We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, leisurely lunch”
Review of Skinny Kitten Cafe

Skinny Kitten Cafe
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, leisurely lunch”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My friend and I met at The Skinny Kitten for a leisurely lunch and catch up. The staff were warm and welcoming and we had a choice of equally quaint and homely rooms to relax in. We chose halloumi ciabatta which was served quickly and was accompanied by home made coleslaw and fresh side salad. I have had many a latte in my time and can honestly say the one I had here was perfect in taste, temperature and presentation. The sensational selection of cakes proved too tempting to be overlooked and the home made coffee cake and chocolate cake we shared didn't disappoint! We stayed for about 2 hours and at no time did we feel rushed. We left feeling relaxed and very content and can honestly say we will return. :-)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jewel In The Crown of Barton Under Needwood”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My first visit and it will not be my last an absolutely lovely quirky place ,my husband and I stopped of at this little gem on our way through Barton , and we will definitely be back .The food was fantastic and the best hot chocolate and milkshakes ever .The staff were so friendly nothing was to much trouble and the great atmosphere was amazing .......love this place :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“PURRRFECT!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Loved it, went for afternoon tea with my wife and mother, greeted well and shown table in the back. Lovely decor (shabby), and was akin to sitting in my grans house back in the day. A nice selection of egg, ham, cheese & salmon sandwiches on brown and white with crusts cut off of course. Tea in the pot as you'd expect, and lovely china tableware, all matching. No rush, and tea topped up followed by macaroons and scones (definitely homemade) and scrumptious. Selection of 2 types of jam and fresh whipped cream (although I'd prefer clotted), but now I'm picking. Great job, thanks very much. Defo return

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Auzz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Skinny Kitten is a little gem”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Barton-under-Needwood is very lucky to have such a quirky place to meet friends and enjoy a relaxing coffee, tea and or light lunch. All the staff are very friendly and attentive when you need them. It has five different seating areas including, what I would call a 'Toys and Noise' room and a separate dining room for functions or larger groups. I discovered recently Skinny Kitten also does outside catering too. Steph, my contact, was so helpful in choosing interesting and unusual canapés for my husband's birthday party, as well as supplying his particular favourite - devils on horseback. I also asked them to make a lovely large bowl of potato salad, to relieve me as I was doing the rest of the catering myself. We did not know what to expect, but were delighted with the quality and presentation of the canapes. They looked stunning displayed on a variety of boards, trays and vintage tiered cake stands (all on loan). Our guests were very impressed. My only regret was not taking photos of the delicious food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great stop on a bike ride”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Don't take any notice of the bad reviews. This is a great little 'find'. There's a driveway just to the right that leads round the back where there is a cycle rack. Seating inside and out the back. There were several people there with kids and they seemed happy enough. A group inside were having some sort of business meeting obviously enjoying the drinks and food. We had coffee, tea and beans of toast, perfect for cycling and good portions on tasty buttered toast. Very friendly. Good service. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PeatGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skinny Kitten Cafe also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Skinny Kitten Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing