We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great atmosphere anytime!”

The Brewery Tap Restaurant and Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Brewery Tap bar and restaurant offers a fine range of casked real ales, including the famous White Shield Worthington brewed on site. This restaurant offers a traditional range of dishes and their signature beef and Worthington Ale pie, plus beer battered cod. There is also an express lunch menu and a bar snacks menu, including the Brewery Tap's platters to share.The Brewery Tap is part of the National Brewery Centre in Burton upon Trent, including the former Bass Museum which offers daily tours, events, function and business meeting rooms and also beer and food matching banquets.
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We usually visit after work or lunchtimes, its always a good time.

The beer is great with a wide and varied choice, the food is the same.

Sunday lunch is a great alternative to cooking at home - well worth a try.

Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david e, General Manager at The Brewery Tap Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. Its great to hear that once again we were able to ensure you had an enjoyable experience at the National Brewery Centre. We look forward to welcoming you back time & time again

Kindest Regard's

David Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Decided to go for a family meal early Friday evening. Our family arrived at different times so we ordered separately. Our first order went through fine but when we tried to place the second order we was told we was to late, it was 7.00 PM. Then a large party came and we couldn't hear ourselves think. If they had told us in advance we would have gone in the restaurant. When I complained the waitress said she would come back to me, we didn't see her again. Very disapointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david e, General Manager at The Brewery Tap Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to give us this constructive feedback, I was saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the National Brewery Centre.

We did have a large party that night going into our marquee and as you mentioned the gesture of seating you in the restaurant would have been a better option than you sitting in the bar, I can only apologise that this option was not given to you and assure you that I will raise this with the catering manager and ensure this does not happen again.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback and I do hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the not to distant future

Kindest Regards

David Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Decided to have a late lunch here on a quiet Friday afternoon after visiting the adjacent National Brewery Centre. We were the sole occupants of the restaurant area so not much atmosphere but the service was outstanding and the food both tasty and excellent value for money. The beers were impeccable too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Swetrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david e, General Manager at The Brewery Tap Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, I was pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and you enjoyed both the food and the service at the National Brewery Centre. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kindest Regards

David Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Up here for trip to Alton Towers. Food was very nice but waitress was too busy gassing to other customers to clear table and get bill. Sat for 10mins waiting to go and had to wait for her to finish talking about horses. Poor service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Boltybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S, Owner at The Brewery Tap Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Sorry to read that your visit was not quite up to expectations. Our team are normally very attentive and customer service important to us so our apologies that on this occasion we got bogged down with horse chatter! Hope you forgive this lapse and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Bar was really good and the waiting staff really nice and helpful, however, the chef is definitely somewhat 'up himself'. On ordering Scones with 'clotted' cream according to the menu. The plate turned up with a small potful of something that was unidentifiable and definitely NOT clotted cream. Had it analysed after the visit and it had similar ingredients to those used in the aerosol cans of squirty cream, very little in the way of natural cream, mostly vegetable fats and definitely no resemblance at all the 'clotted' cream. On reporting this to the waiter (obviously before we had it analysed which happened later) he went and spoke to the chef who had the audacity to claim that it was clotted cream. All I can say to that is that if his ability to identify clotted cream is anything to go by I would suggest that you avoid eating any of his recipes as goodness knows what his interpretation of other foods is. Sorry National Brewing Centre the rest of your staff are all really working hard and it is appreciated.

Thank Dottykat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david e, General Manager at The Brewery Tap Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us this valuable feedback and I am sorry to hear that the scones were not up to our usual standard.

I have spoken to the head chef and he will raise your feedback with the kitchen brigade to ensure this does not occur again

I was pleased to hear that our waiting staff have ensured our guests receive the highest level of customer care and I will ensure I pass on your kind words

Once again thank you for this valuable feedback and allowing us to improve our business and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Brewery tap bar & restaurant in the near future

Sincerely

David Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brewery Tap Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent
 

Been to The Brewery Tap Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing