We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub ...”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Red Lion is situated just off the A515 and is an ideal venue for all occasions. We are close to St George's Park, Tatenhill Air Field, Trent Raceway, Old Bakers Cottage B&B, Newborough Cottages and Hoar Cross Hall & Spa. We have a lovely bar area with open fire. Our restaurant can accommodate 45 guests and also fantastic new bar area. We welcome families, walkers, cyclists, dogs and large parties. Our daily menu is available from 12pm-2.30Pm with dinner menu available from 5-9.30 Tuesday to Saturday. Sunday Lunch is served 12-6 pm.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pub ...”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

After many visits to the Red Lion, we thought it was take time to write a review. My wife and I are Newborough locals and visit the Red Lion at least once a week.

The pub is excellent and it is particularly pleasing to notice the deserving success it is having following redevelopment earlier this year.

The staff are wonderful; they're very friendly and always do their best whether you're a regular or first time visitor.

The food is consistently great, which in my view, is difficult for any pub/restaurant to achieve and maintain.

As far drinks, there's plenty variety and it's all served with a smile.

Excellent pub, great food and wonderful staff!

David & Jo

Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi David P,

Thank you so much for your glowing review, we are so pleased you continue to enjoy your experiences at the Red Lion. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    51
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Lovely home cooked food. Couldn't ask for more. Great service and at a good price. Will definitely be back for more.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Bert106

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am really glad you enjoyed our food and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Friendly staff and a great pint of peroni, food was amazing, the wife had the lamb dish which for the price it was great value for money. I had the speciality chicken dish which was either a 1/4, 1/2 or full bird. I went for the half which was really delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Phill

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am really glad you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Well worth a Visit”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our son recommended The Red Lion at Newborough and today we took him up on his recommendation. It lived up to our expectation and beyond. Delicious meal, wonderful service, great atmosphere, efficient and friendly service. Very good value. We ate in the bar, as the restaurant was booked for a party, no downside as the atmosphere was fun and inclusive. Would certainly take picky friends to this Gastropub and highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna4153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Jenny

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us at the Red Lion and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Friendly staff and good service but food was bland and lacking in flavour poor vegetarian choice on the Sunday menu . Frozen grapes with cheeseboard which is not stated on menu .. Disappointed first time customers :-(((((

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Jenny

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we take all comments on board. I am so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your first visit to us at the Red Lion.

We do have a reduced menu on a Sunday which offers great value for money. However we are looking to increase and expand our offering, providing more options and choice. This will means there will a greater choice for vegetarians as well.

I hope you will return to give us another chance.

Kind Regards Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing