We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday Night's Alright for Sleeping...or perhaps not!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grail Court Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I recently stayed at the Grail Court Hotel for a stag night with a group of friends.

Firstly I would like to comment on the positives as I appreciate the negative points may be on account of my personal preferences, rather than being significant faults with the hotel itself.

The foyer, reception and restaurant are well decorated and provide a nice atmosphere upon entering the hotel. The hotel is well situated for the town, with the benefit of parking facilities to boot. The hotel is reasonably clean and price wise I guess it could also be deemed reasonable if it is just a room for the night you're looking for.

From my personal perspective though there were a few issues which did prejudice my opinion.

Firstly the cost of the rooms, these were typically £55 per room and we were offered the bunk room for £45 at what was made to sound like a favour. We were located at the top off the hotel, so despite the reasonable size of the rooms this was compromised by the pitched roof (and subsequent bumped heads).

Sadly there were no bathroom facilities within our room, which meant using one of the difficult to flush shared toilets and the sub-1 metre wide shower cubicle (which was too small to get a proper photo of) or the bath, which looked a bit too grimy for my liking.

Although the rooms were dated and in need of modernising (or even just a lick of paint and some new bedding), they were clean.

The real problem for me was nightclub, Merlin's connected to the hotel. Initially we did visit this, but found it a bit run down and the clientele a tad thuggish, so went back up to the room to sleep. As you'd expect when sleeping above a nightclub this was extremely loud and made sleeping on Saturday night a real problem, particularly as the smoking area was at the back of our room. Not to mention the sound of the fixings in the room vibrating to the beat of the music.

I eventually got to sleep between 02:30 and 03:00, determined not to let the hardcore rave party and insightful chatter get the better of me. Fortunately though we were at the back as a fight broke out on the street from those revellers leaving the club.

If there wasn't a nightclub associated with the hotel I would have rated Grail Court 3 out of 5, but a terrible night's sleep made it an unhappy visit.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevedb076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for The Grail Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2009

Stayed at the Grail Court for one night by myself, arrived late from Newcastle, but had arranged for a late arrival by calling beforehand. Great location - only a 5-10 minute walk from rail station, past Coors/Bass brewery, hotel is close to Sainsbury's, and many shops and restaurants as well. Room was decent, not luxury but for what I paid, not bad. Decor in hotel and restaurant very Arthurian, with knight and all. A bit of noise from the street, as its located at a busy intersection, but with windows closed it wasn't too bad. Breakfast was great, very filling and friendly service from the gent who served it. All in all, a good value for not a lot of pounds! Definitely would go return.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JCS276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

The location is great, very close to city centre, and easy access by car and rail. Secure parking and free WiFi are definitely a plus.
Room and bath were very spacious, though they might need a little refurnishment (I'd appreciate a shower curtain). Beakfast was good too. We were confused about their prices: we found three different prices for a double (website, online booking, telephone) and paid the average in the end.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Knabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

spent the night in grail hotel very nice place had no complaints staff very obliging kettle diddnt work on arrival and was changed within mins, room very clean nice white towels breakfast was great i really would reccomend this hotel and hope to stay again. stayed in rm 23 got a couple of interesting pics of orbs for any one thats intruiged well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanbrough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2007

We use the Grail Court Hotel maybe 2 or three times a year, and wouldn't want to use anywhere else in Burton for our stays in this town.

Rooms are reasonable but you get what you pay for and really hard to fault for the price. They are clean and tidy and I think once, one of our party had a problem with his room, but this was sorted straight away by the staff. I have to add at this point, that we have never been charged a deposit for a TV remote.

Staff are FANTASTIC and welcoming and make the hotel almost a family gathering. I am not just saying that because we go there so much, they were as friendly on our first stay as our last.

Breakfast is breakfast and just what you would expect, apart from that, I personally haven't had a meal there, but others have and didn't have a bad word to say....

Stayed: December 2007
Thank TheDobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2007

I stayed here on business for a week in the middle of May.
It's not a particularly modern hotel but is all the better for it. The entrance and restaurant especially are nicely decorated in a King Arthur style, with suits of armour propping up pillars and walls.
The rooms are spacious with a sofa and tv. My only complaint was the bathroom; there's no shower, just an attachment on the bath which was hard to get a decent temperature on and the taps often stuck.
However, the excellent service more than made up for it. The owners go out of their way to deliver great service and were very helpful. Room service was available.
The food in the restaurant was one of the best things about my stay, it was gorgeous! The resident's menu started from £3.95 for specials going up to about £12/13 for steaks. All the meals were freshly cooked and well presented.
The location was very convenient, with the shopping centre about a minute's walk away and a Sainsbury's across the road.
The hotel also provides free parking for residents which was great.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2007

We stay at Grail Court every year and have never had a bad experience. The rooms aren' t upto the standard on the Hilton, but neither are the prices. The staff are friendly and entertaining in themselves. Its located close to the centre of town and in easy walking distance of most of the nightlife in the area. Overall, it's good value foe money..

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biffa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.4 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
318 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grail Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grail Court Hotel

Address: Station Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: £52 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grail Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Grail Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing