We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinking and eating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Leek
Certificate of Excellence
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Drinking and eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Although we were staying at a Caravan Club site close by, we came here for drinks and a couple of meals. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The food was very good as was the service. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    134
    56
    33
    27
See reviews for
101
280
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked at the last minute for an overnight stay and the room was a fantastic price. On arrival, we went through the pub entrance instead of the hotel, and obviously looking lost, the staff asked if we were ok and kindly pointed us in the right direction,very polite and helpful.
Parking is great and check in was quick, easy, and the receptionist really friendly and helpful.
The room was fantastic seeing as we had only booked the basic. Small, but big enough for what we needed. It was on the front, the same side as the pub entrance, so the only minor gripe was that it was a warm night and we needed the window open and found the traffic noise from the road a bit heavy early in the morning. So a tip would be to ask for a room around the back of the hotel which I think also have better views. Although this is not a hotel with many floors, there is a lift, which was a great help for the room we had.
The room and shower room were spotless, beautiful decor and everything you need including nice complimentary toiletries, and a good shower, flat screen TV on the wall facing the bed.

We had our evening meal there, which was really nice, reasonably priced and the service couldn't be faulted. Only thing was, the brasserie was closed with it being Sunday and I was looking forward to trying the scallops, but maybe next time. We arrived Sunday afternoon, and the pub/restaurant was very busy as they do what looked like a very nice carvery, but by the time we wanted to have our evening meal, it had quietened down considerably.
Breakfast was fantastic, for 10.95, I can honestly say the full english was more than worth it, and cooked fresh to order and plenty of it. There was also a good selection of continental, and fresh fruit on offer as well as a good choice on the menu. Coffee, tea, juices etc.
There are several different places to sit out in nice weather, including a lovely garden area at the back with fantastic views.
There is also a Spa facility which looked very inviting, but as we were only there for an impromptu one night stay, we didn't get to investigate that.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot fault the staff, or the amenities.
Will definitely be making plans to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms at the back of the hotel, don't know what they're like, but the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D and D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Booked this as a 1 night stop over for my wife and I, and 2 friends as we were spending 2 days at Alton Towers.

First impressions were good from pulling into the large, clean well lit car park.

Walked into the modern clean reception area and were met politely and checked in with all the necessary information for food and amenities etc.

We then went and dropped our luggage in the room and got a quick shower before tea. Rooms were fantastic. We only booked the cheapest budget rooms but they were more than what we needed. Nice size, spotlessly clean, very nice and modern and everything worked. An added bonus was the fantastic view.

We then used the pub for tea. Great menu, good service, nice atmosphere and the food was unbelievably good!! Homemade lasagne followed by syrup sponge pudding and custard. My wife had chicken cesar salad.

Followed by a nice comfortable sleep.

As you can tell we were massively impressed with this B&B, far exceeded our expectations. About 20 minutes drive from Alton Towers which was just a nice distance. Very well priced and all round great experience. Will definitely visit again if were in the area. A credit to the owners and the staff who work there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanandBecky_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knutsford
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I called here for a late lunch on Tuesday 8th July, having driven past the place on many occasions, but never ventured inside. We ordered our food and were advised it would be 20 minutes, probably less. After fifteen minutes a waitress came and informed me that my choice, the liver, was not available. No apology, just walked up and said 'there's no liver'. So I chose an alternative. A few minutes went by and then the same waitress came to our table and said 'one pound twenty please'. I pointed out that although I would have been happy to pay the difference in price of the meal if I had been informed somewhat earlier, I didn't think asking for it now was either good customer service or appropriate. It wasn't my fault there was no liver. We waited while she went to speak with someone and eventually she returned to say 'that's ok', no apology, and told us our food would be about another ten minutes, making our wait now 45 minutes. However surprise surprise, no sooner had she vanished, our food appeared. Unfortunately my wife's salad was covered in french dressing when she had specifically requested 'no dressing'. Back to the kitchen with her meal for it to be amended, so eventually it was 45 minutes before we received both meals. The food was very good, especially my cured blade of beef stew. All in all, a mixture of good and bad. We will definitely be back, perhaps for the carvery, which we were too late for, but looked excellent. Hopefully the management will sort out obvious problems with customer service and communication.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Anybody visiting this area must visit this Inn/Hotel. "Thank you" to Amy who dealt with my original booking for Sunday lunch and to the other ladies who dealt with our numerous phone calls to change our arrival time on that day due to a few fellow walkers getting lost!
Cannot praise this venue enough. Customer service at its very best. The food is exceptional, especially the carvery and the desserts, especially the meringues, are amazing!

Thank you to everybody who made us feel so welcome after a long days climbing the Roaches. We are already planning our next walk so we can incorporate another visit to The Three Horseshoes!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neja16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Came here for my sisters wedding. The whole day was magical loved every minute. Staff where fantastic. Good was great. Couldn't praise it enough. The building is lovely, everything about the day was great. Would recommend to anyone who was getting married to come here. Really is a fantastic place and the views are lovely and make for great back drops for pictures.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

11 of us came here at the weekend following or trek across the Roaches in a mix of weathers and we got what we came for, a huge smile at the bar thanks Yvonne, and swift friendly service followed by a very tasty carvery with great desserts. This place is great for families, couples, and groups, plenty of space, a good choice of ales and lots of outdoor seating for the sunny days.
Walking day or not, I for one will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isthma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leek
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
10.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#3 of 3 in Leek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
14.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa

Property: Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Address: Buxton Road | Blackshaw Moor, Leek ST13 8TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Leek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the picturesque Staffordshire Peak District. Our 26 bedrooms range from contemporary Classic, Superior luxury bedrooms with massage showers or whirlpool baths and our Five new Garden Rooms featuring a private garden complete with personal cedar wood hot tub make our Hotel the perfect place to stay. Two dining options Bar & Grill offering casuel dining with homely classics & the Inka Grill an oven which uses quality charcoal instead of gas or electric and because it is enclosed, the Inka cooks at a very high temperature up to 500.c. Not only does this speed up cooking time but achieves a combination of roasting and barbequing that produces stunning flavours and unequalled tenderness to our Locally sourced Steaks and Gourmet Burgers also our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie with its open kitchen, large oak trussed ceiling offering delicious local food from an imaginative menu. The Millwheel Spa provides an experience for guests with wellbeing benefits and relaxation. The location means the views from the gardens are magnificent with breath-taking views of the Staffordshire Moorlands, Tittesworth Reservoir and the rock formations of the Roaches. Guests can enjoy local walks and experience beautiful views of the surrounding Peak District. Or even venture to the stunning Chatsworth House, The Potteries, The town of Buxton or even Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Horseshoes Inn And Country Hotel
The 3 Horseshoes Inn & Country Hotel
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa Leek, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing