We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotty B”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scotty B”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Amazing food!! Way too cheap for the quality of its ingredients! It's food you'd find in fine dining restaurants at pub prices!
Great fast service and atmosphere, best pub in burton FACT :-)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    39
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“best creme brulee ever!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just had lunch at the Bell Inn and it was wonderful. Lovely bright natural light, tables not too close and quiet background music.Iideal atmosphere and great value for your money. Bubble and squeak that was delicious and the best creme brulee with orange segments and shortcake I have ever had (and I have had a few). All homemade and excellent and overseen by chef/landlord and lady that obviously care about good food. Well done!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dasanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire Uk
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Our New Big Favourite”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Four of us have dined at the Bell twice in the last six weeks. It won't be long before we are coming back again. This is our new favourite restaurant.

Firstly, the food is fantastic. Top restaurant quality at reasonable prices. Every course we have had has been fresh, wholesome and delicious, and obviously designed and prepared by someone who knows exactly what they are doing. The sauces are delectable and the dishes are always slightly different to anything else we have had elsewhere, but always perfect. Importantly, the meals are also of a good portion size. You definitely don't go home hungry from this restaurant.

The restaurant is part of a Marstons pub, which is ambient and friendly. The cask ales are kept and served perfectly. If this pub isn't in the Camra guide, then it absolutely should be. A really welcoming atmosphere pervades the whole establishment.

In summary: stop searching and just make a reservation. You won't regret it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MickMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A dilemma of head and heart”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My head says I must tell you just how good The Bell is under it's new owners, but my heart says keep it to yourself or they'll all want to go!
We had lunch, it was just 8 weeks since Jo & Kevin started serving food at The Bell. Don't be fooled by the menu, it might not be full of flowery descriptions, but the quality of the food is what matters here - and such fantastic flavours. This is pub food, but done very very well, if you doubt it, check the chef's cv on the pub's website. Though not claiming to cater for special diets, my wife was delighted with the kitchen's flexibility to accommodate her gluten free needs. Definitely on our revisit list.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PDC1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub done with style!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I ate here twice in 2 days, the first time i was in a hurry and wanted something big and heavy due to meeting friends for drinks. So i ordered the burger, i asked for onion rings but theses weren't on the menu. the burger came to me in a basket very quickly and efficiently. the basket didn't do it justice as for this burger was a beast of a burger. it was so big i had to eat it in 2 sections. it had melted cheese, crispy onions, bbq sauce and something different pulled pork shoulder on top of the beef burger lets not forget the salad. the bun was different but worked. As you can tell i enjoyed it a lot. i will defiantly be going back for another. by the end of it i couldn't eat another thing, quite happy i didn't have onion rings now. when you go to most restaurants you order a burger then pay extra for cheese, bacon, onions and before you know where you are you have spent £15, not here i paid £8 and had the works! almost to cheap for such good quality of a burger.
Then i had lunch date here and had a 2 course lunch we wanted 3 but was far to stuffed to fit a dessert in. Welsh rarebit topped haddock, a classic but a favourite and loved it. The atmosphere was nice and service was amazing. the lunch came to £24 with drinks. once again to cheap for what we had.
As i have been twice and the quality of the food and service was consistent and top quality of food i will defiantly be making it a regular eatery.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chef traveler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing