We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic contribution to our Wedding weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Silken Strand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Leek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic contribution to our Wedding weekend”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We booked the whole hotel for two nights on Friday and Saturday over the weekend of our wedding. The Friday night was a chance for family and friends to get together for a meal the day before the wedding. A three course meal was organised for 17 guests and 5 more staying locally, it was a lovely meal and we were well looked after. Staff were friendly and helpful, our baby milk was stored in the fridge and children's plates and bottles washed for us. The rooms were comfy, our bed was great, i normally struggle to sleep in new places but I had no problem despite the mounting excitement. Breakfast both days was excellent and we were well looked after by the staff, especially the young lady who worked both mornings who was an absolute marvel. On the day of the wedding Terry the manager made sure we were ok and was there at night to keep the bar open for us. The place was superb, very friendly and enjoyable and a credit to Terry and his team.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0binballantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    26
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
42
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2012

we have stayed local on holiday and had some great times here, sitting at the back enclosed garden having a slow afternoon drink with a bite to eat, also welcomed my dog (well behaved).

I've also been in the evening and there's a great atmosphere in the cellar bar

Room Tip: just had lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Nice old building with quirky boutique rooms. Seems to be run on a skeleton staff basis - very difficult to locate staff at times but very friendly and helpful when you do.
Breakfast is best described as 'leisurely' - give yourself plenty of time if you have to be away at a set time.
Agree entirely with a previous reviewer AR_London, “Not as impressive as hoped, some redeeming features" and "this wasn't a disaster, just not value for money."

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyhGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed for two nights in late August 2012. The room (7) was spacious and clean but on a slope which made a slightly queasy feeling. We slept with our feet noticably above our heads! The bathroom was clean but no luxuries like shampoo.

The restaurant (tapas) was fine, good service, reasonably priced and tasty. The breakfast service at the hotel was a disappointment though - the room was empty of other diners and it took a while to get served as the only staff member had duties elsewhere.

All in all I'll try somewhere else next time, but this wasn't a disaster, just not value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AR_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A lovely place - unique and luxurious. We arrived late afternoon and found parking on the road easy. A little thrown by the fact that the girl working on the bar was also doing reception, we began to worry. When she took us to our rooms though, we were very impressed. Every room was different with bespoke ensuite bathrooms. Tasteful and luxurious, our daughters loved their room, especially with the freestanding bath, antique stained glass windows and flat screen TV. Our room had an intriguing and very comfortable four poster. The glittery 'egg lamps' created considerable interest from the daughters too. Tapas in the cellar that evening were freshly cooked and delicious, enjoyed by everyone. The owner/manager is very hands on and friendly. He was there in the Tapas bar at 11pm, then doing breakfast next morning - by himself! We didn't notice a delay in breakfast but he did apologise for lack of staff on the day. Breakfast was very good; we ate in a large drawing room with open French doors onto the garden. All in all a very pleasant stay that I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearlpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed on a short visit, passing through to Derby shire.
We found the hotel tired and not that clean.
The bed was comfy, but the room very small and dusty, the bathroom had no toiletries, when asking for shampoo& conditioner the staff told me to us the hand wash.
We had a half hour wait for breakfast, on asking for fresh fruit, out came a bowl with apples & oranges (as they come off the supermarket shelf).
This hotel was not good value for money, and i am glad we only stayed the one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuemalcCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed for one night in the Junior Suite with our children on a family trip to the Peak District and had a fantastic time - we stayed at other, larger, more expensive hotels in the area and the Silken Strand is the one which stands out as the best that we stayed in.
The building is beautiful, the staff are welcoming and helpful without being intrusive, the room is lovely, the bed is comnfortable, the breakfast was well made, with notably good local ingredients,
We ate in the tapas restaurant in the evening where the food was exceptionally good and the service was excellent.
The Hotel is handy for the excellent resteurants in Leek and convenient for walking etc in the Peak District.
Stay here.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is great for families with Kids - the Kids are close, in a seperate room off the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leek
2.7 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#3 of 3 in Leek
238 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
869 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
11.6 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silken Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silken Strand Hotel

Property: The Silken Strand Hotel
Address: 64 St. Edward Street, Leek ST13 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Leek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silken Strand Hotel is a Georgian Grade II listed building, situated in the quaint market town of Leek, Staffordshire. Just a few miles away from Alton Towers and in the middle of the beautiful Staffordshire Moorlands. The Silken Strand Hotel, is a perfect place to explore the magnificent surrounding countryside. The Hotel has 7 individual design bedrooms, a well respected restaurant, an atmospheric cellar bar, a welcoming cafe bar, coffee lounge and landscaped gardens in which to enjoy a drink and a meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Silken Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silken Strand Hotel Leek, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing