We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Red Lion is situated just off the A515 and is an ideal venue for all occasions. We are close to St George's Park, Tatenhill Air Field, Trent Raceway, Old Bakers Cottage B&B, Newborough Cottages and Hoar Cross Hall & Spa. We have a lovely bar area with open fire. Our restaurant can accommodate 45 guests and also fantastic new bar area. We welcome families, walkers, cyclists, dogs and large parties. Our daily menu is available from 12pm-2.30Pm with dinner menu available from 5-9.30 Tuesday to Saturday. Sunday Lunch is served 12-6 pm.
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Lovely home cooked food. Couldn't ask for more. Great service and at a good price. Will definitely be back for more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bert106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Bert106

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am really glad you enjoyed our food and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 269 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Friendly staff and a great pint of peroni, food was amazing, the wife had the lamb dish which for the price it was great value for money. I had the speciality chicken dish which was either a 1/4, 1/2 or full bird. I went for the half which was really delicious. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Phill

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am really glad you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our son recommended The Red Lion at Newborough and today we took him up on his recommendation. It lived up to our expectation and beyond. Delicious meal, wonderful service, great atmosphere, efficient and friendly service. Very good value. We ate in the bar, as the restaurant was booked for a party, no downside as the atmosphere was fun and inclusive. Would certainly take picky friends to this Gastropub and highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanna4153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Jenny

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us at the Red Lion and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Friendly staff and good service but food was bland and lacking in flavour poor vegetarian choice on the Sunday menu . Frozen grapes with cheeseboard which is not stated on menu .. Disappointed first time customers :-(((((

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Jenny

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we take all comments on board. I am so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your first visit to us at the Red Lion.

We do have a reduced menu on a Sunday which offers great value for money. However we are looking to increase and expand our offering, providing more options and choice. This will means there will a greater choice for vegetarians as well.

I hope you will return to give us another chance.

Kind Regards Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

6 of us went to red lion. Nice atmosphere from walkin in.good food good service. Steaks cooked to perfection fish and pasta the same. Staff friendly. Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gonzdaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi gonzdaf, thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lion. I am please you enjoyed your visit, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing