We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoar Cross
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We just had a really lovely overnight stay in a beautiful room with very comfy four poster bed overlooking the stunning landscaped gardens.our Experience was thoroughly delightful and the atmosphere in the dining room was comfortably busy with a very reasonable three course meal which was delicious and accompanied by relaxing live piano entertainment. The staff we encountered were pleasant attentive and professional. Obviously there is refurbishment going on which can only enhance further in the future but we did not suffer any inconvenience at all during our stay. We did notice coffee not automatically offered at the end of the meal but it is available you just ask for it.
Our breakfast was terrific, with good quality and plentiful choice.
All in all it was a really lovely stay which we would be very happy to repeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the original part of the house which has great character so if that is what you are loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOH186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Joh 186,

Thank you for writing us this review.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, I agree the view from our four poster bedded room (434) is just wonderful overlooking the formal gardens.

We have now started our refurbishment and we are all very excited about the new look we are going to get, I hope you like it too and we see you soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,397 - 1,403 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

This grand manor is incredible as your drive on the approach. Staff very welcoming and a great start...from that onwards, I found the place to be the antithesis of relaxation. No beds in the pools available, no free slippers, towels and gowns dropped everywhere and people, people, people. Overbooked seems to be a thread on TA and the place needs some TLC.

Food was great, staff very friendly and the setting is awesome. Just feel the core product is not to standard and is nowhere near the luxury the bricks and mortar deserve.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Buckee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Buckee 1,
Thank you for writing us a review.

I do feel your tittle is a little unfair and nothing could be further from the truth as we have now started our major refurbishment, and have just taken delivery of some wonderful new water beds for guests to use complimentary, this is just one of many new items we are going to introduce at the very start of this exciting project.

I am pleased however you found the building and grounds awesome and the staff friendly, I hope you will able to visit us again when our work is complete.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Enjoyed a weekend spa break at this hotel with my partner.
We enjoyed the spa but the directions to the hotel facilities were poor. The spa pools are magnificent and the overall experience was good.

The food was average and the service was dreadful during Saturday evening. There did not appear to have a manager present. The attention to detail was lacking and we had to ask the waiting staff for water several times. The food lacked seasoning and tasted bland. The menu wasn't particularly exciting.
The pianist was excellent and we really enjoyed listening to the music.
Breakfast and lunch time service was more efficient due to the presence of management and more attentive staff.
The hotel room was really lovely and very clean. The reception staff were friendly and check in / check out was quick.
Overall the experience was average.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Pearl 2009,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I will pass on your feedback to our food and beverage team about the lack of attention and detail at your evening meal, I do apologise for any disappointment this caused.

I am delighted to see you found the reception staff friendly and enjoyed your room, please be assured customer service and satisfaction is very important to us and we are constantly striving to improve in all areas so that we can achieve the standard to which we aspire.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Spent another delightful weekend at Hoar Cross Hall recently. Mrs Hindsight and I have been going every couple of years for a very long time now and we always enjoy ourselves and return refreshed. This time we had a room in the original hall which was particularly pleasant. The staff are always courteous and helpful and the treatments were fantastic. It is a great place to unwind...
BUT...
The food, especially the evening menu in the restaurant was NOT good. In fact it was terrible. Under-seasoned, cooked way too long before it was eaten, mass produced and bland. My wife's fish dish was completely inedible (and very probably well past being safe to eat). We sent it back. Everyone who had been before was remarking on how the food had gone steeply downhill. Some guests who had already paid for dinner were missing it to go elsewhere. It spoiled an otherwise delightful visit.
So, Mr.Joynes Junior - you've lost the plot. Profiteering at the expense of quality is a very slippery slope.

Room Tip: Eat from the grill menu which has to be cooked on demand or pop out to the local pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony_from_DCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Anthony_from_DCR,

Thank you for writing us a review.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meals and have passed on your comments to our head chef , please be assured he takes all feedback very seriously and would like to cook something special for you should you return,

I am pleased you find our staff courteous and helpful and a great place to chill our and unwind.
We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in this spa hotel 5 times and unfortunately this time, there was a noticeable difference to the service in the hotel.
On this occasion I booked as part of a group on a special offer. It was almost as if the hotel can't cope with the volume of people and there were queues to check in, for lunch, there were never any free sun loungers and service was poor in the restaurants.
Fine to have these great deals, but the number of people should be capped so that the overall enjoyment isn't lost. The staff clearly can't cope with the volume of people.
People hold sun loungers with their towels/dressing gowns and not returned for hours and yet the staff do nothing to remove these despite signs saying they would.

The hotel needs a major refurbishment and facelift. Areas look grubby and dirty.
For a spa hotel that calls itself "luxury", it needs some drastic work doing to it.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Janparton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Jan Parton,

Thank you for your review, we have now taken a full time pool attendant to stop guests hogging the loungers when they are off using other facilities, she will be removing the towels and locking away for safety any personal belongings until they return, she will also keep the water areas safe and tidy.
In addition to this we have also purchased new loungers and have ordered padded covers for them for extra comfort.

Our refurbishment is now underway and we are hoping will be complete by the end of the year, I do hope you will return to see some of the exciting new things coming our way.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 days and 1 night. There are a lot of good things to say about hoar cross but there are some improvements that would make it even better.
The grounds are gorgeous and the setting in the staffordshire countryside. The gardens and woodland walk are nice to stroll around after dinner. I read mixed reviews about the food on T.A but we found all the meals were lovely. The evening meal had a good choice and was cooked well. The only negatives was charging extra for a side dish of vegetables and coffee should be included but is extra too. I did get the impression that some penny pinching was evident during our stay which was disappointing- the worst being they don't provide slippers! I have never been to a spa where the disposable slippers are not supplied. Consequently people were walking around in all sorts of flip flops and slippers, not hygienic at all. It did strike me as a scene from carry on camping at times with mr fiddler charging for all extras. Oh you can BUY these disposable slippers by the way! Unlike other spas that have juices and drinks dotted around the place that are free there aren't any here, yes there is water about but that's your lot. There are numerous cafés where you can buy drinks. There is just one room where you can have free tea and coffee but it is best avoided as it stinks of stale fags as the smokers area is outside. The bedroom was nice, really large and overlooking the garden. The only problem was the decor as it seriously needs updating, it looked like it was last touched at least 15/20 years ago. It was very clean and comfortable though, but reminded me of the dynasty era. If all the rooms are like this it will cost a fortune to upgrade them. The spa bath was lovely too but again was really old and the settings didn't all work. The staff were all professional and pleasant during our stay and we had a massage each that was very nice. As for the spa itself, that was good, the biggest problem though was that half of it was out of use on both our days. There are two pools, the newer one and the old one-which was out of use. This meant that double the people were crammed into the one spa. There were not enough loungers for people which really did not please us. I would recommend before booking to check that there is not any maintenance before going,- if we had known I would have rebooked. We popped up to a relaxation room that I will call the graveyard for massage chairs, it was like a dingy old folks home with a host of knackered massage chairs gathered around. Most of them were broken and the ones that did work were ineffective. Clearly they haven't bothered to do anything about them as my mother who visited last year told me they were broken then. That isn't good enough. All in all we had a pleasant time, but there are lots of improvements that need to be made to bring it up to date all over, as at the moment it is a mixture of really old and tatty and really new. There is no consistency which is its biggest flaw.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank F1ossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear F1ossy,

Thank you for writing us a review, I am pleased to say we have now started our refurbishment and we hope should you return you will see a big difference.
We have water beds coming to replace the massage chairs which I hope you will agree will be very enjoyable.

Please be assured we do take all feedback on board and we are constantly striving to meet the standards to which we aspire.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel has had a refurb since my last visit and it's a lot better!

The spa is very large offering two pools and two seperate spa areas which gives great variety. With lots of classes, tennis, bikes to hire for free, outdoor gardens, large gym, treatments and 3 spa experience areas to explore you will have plenty to do.

We stayed in the 'princess Laura' room which had it's own terrace, very nice!

Only negative is that the food is overpriced for what you receive. £30 for three courses or £25 for two. However the restaurant is grand and service very good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank GemiWinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Le Miss Chief,

Thank you for writing us a review, we do have lots to offer with a different class every hour throughout the day and for every fitness level, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit so much and got to use so many of the facilities.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoar Cross
2.6 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
10.0 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#2 of 11 in Stafford
752 reviews
17.6 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
10.7 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
347 reviews
14.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel

Address: Maker Lane, Hoar Cross DE13 8QS, England (Formerly Hoar Cross Hall Health Spa Resort)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Hoar Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoar Cross
Price Range: £108 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautifully restored Grade II listed building. We Combine the pleasures of staying in an elegant English Stately Home with the facilities of a modern luxury spa resort, you'll be able to enjoy superb surroundings, fine dining and beautiful bedrooms suites and penthouses. Hidden away in 80 acres of English countryside, the spacious grounds have lakes and wildlife in abundance. Make use of the Tennis Courts, Golf course Practice Area & Driving range. We offer a variety of mouth-watering dishes and a host of therapies to wash away the stresses of everyday life. Treat yourself to a coffee or a slice of cake in the Oasis Cafe. We pride ourselves on our outstanding hospitality, so relax and let our dedicated staff take care of you. Winner of England's Leading Resort at the World Travel Awards for 7 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoar Cross Hall Health Hotel Hoar Cross
Hoar Cross Hall Health Resort
Cross Hall Hoar
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing