We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great review!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 18 Leek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in Leek for 2 nights for my daughter's wedding at The Ashes, who recommend The Peak Weavers as a place to stay. We wanted somewhere convenient and quiet with parking. My wife is very fussy so I was a bit apprehensive. She and her sister both loved it. The house is tastefully laid out and decorated, immaculately clean, everything works, and the accommodation is comfortable and very quiet (in a quiet road very close to the centre of Leek). We were looked after carefully but unobtrusively. Unfortunately I had to eat in Stoke on the Friday night. I got back to find my wife and her sister enthusing about the lovely dinner I had missed: the reputation of this restaurant is clearly very well-deserved. I was however, able to enjoy the full English breakfast. All at very reasonable prices. What more can I say? The other reviewers are right!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was my mothers chosen venue for her 90th birthday party. What a great choice it was!
It is a fine old building and the reception area and restaurant looked beautiful. The food was wonderful and locally sourced. Everyone enjoyed everything they ate. Service was also very good indeed.
I really cannot fault the place at all.
Thank you to everyone at the Peak Weavers for making a special day even more special!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisHunt1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Travelled to Leek to meet up with friends for a birthday meal. Six of us were seated straight away, the place had a low key but professional style and the service was great for a small town. The food was great, with the meat being the star of the show cooked to perfection. Ladies loved the choc puddings. This is the half way point to meet and we will use this again it was a great night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

One word ... FANTASTIC!
The welcome was lovely.
The restaurant is laid out perfectly, with just a lovely feel about it. Posh, but not too posh to make it uncomfortable.
Service, first rate.
Food. Fantastic, truly lovely. Perfectly cooked, beautiful. The choc pudding! More please!
A perfect night out, thank you.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank CHEDDER008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel hides down a quiet side street just off from the busy main road through Leek and is perfect for whatever brings you to Leek.
The hotel has charm and character, and the owners were very welcoming to us. The rooms were tastefully decorated and very clean, airy and bright. On the Friday we arrived just in time for dinner, which was out of this world. The food was fantastic, and a very good size for the price. The food quality is renowned in the area, so make sure to book a table in the restaurant if you're planning on eating there.

Breakfast was the same; home-cooked full English breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, or any type of cereal, muesli, toast, fruit, porridge, or yogurt to choose from. And when we went back to our room we were pleasantly surprised that the bed had been remade, fresh towels had been laid out, and the coffee and tea selection refilled.

Overall, very friendly service, large, clean rooms, excellent food, and in a house with a history, all in a great location. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HillsDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Excellent hotel and superb value. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the local area. Quaint building and rooms and operated with a personal touch; far superior to the normal chain-business hotels I'm used to. Comfortable bed and really good hot shower. Great service and quality home-cooked breakfast. Fantastic location too, with a just a few minutes walk into the town centre and a 5-10 minute drive to The Roaches outcrop of hills for walking, climbing, fell running. Onsite car parking is also a bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BernePlayday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We visited the above restaurant on Saturday, being recommended by a friend of my sons.We had previously been in the afternoon to celebrate my grandsons first holy communion.
The meal was absolutely out of this world and with each course it got better,together with the excellent wine that accompanied it.
This was fine fining of top quality. I would have no hestation in recommend it to others and sincerly look forward to visiting it again.

S J Jones

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leek hotels
2.8 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#2 of 2 in Leek
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Middle Farm Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Prospect House
Prospect House
#9 of 18 in Leek
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Daintry
The Daintry
#3 of 18 in Leek
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant

Address: King Street, Leek ST13 5NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Leek
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1828 for a local mill owner the Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant stands in its own grounds close to Leek town centre. It was sold by the Wardle family in the 1860’s and became the convent to the Catholic Church. For nearly 120 years it remained so until in 1978 it was converted to a Guest House and restaurant. The Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant takes its name from its close proximity to the Peak District and from the industry that shaped the town of Leek. Fine examples of weaver’s cottages can be seen on King Street, their third storey catching optimum hours of daylight to enable Leek’s women of yesteryear to work their looms from dawn to dusk. In 1999 husband and wife team, Nick and Emma Bettany, took over the Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant and set about restoring the period property to its former glory. An ongoing policy of refurbishment has resulted in the bed and breakfast accommodation being graded at 4 Star by the English Tourism Council and the AA. The 40 cover restaurant, under Emma’s guidance, is a previous “Taste of Staffordshire” award winner and has subsequently been awarded an AA Rosette. In September of 2005 the Peak Weavers was judged runner up in Staffordshire Small Restaurant of the Year by a panel of RAC food inspectors. Also in 2005 Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant attained membership of the Peak District Cuisine initiative in recognition of its support for local producers, the first, and currently only restaurant in the Leek area to do so. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and also makes good use of local produce. For the business traveller wireless internet access is available throughout the Guest House and is included in the bed and breakfast tariff. The accommodation is completely smoke free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant Leek, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing