We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting busier! ”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Red Lion is situated just off the A515 and is an ideal venue for all occasions. We are close to St George's Park, Tatenhill Air Field, Trent Raceway, Old Bakers Cottage B&B, Newborough Cottages and Hoar Cross Hall & Spa. We have a lovely bar area with open fire. Our restaurant can accommodate 45 guests and also fantastic new bar area. We welcome families, walkers, cyclists, dogs and large parties. Our daily menu is available from 12pm-2.30Pm with dinner menu available from 5-9.30 Tuesday to Saturday. Sunday Lunch is served 12-6 pm.
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Had another superb lunch here, food faultless, menu changes regularly which is so nice to see. Staff are always excellent. Came back the following day - couldn't get a table! Nice for them disappointing for us so looks like we'll have to start booking!
God only knows why the previous review said Sunday lunch was average - I bought a table of 14 not long ago and it was unanimously agreed to be the the best Sunday lunch anyone had had.
Highly recommend but better start planning your visit!

1  Thank Hoppo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hello Sarah H, Thank you for your fantastic review of The Red Lion. We are so pleased you continue to enjoy visiting us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 308 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Visited on Sunday for lunch, restaurant not very busy so service was fine. Basic Sunday menu choices. Pleasant place for a quick meal but nothing special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Port86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello Port86 thank you for taking the time to review The Red Lion. I am a little disappointed you found us to be basic, but would welcome any suggestions you may have if you think we can improve. I hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We fell upon the Red Lion quite by chance really, but what a wonderful find it was too. There are few establishments of this quality that would welcome a family with a dog, but Ruby was spoilt by the staff while we were there.

We went along for Sunday lunch and were treated to a delicious meal, my wife and I opted for the rotisserie chicken which was so succulent and it has to be one of the tastiest chickens I have ever had (sorry Mum!). The staff were very attentive and polite, and incredibly accommodating as my son was looking forward to cod and chips which despite not being on the menu for Sunday they did it for hime anyway. My daughter had fish cakes which were also delicious. Ruby had a dog biscuit - on the house!

Sadly we did not have sufficient room for a dessert - but I am not complaining as we will just have to visit once again! It was all very good value as well considering the quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Iain thank you for taking the time to review The Red Lion. As a country pub we felt it important to allow families with dogs in one of the Bar areas,as we are able to offer a second bar and restaurant area where we do not allow dogs. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Turned up ad hoc on a Saturday evening to find the restaurant full ( we should of booked) however we had a great meal in the bar, friendly staff and a great place to just chill out. Looking forward to going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hello Adam thank you for taking the time to review The Red Lion and I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were camping near Utoxeter and went for a drive in the sunshine. We came across this pub quite by accident and popped in for a drink. It was lovely and clean and recently refurbished. We liked it so much there, we went back in the evening for a meal. We had really good service and the food was tasty and well presented. We took their card and will be back the next time we are in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gwendoline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello Gwendoline thank you very much for your positive comments and taking the time to review The Red Lion. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing