We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoar Cross
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I spent a wonderful day at hoar cross on Friday. There's a good choice of activities. We enjoyed a bike ride in the sunshine, meditation, swimming, stretching and a peaceful rest on the heated water beds. Bliss. Our treatments were excellent. Wish we could go more often.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Happyjane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was dubious about booking a trip to Hoar Cross after reading all the negative reviews, but after going on very enjoyable day spas around 10 years ago looked forward to visiting and staying over. I was not disappointed. The room was huge with a lovely sitting area, comfy beds, beautiful bedding and lovely (very pink) bathroom with a whirlpool bath! We were so pleased - it definitely had the wow factor ... and the view was amazing! We couldn't fault the food and the service was impeccable ... every member of staff was attentive and very courteous. I have been to lots of spas and had many treatments and have to say the facial by Hannah D was the best ever... as we're all the treatments .... and not overpriced - I pay more to have my eyebrows done at Debenhams!
So ... please don't let the bad reviews put you off - it is was it is .... and it is beautiful.
My only complaint .... that I wasn't staying for more than one night!!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a luxury room. We had Baroness Isabella - it was beautiful with a magnificent view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Gilly S,

Thank you for writing us a review, I am delighted you have had such a wonderful stay.

It seams every aspect of your stay was up to the standards we are always hoping to deliver to our guests, Hannah will be so thrilled you enjoyed the treatment so much, I will pass on this feedback to her many thanks.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I purchased an overnight spa break from Secret Escapes for my Mum for her birthday we stayed on 22nd June (£200 for both of us for an overnight stay, 3 course evening meal, breakfast and lunch on the day of departure). The Hall is beautiful, we asked for a tour of the facilities which was mentioned in the welcome pack when we arrived and a lovely gentleman called Tony showed us around and gave us lots of interesting facts about the Hall too. The spa facilities and towels and robes provided were very good and clean. Although there seemed a lot of people visiting nothing seemed overcrowded. I did find it a little disorientating in the hall and spa areas sometimes - although signs were around they appeared a little confusing sometimes. However after we asked a few staff and by the end of our first day we had mastered it. The food was also excellent for all sitting, lots of choice to suit all tastes. The rooms were nice but a little dated however were clean and comfortable. We also tried a tai chi class and took the bikes out for a small cycle around the grounds. There are such a lot of activities to do during the stay its excellent. We left feeling relaxed and pampered. I will certainly be looking out for similar offers as I think booking directly is a little too expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claireypopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Clareypopz,

Thank you for your review, it is wonderful to read you left us feeling relaxed and pampered, our aim is for every guest to leave feeling this way. I will pass on your very kind comments to Tony he really is a star and very proud of working here.

Kind Regards

Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having visited the spa annually for many years, I have seen many changes not all for the better!
The refurbishment of the building is certainly noticeable in many areas. However not all the changes are for the better. The main gripe from so many guests is the charge in the Oasis cafe for cup of tea £2.95, this previously was complementery. Evening Dinner very poor portions & there is now a charge for vegetables! The massage chairs in the snooze room are uncomfortable. The whole building desperatly needs air conditioning. Some rooms are above the delivery area which is quite noisy early in the morning. In the past we kept our room on till 6pm at a charge of £45 the charge now is £75 to vacate at 3pm.
Staff were friendly & helpful

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 243nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear 243Nana,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, We do still offer complimentary tea/coffee but just in one area now, however you are more than welcome to carry your drink to your favourite spot or even outside to the wonderful gardens.

The good quality massage chairs we used to have from Italy are no longer available, these have been replaced by complimentary heated water beds available to enjoy in a quiet dimly lit snooze room, perfect for chilling out after a treatment or just to unwind.
We cannot put air conditioning in some areas as this is a listed building, also we have to be mindful of the noise that they make if they are outside someone’s bedroom. Our porters will always take a fan to your bedroom if requested.

I do hope these incidents do not deter you from returning, thank you for your feedback this is always most welcome.

Kind Regards
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Three fiends and I enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea at Hoar Cross Hall. We were shown to a lovely well laid table next to a window and the waiter took time to explain to us the different teas which were available. He told us about the ingredients of each different leaf and encouraged us to sample the aroma of each one. We all chose our tea which was then swiftly delivered to us in individual teapots. Food followed shortly with a large array of homemade sandwiches, two different trifles, cakes and scones with jam and cream. We took around two and a half hours to enjoy all of this but felt as if we could have stayed longer, there was no rush, unlimited cups of tea and tranquil surroundings. A place to unwind and catch up with good friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malindi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Malindi2013,

Thank you for this lovely review, I am delighted you all enjoyed our wonderful afternoon tea so much, I think it does us all good to have a little decadence and to catch up with good friends at the same time is an added bonus. We hope to see you all again soon.

Kind Regards

Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at Hoar Cross Hall on 29th June for our Wedding Anniversary and arrived at midday to make the most of the spa facilities.
As this was our first time visiting this spa hotel, we had great expectations. The reception were friendly and welcoming, but we left a little unsure of where to go first or the hotel protocol. After many a wrong turn and asking for directions to find the various facilities we finally started to get our bearings and start to relax and fit in with the scheme of things. We did discover later that day that upon request you can have a guided tour of the building, but even though we did mention this was our first time, it was never offered.
The facilities were very good, I used the gym and found there to be enough equipment for even the most serious trainer. We both had massage treatments, which again were very good, which we followed by a rest in the "Snooze Room".
We both thought the buffet lunch was very good and a good selection of healthy food.
The Evening Meal was situated in a very large dining room, with numbers on the tables which reminded us of an old school hotel feel from a bygone era. It didn't give us the intimate dining experience we wanted for our Anniversary meal. The food was good for a large catering establishment, bearing in mind the large turn around of clientele though the restaurant.
The one thing that was a little annoying, which was no fault of the hotel, was the few discourteous people that used the spa facilities without being courteous to other guests. We found ourselves moving from one spa area to another for some peace and quiet from some very loud couples. I think some people forget that people come away to these spa breaks to get away from normal daily occurrences and don't want to have them jabbering in your ear whilst you are trying to relax and listen to the tranquil music played in the spa areas.
Overall a very good experience, maybe on a larger scale to what we are used to. If it's your first time we would recommend spending some time studying the map to get your bearings and don't be afraid to ask for the elusive guided tour.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Andy_Mel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Andy_Mel165,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and managed to use some of the vast amount of facilities on offer.
Please always ask if you want a quiet more intimate area when dinning and our restaurant staff will always find you a cosy corner to enjoy your dinning experience.
I am sorry to hear some of our other guests were not being mindful of others, this is always difficult as some come to relax and have total peace and quiet and some come to celebrate a special occasion, we like to think we cater for everyone, however if groups do get to spirited we are always happy to ask a duty manager to speak with them and just point out that others are here to rest and relax.

You are correct we are always happy to put on a guided tour, just ask at main reception and we will arrange this for you immediately.

Kind Regards

Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Everything that it says it is in their brochure. Unfortunately too many years between visits, because it's not cheap. But it's worth saving for to indulge and rejuvenate yourself. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My only criticism was that on our last day workman started repairing the pathway outside our window at 8am would have been nice to be told it was happening so would have been aware, had breakfast earlier than would have done.

Room Tip: Request view over rear of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoar Cross Hall S, Guest Relations Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Sarah W,

Thank you so much for writing us a review, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and found the staff to be helpful and friendly, I hope you had time to indulge yourself on our new heated water beds these are proving very popular and I have had nothing but good feedback about them.

I do apologise you were woken up earlier than you wished by our grounds team, I will pass your comments on to them and we will keep this in mind for future outdoor projects.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoar Cross
2.6 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
10 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#2 of 11 in Stafford
770 reviews
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
356 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
13 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel

Address: Maker Lane, Hoar Cross DE13 8QS, England (Formerly Hoar Cross Hall Health Spa Resort)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Hoar Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoar Cross
Price Range: £99 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautifully restored Grade II listed building. We Combine the pleasures of staying in an elegant English Stately Home with the facilities of a modern luxury spa resort, you'll be able to enjoy superb surroundings, fine dining and beautiful bedrooms suites and penthouses. Hidden away in 80 acres of English countryside, the spacious grounds have lakes and wildlife in abundance. Make use of the Tennis Courts, Golf course Practice Area & Driving range. We offer a variety of mouth-watering dishes and a host of therapies to wash away the stresses of everyday life. Treat yourself to a coffee or a slice of cake in the Oasis Cafe. We pride ourselves on our outstanding hospitality, so relax and let our dedicated staff take care of you. Winner of England's Leading Resort at the World Travel Awards for 7 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoar Cross Hall Health Hotel Hoar Cross
Hoar Cross Hall Health Resort
Cross Hall Hoar
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing