We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, expensive for location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Leek
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, expensive for location”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The hotel has developed over the years to become larger by adding a separate hotel wing of modern rooms and new reception area. The old, cottage style rooms still remain also. There is the pub restaurant that sells great food and beers, cavery's on every day. The other restaurant is very nice and pricey, great for entertainment of business. The rooms are good and the service is pleasant. Avoid the cottage rooms near the main road, a little noisy and keeps me awake, prefer the modern rooms at the back. The location is great, go down the road to the reservoir and Lazy Trout pub. Also some great walks around the Roaches.
Nice pub, restaurant, accomodation, a little pricey I think for a country pub, I would eect these prices for a 4 star hotel in a city with gym, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms and avoid the cottage rooms in the main pub/hotel area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    139
    59
    35
    28
See reviews for
103
298
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

We used to stay here regularly, but have gone to another hotel for the last two visits as the hotel would not negotiate a reasonable price in the upgraded rooms. £140 plus is ridiculous.

The rooms are nice and breakfast also good. The location for the Moors and beautiful surrounding countryside is good too.

But they need to have a more realistic price given that it is a pub in Staffordshire and not a four or five star hotel with pool and gym.
Once they change that, then we will happily stay there again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nicoslindos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We found this little gem whilst visiting with family last year and have just visited for the third time. The rates are very competitive, especially if you book through LateBookings.com. A good package is the D,B&B where you have £60 to spend on a meal in the Brasserie on site. The food is delicious.
The rooms are very clean, comfortable, indiviual & tastefully decorated and Staff are very helpful. On driving towards the Inn, first impressions are very different to when you enter the car park at the rear of the buildings and there is a modernised extension housing the hotel area.
Thanks again for the welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank family32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

A really cheerful welcome from the receptionist and a spotlessly clean bedroom and an up to date gleeming bathroomm The room must have been designed by a woman as there are plugs beside the mirror/s, essential when tonging and checking appearance in the full length one.
The evening meal with efficient restaurant manager Martin in attendance was pretty good all round (there were four of us) but the scallops were disappointing.
An early buffet meal the next night started conveniently at 5.30pm giving us time to get to the theatre in Buxton. We all had the beef and agreed it was perfect. There was a wedding going on but we were not aware of the main party at any time.
Have booked in for a second visit later in the year. Paul and Tina

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My partner and I eat here regularly and it's probably our favourite place to eat out locally (we live in Buxton). The Dark Peak setting below the Roaches is spectacular and the grounds are very well kept - during our last visit in late May they were absolutely blooming. The pub itself is a nicely executed blend of traditional and modern. The food is consistently fresh, wholesome and well cooked and not at all expensive. The staff are friendly, polite and helpful.

We've never had a visit to the Three Horseshoes that was anything less than very good indeed. This is why we've booked it as our wedding venue for May 2013 and we're really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager Cheshre
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Great food .. Great location ... Beautiful cosy bed ... And good shower room .. Only bad point was shower was too low .. Couldn't wash my hair without kneeling down !!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ju1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Wife and I visited the Three Horseshoes recently for an overnight stay, on a DB&B basis. Leek is a pleasant enough market town, despite being situated a bit too close to the bleak and unforgiving landscape of the High Peak.

Having made my booking through Late Rooms, I made a point of calling the hotel to secure a reservation in the restaurant (it was a bank holiday and I was a tad concerned that they might be too busy to seat us). I was duly notified that the restaurant was 'fully booked', and only succeeded in securing a table reservation due to stating that our entire booking would be in jeopardy in the event that we couldn't eat at the hotel (the Three Horseshoes is a couple of miles outside of Leek and the attendant inconvenience of ordering taxis was not a compelling prospect).

Upon our arrival at the hotel we were checked in expediently and directed towards a very pleasant and tastefully-furnished room with a bath so sizeable that Poseidon himself would sure have felt at home languishing in it.

When we ventured down to the restaurant at the allotted time, we were a bit taken aback to find it almost completely empty. The maitre d explained that they had several kitchen staff off sick, hence the fact that they were not taking table reservations. This struck me as odd given it was one of the busiest nights of the year thus far. Furthermore, I did not appreciate being lied to as they evidently weren't 'fully booked', this was a ruse to deter diners.

At this juncture I was fairly disgruntled, my disquiet amplified by the arrival of another couple who were in the same predicament as ourselves, but who hadn't tried to secure a restaurant booking prior to their arrival. They were turned away from the restaurant and informed that, due to staffing shortages, they could not be accommodated.

The guy was understandably upset at this, particular as he and his girlfriend were then directed to the nearby carvery. Nice romantic weekend that must have made for. I did note a Southern accent therefore deduced they must have travelled some way. I felt that the restaurant staff and by extension the hotel management handled this very badly, and if I had been the customer in question I would more than likely have erupted into apoplectic fury.

Our growing sense of unease was further enhanced by noises emanating from the kitchen, some disaffected soul sarcastically rendering 'O happy day', presumably in response to the staffing situation. As a paying customer I did not really want to hear this.

By dint of good fortune foregoing events were consigned to memory by virtue of the quality of the food. The Thai-themed starters were interesting, but the main courses proved the star of the show. My pork belly was gargantuan in nature and happily accompanied by other pork-based delights, including, but not limited to, some miscellaneous braised cut, as well as the obligatory black pudding.

The desserts were equally compelling, delighting and satiating in equal measure. The portion sizes were out of control and I could almost feel the onset of a hiatus hernia.

We missed breakfast the following morning due to oversleeping (The Wife was recovering from bronchitis and was up half the night in convulsions). In sum, I would definitely recommend the Three Horseshoes on account of the fact that the food was first rate. The niggles I earlier mentioned perhaps speak of bad management, but by the end of our evening we were in a state of pork belly and fillet steak induced reverie.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam-Gould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leek
9.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
9.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,612 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#3 of 3 in Leek
238 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,041 reviews
14.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa

Property: Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Address: Buxton Road | Blackshaw Moor, Leek ST13 8TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Leek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the picturesque Staffordshire Peak District. Our 26 bedrooms range from contemporary Classic, Superior luxury bedrooms with massage showers or whirlpool baths and our Five new Garden Rooms featuring a private garden complete with personal cedar wood hot tub make our Hotel the perfect place to stay. Two dining options Bar & Grill offering casuel dining with homely classics & the Inka Grill an oven which uses quality charcoal instead of gas or electric and because it is enclosed, the Inka cooks at a very high temperature up to 500.c. Not only does this speed up cooking time but achieves a combination of roasting and barbequing that produces stunning flavours and unequalled tenderness to our Locally sourced Steaks and Gourmet Burgers also our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie with its open kitchen, large oak trussed ceiling offering delicious local food from an imaginative menu. The Millwheel Spa provides an experience for guests with wellbeing benefits and relaxation. The location means the views from the gardens are magnificent with breath-taking views of the Staffordshire Moorlands, Tittesworth Reservoir and the rock formations of the Roaches. Guests can enjoy local walks and experience beautiful views of the surrounding Peak District. Or even venture to the stunning Chatsworth House, The Potteries, The town of Buxton or even Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Horseshoes Inn & Country Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Inn And Country Hotel
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa Leek, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing