and Restaurant. We have 62 rooms in total within the Hotel and Lodge. These rooms range from our well-equipped standard singles through executive air-conditioned doubles and Four-Posters to luxury suites and newly refurbished Lodge. Facilities include an in-room entertainment system, 24 hour room service, car park and free WiFi in Public areas. Ideal for trips to The National Brewery Centre, Donington Park, Alton Towers, the Derbyshire Peak District or even the National Memorial Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Queens Hotel
Hotel Three Queens
The Three Queens Hotel And Lodge Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing