We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoar Cross
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The suite was elegant and the champagne bar and dining areas were grand. The spa facilities were excellent and the range of treatments were superb. The full body massage was a wonderful treat. The place was charming!

Room Tip: Plump for a suite, pure luxury
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear RupiM,

I am delighted you enjoyed your visit so much, thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review for us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,210)
There are newer reviews for Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,519 - 1,525 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

The reviews of this spa made us feel nervous, and wish at times that we had consulted Trip Advisor before booking. On arrival the receptionist Ros could not have been more helpful and welcoming,she gave us all the info we needed and even offered to buy my forgetful friend some gym shoes. What service is that!!.
The room 224 was in the new section and it was wonderful overlooking the gardens. Large and very clean, no complaints there.
Food again was great, especially the breakfast and lunch, both of which are buffet and the desserts at lunch could not be resisted, didn't help with the diet.

The Spa, yes, its dated in places and slightly dirty towards the end of the day, but very relaxing, we both enjoyed he palates class,and the instructor was very enthusiastic and made it fun. Did not have treatments due to poor reviews on TA.

Another person that needs a special mention is Lee the porter, he spent a lot of times with us showing us around the hotel and was obviously proud of the establishment and his job, Thanks again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andjo187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear andjo187064,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff, Ros and Lee are both very valued members of our team and very grateful you have taken the time to give them a mention.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Had a day spa with my cousin. We have been to this spa on several occasions but now feel we have been for the last time. There was a distinct lack of staff around the spa, no offering of any last minute treatments, the hairdresssers was closed, and although there were no places available for a manicure, we only saw one customer at the nail bar all day. The lunch was the biggest let down. The service was very poor. The soup was tepid at best and we had to ask for a roll. Dirty plates were left far too long, and we again had to ask for the sweet menu. The restaurant was very busy and staff seemed to struggle to cope. Finally there was no complimentary tea/coffee as we had previously had when we visited. The cafe near the restaurant was piled high with dirty dishes, we wanted tea but this was not a pleasant experience, and no one seemed to be using this room! This is not a cheap place to visit and we left feeling value for money has gone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dansmom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Public Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear DansMom66,

I am very concerned to read you feel disappointed with your resent visit, please contact me directly and I will try to ensure your next visit is memorable for all the right reasons should you wish to return.


kInd Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just returned from 2 days at Hoar Cross Hall. Room was luxurious and treatments and classes were all good. The food at dinner was outstanding and the champagne bar very good. my only fault is there appears not to be enough staff on hand and a lot of people coming on day passes makes the spa area very busy. When you are paying a lot of money for an overnight stay it would be better to limit day passes so that you do not have to wait for jaccuzi and sauna.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear iwom1966,
Many thanks for writing a review, its great to hear you enjoyed your treatments and classes.

We have now put a limit on the number of day guests, to avoid over crowding.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A confused hotel /Spa is the only way I can politely describe, on arrival receptionist very helpful, the dining area, Champagne bar and gallery wonderful charm to it after that the majority of the rooms were similar to what I have seen in Care homes, leatherette sofa's and chairs. The look and feel after the main hall is dated, dated, dated. In my opinion the older part of the Spa should be just shut down along with the rather odd upvc room where you can relax while people can walk around looking in and with the views of the open maintenance room. Newer part fantastic and more enjoyable, the bedroom was adequate good size, no love or thought in the room badly planned out but was strangely more appealing after daylight. Food was a very pleasant surprise and all three meals I could not fault at all, All staff friendly. The maze of corridors and the amount of over signing everywhere makes it feel very cheap. Hand out slippers, you should be provide these, people in robes wandering around in odd flip flops, novelty slippers or socks make it look a cheap resort. Booked on Secret Escapes and would not pay a penny more than the £85 the treatment I had was good one of the best, treatment rooms (well as long as you shut your eyes throughout and the lights are dimmed that is best) don't take a deposit for a robe!!!!! again tasteless and cheap. I strangely grew to like parts of the place and the outside is magnificent. Put away some of the self hype, important but not needed to be displayed so much, put some love back in to it and remove dated furniture and I would be happy to use for corporate functions and events

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear ccbird,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to tell you we have two function rooms with new furniture we would be more than happy to quote for a corporate package for you.

The signs I’m afraid we need to keep as so many guests have trouble finding the spa facilities they particularly want, many even comment we do not have enough.

so glad to hear your enjoyed your meals, please be assured customer satisfaction is very important to us.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel and spa on saturday night. I booked the experience through secret escapes and got a half price deal which included lunch, dinner and breakfast. this was fantastic value for money. we stayed in a classic room which was very large in size, very well equipped. I rang the hotel requesting a fridge in my room and they sorted this out for me. I would like to state that i have stayed in this hotel a few years ago when the previous owner was in charge. I have read many reviews from people that have stated that since the son has taken over the place has gone down hill. what a complete load of rubbish!!! yes they have moved the 'free tea and coffee' but who cares get off your bums and go to the room which now has it!!! they hotel dont hide the fact that its moved as soon as we checked in they told us without any prompts where it was!!! the lunch was plentiful with loads to choose from - 3 types of hot food and various salads and meats, also hot puddings and cold desserts to choose from - you dont get this choice in any spas i have stayed at and I have stayed in many!!!! the spa areas again are fantastic there is so much to do! yes one part is really busy but thats because it is also a day spa, if you want quiet then go to the residential spa! I think the building itself is grand and lovely - remember its a stately home and a listed building so it has character and yes its a bit worn but it adds to the ambience! the only gripe i have was the evening meal it wasnt the best i have had but ok. check in took about 15 mins but it is is very busy place probably because of the the secret escapes deal! it has the most amazing gym you will see in a spa hotel and we even did archery! there is a games room also situated downstairs so we also played pool! there is so much to do there, it isnt really a maze i just suggest to have a walk around and discover this lovely building or just sit on your bum and complain about how it used to be!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear 99tan,

Welcome back, its great to know you came years ago and have enjoyed this stay just as much, I can see you experienced many areas of the spa and that is wonderful.

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Beautiful building, grounds. Paid full price for the 'luxury room' and it was pretty perfect. Shame about the view - the bins and limited view of anything else !
Staff professional but most bar 3 were charmless - no warmth.
The queuing at reception has to change - it is not acceptable to have people poised on the steps freezing; though the doorman was trying his best (he is one of the 3!)
We spent the first hour wondering around aimlessly trying to follow inadequate signs in the maze which were the corridors. Staff helped if asked - would be good if there are some staff available to guide a bit, especially if guests are standing around trying to work out the tiny maps.
Spa service was good and accommodating. Enjoyed the facial.
Food was good particularly dinner (though not enough) and breakfast couldn't be faulted. Lunchtime staff clearing away tables next to ours and preparing for breakfast the following day. This was off putting and felt like we were being rushed.
Be careful of being offered water at dinner - ask for a jug with ice otherwise you get £3.75 bottled water !!

So the question remains; would I go again?........maybe... but not in the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsO43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Mrs O43,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I am so sorry you had difficulty finding you way around , we do offer a map on arrival and every corridor has a wall map too, please ask for a guided tour should you return and we would happily show you around.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner, we hope you will return.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoar Cross
2.6 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
17.6 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,227 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
341 reviews
10.0 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
735 reviews
5.3 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel

Address: Maker Lane, Hoar Cross DE13 8QS, England (Formerly Hoar Cross Hall Health Spa Resort)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Hoar Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoar Cross
Price Range: £104 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautifully restored Grade II listed building. We Combine the pleasures of staying in an elegant English Stately Home with the facilities of a modern luxury spa resort, you'll be able to enjoy superb surroundings, fine dining and beautiful bedrooms suites and penthouses. Hidden away in 80 acres of English countryside, the spacious grounds have lakes and wildlife in abundance. Make use of the Tennis Courts, Golf course Practice Area & Driving range. We offer a variety of mouth-watering dishes and a host of therapies to wash away the stresses of everyday life. Treat yourself to a coffee or a slice of cake in the Oasis Cafe. We pride ourselves on our outstanding hospitality, so relax and let our dedicated staff take care of you. Winner of England's Leading Resort at the World Travel Awards for 7 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoar Cross Hall Health Hotel Hoar Cross
Hoar Cross Hall Health Resort
Cross Hall Hoar
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing