We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage will definately return.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angieconn...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage will definately return.”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Booked this cottage for a week for 2 adults and 3 children and were not disappointed. Very warm welcome with fresh flowers and a homemade sponge cake waiting :) had everything we needed especially for my 16 month old daughter, large cot was built up for our arrival which was the main positive for me as I don't like using travel cots for more than 1 night , highchair and safety gate available also . Garden and summerhouse were amazing with kids safe and happy with outdoor toys provided . Washing machine and dryer made the holiday easier with the kids. Had 2 days at Alton towers only short drive away , 1 day at Drayton manor and waterworld in Stoke. Very peaceful location and second sitting room was great for my 2 sons aged 8 and 5 . Hope to book again next year for 2 weeks as there is loads to do and I will be recommending this cottage to all my friends and family. Best self catering I have stayed in with a very pleasant owner. Thank you for making our holiday a great experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellyp770
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic property for family holiday in the Peak District”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful house with excellent facilities, lovely garden to relax in, in peaceful surroundings.
It was a lovely touch that there were board games and garden games for a good age range, as well as a wide selection of books.
Monica has provided all the comforts of home in the house and the welcome pack of essentials and some local treats was very much enjoyed.
The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable with views of the surrounding countryside.
The bathroom is beautifully decorated and has a large walk in shower as well as a bath.
The owner is at present installing a downstairs shower room which I am sure will be as well appointed as the current family bathroom.
We enjoyed visiting Matlock Bath, Chatsworth area and the Heights of Abraham but the highlight of our visit was Trentham Monkey Forest where you can wader with the 140 monkeys that roam free.
We had a lovely fish and chip supper at "George's" in Belper very reasonably priced and included bread and butter and a drink a firm favourite will all of our party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location to explore the area
Liked least: Not the best weather!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wongala71
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quintessential country cottage.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at Highfield Cottage has been fabulous. One of the best holiday rentals I've experienced. The smallest details have been seen to, all needs anticipated. There is no WiFi at the cottage but coverage is available so not really an issue. I hope to return and will recommend Highfield to anyone visiting the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katemce
Sion Mills, Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our Holiday that was a home away from home”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely fabulous stay at this cottage. From the warm welcome we received, to the wonderful homely feel of the cottage. Every comfort catered for. The garden was used everyday as the weather was fantastic. Great to have the benefits of 2 tv's and a washing machine, especially when travelling with 3 teenagers. It was well situated for all the attractions. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing