We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wonderful Hotel Rudyard!!”
Review of Hotel Rudyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rudyard
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leek
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The wonderful Hotel Rudyard!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I'd like to start by saying I have no idea what hotel some of these moaners have been staying in but it bears no resemblance to the one that has recently hosted my wedding, I can only think that they got out the wrong side of the wonderfully comfy bed! The hotel and the staff from the two lovely ladies cleaning the rooms to the hotel owner were absolutely brilliant, we had a bit of an odd wedding planned and they bent over backwards to help even down to the staff dressing up to fit our theme, the rooms were lovely, the food was fantastic, again we strayed from the norm for the buffet and they came up trumps even fitting around a very fussy vegetarian (me!).. Rach the wedding co-ordinator was fantastic on the day, nothing was too much trouble for her and she smiled all the way through what was undoubtably a very tiring day.. Our guests who took up every room in the hotel were amazed by the comfort, cleanliness and food for the money they paid, there wasn't one bad word said against it... Full marks from myself, my husband and my guests, we will definitely be returning a time or two...

Room Tip: Bridal suites are beautiful and the room at the top has a view to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    72
    33
    22
    31
See reviews for
83
74
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

On Saturday the 29th of June we booked lunch at the hotel as we had been on a walk around the lake at Rudyard,
We are a walking group and we meet once a month and we often book a lunch.
We all had a carvery for only £3·90 each and I can say that it was one of the best that we have had,
The food was superb superb the meats and veg choice was second to none, and the service was too.
I can recommend this hotel/restaurant to anyone.
Many thanks for a great lunch.see you again in the future..

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diandave131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle under Lyme
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We visited this place today ( myself, hubby, two kids both under 3 and the in laws) and we had a really nice time. The staff were approachable and helpful, the service at the bar was good and the waitress was pleasant. There were quite a lot of people in for the carvery which I couldn't believe was only £3.95 and the other customers were nice and seemed happy enough with the service. There was plenty of choice in veg for the carvery and the meat was really nice, very tender as my father in law pointed out. We all had a really enjoyable time and although the hotel is a bit dated, it sort of adds to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Well actually we got a lot more than we expected. Excellent quality and choice of meat, very fresh and tasty, generous portions, good selection of vegetables, friendly and efficient service and a pleasant setting. Oh and lots of spoons!

Please ignore the negative comments on here, some people are never happy. This place is exceptional value for money. The hundreds of people dining here can't be wrong! It's cheaper than eating at home! Kids loved it too.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Went for a carvery on a Sunday afternoon to celebrate a family birthday, we had reserved a table but on arriving the young girls working there could not decide which table they had reserved for us and they had a disagreement about it, in front of us! The dining area is old fashioned, the carvery meat was dried out and the young girls serving were rude and uninterested, they literally throw the plates down in front of you once they have carved the meat, which they cut using the same knife, all 4 different types of meat with the same utensils. The veg was tinned sweetcorn and peas, there were fresh carrots plus some other mush, all mixed together and falling over the sides, with just 3 spoons for approx. 8 different sections! gravy was thick and lumpy, again all dripping over the sides with spills dried on.
Yes it is cheap and I guess you get what you pay for. Such a shame as the bar area, gardens and location by the lake are all fab. But I would never eat here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RaceyMacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My room was very disappointing, with the bath in one cupboard and the basin around the corner on a raised dias with a very slippery wooden floor. It's been a while since I've stayed in a place as poor as this. On the plus side, the staff are very accommodating and seem to be worked off their feet. The carvey at lunchtime is very good value for money and appears to attract people from far and wide. Great events room which has a light and airy feel.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prestongirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st helens
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

we had a three day stay at Rudyard hotel from the 30th of may 2013 .a lovely hotel situated in a lovely part of the countryside . the gardens around the hotel was lovely and very relaxing with a glass of wine and listen to the birds singing.the carvery we could not fault.the staff was very pleasant and and everyone was very helpful. all of or friends really injoyed the stay and we will be definite going back for a break because the accommodation didnt break our bank account.a big thank you to all who made or weekend very very enjoyable. col Lesley and lucy ..

Room Tip: we was in 3 and we had a Jacuzzi .but al the rooms was very big and plenty of room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leek
11.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
271 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,668 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rudyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rudyard

Property: Hotel Rudyard
Address: Lake Rd | Rudyard, Leek ST13 8RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rudyard 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rudyard's 300 seat restaurant not only provides quality drinks and delicious bar meals, it regularly hosts a mouthwatering carvery and special nights. The Carvery has a selection of 3 roasted joints of the day and all meat is sourced within a 10 mile radius of the hotel.Outside there's a large, sociable beer garden overlooking the lake, so visitors can relax with a drink and a lovely view.There is also a large car park, offering the ideal opportunity to enjoy the 5.6 mile walk around the lake before finishing with a delicious meal and drink. The Hotel can also provide the perfect setting for your memorable events - it has a light bright function room and cater for any special occasion. Whether it be for a wedding, christening or birthday, the room can sit up to 100 people, with 150 for a buffet reception.Whether you want a memorable venue, a cosy restaurant after a brisk walk, or simply a long weekend away form it all, Hotel Rudyard is your picture perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rudyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudyard Hotel Leek
Hotel Rudyard Leek, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing