We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...great atmosphere”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food...great atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I've visited The Bell Inn a number of times now, and thought I should write a quick review.
The pub is set in a lovely rural location, the staff/service is fantastic and welcoming, the food is fabulous every time, good choice of ales, all at very reasonable prices as is the food. I just cannot fault this place, looking forward to my next visit already!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarkMosedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    39
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Burton on Trent
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Decided last minute to go out for dinner, luckily for us The Bell was serving Sunday dinner until 3pm. Had to wait 20 minutes for starters as there were other tables full before us, was well worth it though. Started with a Prawn salad and had Salmon and Hake for mains, all was cooked to perfection. All well presented and £45 for 2 starters and 3 mains (1was a child's portion), also 5-6 soft drinks. Looking forward to trying the weekday menu now!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petebelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Kid friendly”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I never booked arrived with 2 kids was politely told they needed table by 1945. The waiter was good with my kids the food was lovely 5 & 9 year old both eat medium rare steak it was cooked perfectly.my lamb was excellent highly recommend. Thank u

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzdaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Value!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Easily the best food in Burton and the best chips I've ever eaten! All at a very reasonable price and fantastic location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wood_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ANOTHER excellent meal!!!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Never been disappointed by any aspect of a night out at The Bell!!!
Food, service and atmosphere just perfect.hard not to go back to old favourites such as duck breast! stroganoff and lamb rump, but smoked haddock rarebit and goats cheese and red onion tarte tatin we'll worth the change from our favourites. Always something new to try... Summer pudding- with home grown wild strawberry. FAB!! A word of advice... Whatever you decide upon, try to save room for the chips...perfect chips are hard to achieve... And these ARE perfect chips!!!
Thanks Kev, Jo and Hannah (who looked a after us tonight...) Great pre-hols treat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allx_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing