We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday Eve Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 17 Leek B&B and Inns
LEEK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Saturday Eve Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

One word ... FANTASTIC!
The welcome was lovely.
The restaurant is laid out perfectly, with just a lovely feel about it. Posh, but not too posh to make it uncomfortable.
Service, first rate.
Food. Fantastic, truly lovely. Perfectly cooked, beautiful. The choc pudding! More please!
A perfect night out, thank you.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CHEDDER008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    18
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
35
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel hides down a quiet side street just off from the busy main road through Leek and is perfect for whatever brings you to Leek.
The hotel has charm and character, and the owners were very welcoming to us. The rooms were tastefully decorated and very clean, airy and bright. On the Friday we arrived just in time for dinner, which was out of this world. The food was fantastic, and a very good size for the price. The food quality is renowned in the area, so make sure to book a table in the restaurant if you're planning on eating there.

Breakfast was the same; home-cooked full English breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, or any type of cereal, muesli, toast, fruit, porridge, or yogurt to choose from. And when we went back to our room we were pleasantly surprised that the bed had been remade, fresh towels had been laid out, and the coffee and tea selection refilled.

Overall, very friendly service, large, clean rooms, excellent food, and in a house with a history, all in a great location. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HillsDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Excellent hotel and superb value. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the local area. Quaint building and rooms and operated with a personal touch; far superior to the normal chain-business hotels I'm used to. Comfortable bed and really good hot shower. Great service and quality home-cooked breakfast. Fantastic location too, with a just a few minutes walk into the town centre and a 5-10 minute drive to The Roaches outcrop of hills for walking, climbing, fell running. Onsite car parking is also a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernePlayday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We visited the above restaurant on Saturday, being recommended by a friend of my sons.We had previously been in the afternoon to celebrate my grandsons first holy communion.
The meal was absolutely out of this world and with each course it got better,together with the excellent wine that accompanied it.
This was fine fining of top quality. I would have no hestation in recommend it to others and sincerly look forward to visiting it again.

S J Jones

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I booked this guest house for my walking group's holiday weekend as it had very good reviews, more than the average number of rooms for guest houses and for its close proximity to the centre of Leek with all its pubs and eating houses. I must say that despite the wet weather, we had a lovely time here and were made very welcome. The rooms were simply decorated, comfortable and spotless. The dining room was very pleasant and our hosts provided excellent breakfasts. There was the added bonus of tea and cake when we returned wet and bedraggled from our walks and we had the use of drying facilities. I would have no hesitation in returning here with our group another year to continue our exploration of the lovely countryside around Leek.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitemeridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here with my mother recently whilst attending our Grandsons naming ceremony in Leek. The Guest House is ideally located in a quiet street 2/3 minutes from the town centre. My wife and I had a lovely double room and my mother a single room with en suite bathroom. We appreciated the the peace and quiet and did not hear a thing all night which bearing in mind how close it is to the town centre is amazing. The building has a lovely serene feel to it and was formerly a convent.The hosts were lovely and breakfast excellent. My smoked salmon and scrambled egg was an absolute joy. We would definitely love to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Had a lovely warm welcome from the owner on a rainy day! Room was very clean and comfortable, with everything I needed for my stay. The hotel is easy walking distance from Leek with it's lovely old buildings and shops. Breakfast was really good - perfect fry up and accompaniments. The owners couldn't do enough for us and looking forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leek
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
2.8 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
2.3 mi away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#3 of 3 in Leek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
10.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Daintry
The Daintry
#2 of 17 in Leek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant

Property: Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant
Address: King Street, Leek ST13 5NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Leek
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1828 for a local mill owner the Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant stands in its own grounds close to Leek town centre. It was sold by the Wardle family in the 1860’s and became the convent to the Catholic Church. For nearly 120 years it remained so until in 1978 it was converted to a Guest House and restaurant. The Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant takes its name from its close proximity to the Peak District and from the industry that shaped the town of Leek. Fine examples of weaver’s cottages can be seen on King Street, their third storey catching optimum hours of daylight to enable Leek’s women of yesteryear to work their looms from dawn to dusk. In 1999 husband and wife team, Nick and Emma Bettany, took over the Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant and set about restoring the period property to its former glory. An ongoing policy of refurbishment has resulted in the bed and breakfast accommodation being graded at 4 Star by the English Tourism Council and the AA. The 40 cover restaurant, under Emma’s guidance, is a previous “Taste of Staffordshire” award winner and has subsequently been awarded an AA Rosette. In September of 2005 the Peak Weavers was judged runner up in Staffordshire Small Restaurant of the Year by a panel of RAC food inspectors. Also in 2005 Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant attained membership of the Peak District Cuisine initiative in recognition of its support for local producers, the first, and currently only restaurant in the Leek area to do so. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and also makes good use of local produce. For the business traveller wireless internet access is available throughout the Guest House and is included in the bed and breakfast tariff. The accommodation is completely smoke free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant Leek, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing