We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Leek
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This pub gets busy and appears popular so we gave it a try for Sunday lunch. I ordered a pork sandwich and chips which I felt was over-priced for what it was and the quality. The bread roll seemed cheap and was dry and the chips pale soggy and tasteless. The interior is dated and could do with an overhaul, fresh carpets and new tables and chairs wouldnt go amiss, looks like thy've been there since the 1960s, especially as the exterior looks so nice and gives the impression that its modern and fresh. I will not be returning to this pub,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McNicL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    134
    56
    33
    27
See reviews for
101
280
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have just got back from spending three nights at this fantastic hotel. We had an executive room, which was a good size, stylish, very clean and quiet. The breakfast was great, we also had other meals which were to a high standard. All the staff were very friendly and there is plenty of parking on site. If you want to stay in this area you will not go wrong here, we will be back.

Room Tip: we had room 108 at the back of the hotel with good views over the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The three horseshoes is located a few miles North of Leek on the road to Buxton and provides a good base for exploring the North Staffordshire Moors. The primary reason for our stay was to attend a wedding reception in the hotel but with the addition of a second night it was possible to visit the nearby Roaches Escarpment for walking and dramatic views of the surroundings.
The three horseshoes started life as a country inn, but with later additions of reception rooms and comfortable guest rooms, the property is now able to cater for a wide variety of functions.
The meal provided for the wedding reception was exceptional and on other occaisions we enjoyed the offerings in the Brasserie Restaurant and Carvery.
For anyone considering a short stay or organising a wedding in this venue, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the South side and in the event of a function taking place in the reception room yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodkinAmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night whilst visiting Alton Towers and we were not disappointed. Hotel is very well finished, spotlessly clean and tidy with fantastic bar and resturant facilities attached. Our room had a four poster bed which was extremely comfortable. The room was a good size and had everything we required. The food in the brasserie was lovely with plenty to choose from. Food and drink prices were very reasonable, a pleasant change from the usual over inflated prices charged in a 5 star hotel. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. All together a very comfortable place to stay. Will definately return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rixter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

my son and his wife had their wedding here ,and it was a beautiful venue in lovely setting, the staff were very friendly ,the room was perfect and gardens were lovely and the food was very nice if you like walking there are plenty of walks to go on ,i would recommend it to anyone ,5 star

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyliu668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We got married at The Three Horseshoes and it exceeded our expectations and was more than we could have wished for. From the outset we were always made to feel very welcome and nothing was ever too much trouble. Our guests commented on how wonderful the venue was with regard to the friendly staff, service and outstanding food. We fully believe that we wouldn't have had a better experience anywhere else. It really was the most perfect wedding venue!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

After tirelessly trailing through late rooms and ringing numerous local places,we got through to the three horseshoes,our ferry was cancelled due to bad weather so had to find a place last minute. We stayed here and I'm glad all the other places on last minute either were too expensive or closed. It was beautiful and in a great setting, just wished we had more time to spend there. At the end of the day on our arrival we had the Sunday carvery and the food was also excellent,would quite easily go out of my way to drive the extra bit just to try the food again. The room was excellent,wasn't expecting such a nice room for the price, but again I wish I hadn't driven all day before I got there to take full advantage of the place. Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leek
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
10.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#3 of 3 in Leek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
14.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa

Property: Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Address: Buxton Road | Blackshaw Moor, Leek ST13 8TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Leek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the picturesque Staffordshire Peak District. Our 26 bedrooms range from contemporary Classic, Superior luxury bedrooms with massage showers or whirlpool baths and our Five new Garden Rooms featuring a private garden complete with personal cedar wood hot tub make our Hotel the perfect place to stay. Two dining options Bar & Grill offering casuel dining with homely classics & the Inka Grill an oven which uses quality charcoal instead of gas or electric and because it is enclosed, the Inka cooks at a very high temperature up to 500.c. Not only does this speed up cooking time but achieves a combination of roasting and barbequing that produces stunning flavours and unequalled tenderness to our Locally sourced Steaks and Gourmet Burgers also our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie with its open kitchen, large oak trussed ceiling offering delicious local food from an imaginative menu. The Millwheel Spa provides an experience for guests with wellbeing benefits and relaxation. The location means the views from the gardens are magnificent with breath-taking views of the Staffordshire Moorlands, Tittesworth Reservoir and the rock formations of the Roaches. Guests can enjoy local walks and experience beautiful views of the surrounding Peak District. Or even venture to the stunning Chatsworth House, The Potteries, The town of Buxton or even Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Horseshoes Inn And Country Hotel
The 3 Horseshoes Inn & Country Hotel
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa Leek, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing