We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Tree Farm

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oak Tree Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopwas
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Was looking for somewhere to stay prior to visiting the National Arboretum, but did not fancy any well known chain hotels. Looked on numerous sites and came across Oak Tree Farm, which suited our needs. Booked a double room for my wife and myself and a small room for the Mother in Law. Both rooms (11 and 12) were very well laid out, clean, comfortable with good facilities., such as Kettle withTea/Coffee, DTV, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer, Toiletries, etc etc. The hotel does not provide evening meals, but we found a good pub at the end of the road (The Tame Otter) The food there is very good with fairly reasonable prices. We all had a great night's sleep. The beds are very comfortable. We tried the small swimming pool, which was ok, but had dead wasps at one end of the pool.
The breakfast is fantastic with lots of choice from full english to smoked salmon and kippers.
The dining room is well laid out with different size tables, each with it's own toaster!. Was not sure about this at first, but you can't beat hot toast, therefore it works well and is a good idea. Breakfast is not rushed, all orders are cooked fresh, which means your food is fresh and hot. Be prepared to wait a bit, but the wait is well worth it.
The 2 ladies in the kitchen are very nice and work like trojans to provide an excellent service.
Overall a very comfortable and pleasant short stay. It would be nice if the rooms had a booklet with local information such has restaurants, pubs, places to visit etc.
Would stay again, if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    34
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
49
90
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The room was basic but clean. The whole of the B & B needs a complete revamp as it is like going into a time warp to the 1970's. As for breakfast, if you can spare an hour of your time then that is how long it took from arriving at our table to leaving (this is not because of chit chat with the staff). The breakfast after waiting so long for it was certainly not worth the wait.It is the first B & B were I have had to do my own toast in the supplied toaster on every table. Feeling a bit stuffy because of the wait, wanted to open the window by our table but was unable to because of the dead wasp hanging from a cobweb. I can not understand how this establishment is rated a 4/5 star. This is definitely the worst B & B that I have ever had the dis-pleasure of staying in. It is certainly not worth the £75 per night that I paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rose k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of the excellent Oak Tree Farm in Hopwas.
I had never visited this part of the country before, and found the venue on trip advisor. The outside is well maintained with tubs and baskets of flowers all around. The superior room we booked was big, comfortable and beautifully furnished. There were two comfortable sofas, an enormous bed, fridge and a flat screen television, which was nice for when we got back from the local pub.
The breakfast menu was extensive, nicely presented and good sized portions. The staff were pleasant and helpful, giving directions for where we wanted to go.
I would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We chose Oak Tree Farm as it was located near to the wedding venue to which we had been invited and were delighted with the experience. The atmosphere is informal but it was clear from the friendly welcome that nothing was going to be be too much trouble. My wife used the pool which was an added attraction. Breakfast was outstanding with great choice of freshly cooked dishes. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooking river with sun in the morning. Good bathroom with shower. Fridge and hospitality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astra59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hi I stayed here with my parents recently as we were taking my father to visit the National Memorial Arboretum.
A friendly welcome and a lovely comfy room, larger than the average B and B room with good storage and lovely old, classic furniture with character. The beds are large and very comfy. It was all spotlessly clean.
It was really chilly when we were there but it was lovely and warm. My parents were in the main house and we were in the other building and both rooms were equally good.
The breakfast was really yummy - we liked the toaster on the table so you had hot toast. The omelettes are brilliant, apparently all the regulars have them. A choice of haddock or smoked salmon scrambled eggs was also a nice touch. The only thing I thought a shame was that it was the little sealed sachets of jam and marmalade - local home made is far nicer.
The only thing that I thought was a shame was that the rooms had excellent decor but then they had typed written notices stuck on the walls, one was a repeat of one stuck on the door and the others could have gone into the folder really. Just a slight surprise as the rooms are so lovely that the notices jarred.
One night we ate at the Tame Otter and the food was surprising good for a pub chain and the waitress could not have been more attentive. A tip is to visit the Tame Otter website and join as a friend before you go and you receive a 20% off food voucher that you can print off and take with you.
If you are in the area I would strongly recommend a trip the the National Memorial Arboretum,really stunning and moving.
.

Room Tip: All rooms appear large and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeandMorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This was the first visit to this B&B, and having read the reviews thought it was a good choice. Not to be disappointed it proved to be an excellent B&B, with first class rooms, surrounding and area. Its set in the village which makes it relaxing but still with easy access to all roads. A personal, attentive stay with excellent staff and owners.

Room Tip: All good, with a lovely court yard and easy access to the lounge and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTOWEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

The venue was easy to find with a warm welcome and the situ in the middle of a delightful village with 3 village inns and good food was just what I was seeking. We ate at the Tame Otter where there was also a warm welcome and far better than std pub food with a wide range to choose from. The rooms are slightly quirky in a good way, having a very comfortable bed and all the usual coffee, ironing and hair dryer equipment. There was a great lounge area with superb sofas and somewhere to relax if you are not going out for a stroll along the canal.
Breakfast was hosted by 2 charming ladies who cooked a super selection of food - it was all delicious and special diets are also catered for. I will be back as soon as I can.

Room Tip: Room 8 double split level and comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyHind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopwas
2.4 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
2.5 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
1.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
4.1 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Farm

Property: Oak Tree Farm
Address: Hints Road, Hopwas B78 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Hopwas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopwas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Oak Tree Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oak Tree Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Farm Hopwas
Oak Tree Farm Hotel Hopwas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing