We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“over priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Hart B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Hart B&B
Ranked #8 of 17 Leek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We had a room at the back and off the main room, it was lovely and quiet, but our experience was ruined by stained sheets and dusty furniture. The staff were lovely, and friendly, and kindly gave us early access to our room. The rates were over priced for the standard of the accommodation.

Room Tip: room 4 and 5 are at the back of the B&B and therefore a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSW35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley P, Public Relations Manager at The White Hart B&B, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Further to your review on Trip Advisor we are sorry to read of your disappointment. Our laundry is serviced by a local laundry company, so whilst we are confident that the bedding used would have been clean and freshly laundered, the water marks that you found on the bedding should have been noticed by our housekeeping team when they made the beds prior to your arrival. Please accept our sincere apologies for this.

We pride ourselves on our housekeeping standards (as many reviews here on Trip Advisor are testament) and all rooms are checked prior to check-in, so we are surprised that you found the room to be dusty and we will look into this.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    32
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked all of the rooms for the night of our wedding. The staff and management were very helpful throughout, from penciling the rooms to arranging transport, locating our bags to the correct rooms ect. All of the room were very pleasant and comfortable and we had a lovely breakfast together the next day with our family and friends. Julie, the owner could not do enough to help us throughout and left us a lovely wedding card, chocolates and champagne in our room for our arrival. We were very surprised and happy to find the White Hart, as looking at the front of the Tea Room you would not expect to find so many rooms available in this listed building .

Room Tip: We looked at and booked all of the rooms and they are all to the same standard. The choice depends o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley P, Public Relations Manager at The White Hart B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Once again, Congratulations on your recent marriage. We're so pleased that you and your guests had a memorable time and we feel really privileged to have played a small part in such a happy time.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed on Saturday 26th July 2014,it's very basic,clean an had a very comfy nights sleep,breakfast was very satisfying.staff were friendly,approachable an very welcoming,I would of quite happily stayed here for longer an would recommend this B&B.thankyou all at The white Hart B&B leek for all your hard work

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annmariemckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley P, Public Relations Manager at The White Hart B&B, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks so much for your review. Glad you had a very enjoyable stay with us. It's great to read that you'd liked to have stayed longer - that's the best recommendation!

We do hope to welcome you again soon.

with regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Like others (see the May report - it's just as bad in July 2014!) we chose this B&B in order to attend a wedding at The Ashes, but it was not a good experience, and there appear to be several misconceptions about the quality of the White Hart Tearroom . On arrival, the entrance to the accommodation is distinctly down-market - a small door off the pavement on the busy main room protected by a digital codelock, which led to a narrow staircase with a very dirty carpet. The room was small, adequate, but very definitely not worth the £98.70 it was rated at per night. I find it difficult to equate our room with the glossy pictures on the website, and 'luxury' it was definitely not! It contained the usual hair-dryer, TV, coffee and tea, an ironing board with a cover with burn marks and other stains, a dirty chair and very utility decor with a dusty headboard and a winter duvet for summer!. There was no-one on the premises to respond to deficiencies and this is not the mark of a 4 star establishment.

The major problem was noise. The White Hart is on the busy A523 with constant traffic with everything from heavy trucks, to motorbikes, to boy-racers, and traffic continued until the early hours, only to start again at about 5am. If you shut the secondary glazing (no double glazing here), you have no air (no air con, not even a fan) and it is a hot little room; if you open the secondary glazing, say goodbye to sleep, especially with a noisy pub (The Engine Room, which started karaoke at midnight) over the road. The curtains were badly fitting and the shower room had no blind or blackout curtain, just a light net curtain.

As for breakfast - basic, tasteless and chaotic. I see from the response to a previous complaint the owner said " Guests come to the tearoom to enjoy breakfast as we provide a range of cereals, pastries, fruits, juices etc. as well as an extensive choice of freshly cooked breakfasts and it is a relaxing, comfortable environment in which to enjoy the start of the day." Well, it's changed - today there was no fruit, tepid orange juice, just the dregs of some cereals (e.g. cornflakes) in the container, just the average basic cooked breakfast - forget the 'extensive choice' - coffee that tasted burnt, 3 croissants for all the guests (were we to share?) and overall very poor quality. Certainly not a relaxing way to start the day - the service was slow, and the waitress forgot 2 items that had been ordered.


As for the billing arrangements - best advice is to check carefully, as there was an error on our account, and it took 2 assistants and phone calls to work it out - maybe they don't have many guests. As for the 'free taxi' to The Ashes - no, you are paying for it in the price, and all guests have to come back together so forget planning to come back early, or when convenient to you - that would be at your own expense. We declined to use the service, and the bill was reduced by ~£14, so that proves that it is NOT complimentary. In fact the taxi service is expensive for a 10 minute ride, especially if you share the taxi.

Overall this accommodation is ultra poor-value for money, and clearly the owner has never spent a night in one of the rooms - they would be horrified. A Premier Inn is due to open (or has opened?) in Leek where you will get superior accommodation for a much reduced price.

This was a rip-off and total disappointment - I think we deserve a refund, so that the final price reflects what you actually get not the hype.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_like_quality2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley P, Public Relations Manager at The White Hart B&B, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Further to your recent review on Trip Advisor, We are obviously extremely sorry and disappointed to read the review. We would however like to take the opportunity to address some of the issues that you have mentioned.

Firstly, we have received many excellent Trip Advisors reviews that mention the quality of service and standard of rooms. With this in mind, and the regular inspections we receive that have consistently awarded us a 4 star standard, we were somewhat surprised by your comments regarding quality and standard or the room and venue.

You mention that the “major problem” was the noise. We are somewhat confused by your statement that the “noisy pub (across the road) started karaoke at midnight”. Yes, there is a pub across the road, which closes at 11pm and NEVER holds karaoke evenings. We are obviously sorry that your comfort was compromised by traffic noise and again surprised the noise was as ferocious as you claim, particularly given it was a weekend. As the building is Grade II listed, we have to adhere to stringent guidelines and obviously are unable to fit conventional double glazed windows. That is why we have installed secondary glazing to combat external noise.

You imply that breakfast was sub-standard. Our cereals are indeed placed in branded Kelloggs containers and are replenished frequently to ensure there are ‘no dregs’. With regards to the number of croissants available, we bake off fresh each morning, and, if guests would like more we simply pop more in the oven so that they are fresh. We are surprised that you did not feel that our cooked breakfast included an extensive choice particularly as there are 7 items to choose from (plus toast or Staffordshire Oatcake) as well as vegetarian alternatives and gluten free options.

Finally, the rate. We are unsure where your rate of £98.70 has come from as it is higher than our tariff. We do indeed include a return taxi service within the rate if required. Guests are always asked whether they require this and it equates to £6.75 per trip, which considering the return journey is made after midnight, we feel that is a very fair price. We do realise that there was an issue at check out when we were made aware that one of your party had left the previous evening. As they had checked in, left belongings in the room and used facilities and did NOT advise us that they had to leave (despite returning to collect their belongings), we had no option but to charge for the room. We are not aware of any similar establishment who wouldn’t have implied such a charge, especially as the room had been used. We are sorry that this issue seems to be the central reason for your complaint and subsequent review here on Trip Advisor, particularly as previously advised some of your comments are false.

I hope that this clarifies the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We chose this B&B for convenience to get to a wedding in Leek but felt that it was not really worth the £95 stay. Location wise, parking was a pain but we had anticipated that as it was on a main road. The room was tiny, much smaller than we thought and a little dated. It had tea and coffee, ironing board and a small TV so did have the essentials but again for the price I think we expected a bit more. It was useful to have the taxi to The Ashes but the return trip was a little late for us so we paid for the return journey as we were quite tired and needed a good nights rest. We didn't get it. On our return, there was a funny smell on the staircase that smelt a little like gas or fust. We dismissed it as it was only slight at 11pm and went to bed. At 2am the rest of the guests arrived back noisily and debating a gas leak for a good hour and the inability to contact anyone as there were no staff onsite. I think by about 3am-3.30am they had made some calls and were set at ease about this smell but by this time we were wide awake. We opted for breakfast to the room which was needed after the sleepless night which was ok, but the black pudding was rather hard according to my partner and sausages a bit undercooked. I found the bacon fatty and left much of mine. I did leave the feedback form with all my details on regarding all this, but had no response. Overall, it fit a purpose but we won't look to return.

Room Tip: Chose one away from the road if possible, that too was noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley P, Public Relations Manager at The White Hart B&B, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Further to your review on Trip Advisor, we were obviously very sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay at the White Hart. Guest comfort, guest safety and providing exceptional quality facilities and customer service are our main priorities. I would however like to take this opportunity to respond to some of the issues that you raised.

For guests attending a wedding at The Ashes, The White Hart offers a complimentary taxi service. As The Ashes closes at 12.30pm, and everyone needs to be offsite by that time, we always arrange for transport to depart the venue at 12 midnight. The journey time from The Ashes is around 10 minutes (15 minutes at most) so we were somewhat confused by your claim that the remainder of the guests did not return in the taxi until 2am. Contact telephone numbers (if required in case of emergency) are provided and the owners of the property did receive a telephone call from fellow guests who had returned in the taxi regarding the potential gas smell. They came straight to the property to make all necessary checks and were on site by 12.30am and not, as claimed, at 3am.

You mention that you ‘opted for breakfast in the room’; which you had ordered on check-in the day prior and not, as implied, due to a disturbed night’s sleep. Typically, we do not offer room service. Guests come to the tearoom to enjoy breakfast as we provide a range of cereals, pastries, fruits, juices etc. as well as an extensive choice of freshly cooked breakfasts and it is a relaxing, comfortable environment in which to enjoy the start of the day. You will have noticed on check-out that we did not apply a tray charge to deliver breakfast to your room, nor did we charge a late check-out fee as you departed much later than our published check-out time, both charges would have been the norm in most 4 star establishments.

With regards to the quality of the breakfast, I’m afraid that we are unable to offer any explanation as no comments or complaints were raised on check-out. We pride ourselves on food quality and provide good quality home cooked food. As well as having won awards, the quality of our food is often mentioned here on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you are disappointed that no one has responded to the feedback form. The owners of The White Hart have been away and will be able to respond directly having now returned from their overseas trip.

Once again, we are sorry to read your reviews but hope that this response goes some way to clarify the issues.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had the overnight stay on Friday 9/5/14 it was fully booked to stay the extra night when we went ahead with the dates,so are day started with a drive of 70 mile along some lovely A roads with fantastic views,Leek is a very busy tidy little town,a great high street with lots of places to shop eat drink and mooch about without the traffic,The WHITE HART as all the needs we wanted very central ,cheap 24hr parking 50yds away,rooms are big very clean well stocked towels tea tv etc and a great shower.Food and drink at hand in a Very cozy tea room which is part of the business below with no noise or effect to your stay food is very good top grade on all the little treats service an staff go out of there way to help and assist you .our evening was spent visiting several watering holes ! as you do,and the Local J.D.Weatherpersons is a must only a little walk from the Hart very clean modern no tat and fantastic features .At breakfast we had the full Monty more than we could eat and offered extras along with all the usual that ou have.very filling and a great end to our stay wish we had booked earlier and had a longer break at both the Hart and Leek . check it out value for money.

Room Tip: book early and front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley P, Public Relations Manager at The White Hart B&B, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Paul

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay (sorry we only had the one night available!).

We pride ourselves on the quality of the room and food, so it's great to read that you really enjoyed the stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon so that you can enjoy another great night out in our town!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. The rooms are basic and quite small but are clean. The breakfast was very nice with a good choice of cereals and pastries. The cooked breakfast was very nice and freshly made. The bed and breakfast is also well located for the town with numerous pubs nearby, which appear to get quite lively on a Saturday night!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank navara22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley P, Public Relations Manager at The White Hart B&B, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning the breakfast - we pride ourselves on the food quality so it's great to read that you enjoyed the selection!

We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leek
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#3 of 3 in Leek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Silken Strand Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Daintry
The Daintry
#2 of 17 in Leek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart B&B

Property: The White Hart B&B
Address: 1-3 Stockwell Street, Leek ST13 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Leek
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart is a Grade ll listed building that has been lovingly restored to incorporate luxury four-star Bed & Breakfast accommodation and tea room.Conveniently located in Leek town centre, perfect for visiting The Peak District, Staffordshire countryside or Alton Towers. There are 8 en-suite bedrooms, decorated to the highest standards and fully equipped with all of the facilities that you would expect of luxury four star accommodation.While in Leek why not sample our freshly prepared, exceptional quality, good old fashioned food, served in our traditional tea room. When the weather allows, there is an outdoor courtyard to enjoy alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White Hart B&B Leek, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing