We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service for a great price”
Review of Lawtons pies

Lawtons pies
Ranked #2 of 3 Bakeries in Leek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service for a great price”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have visited this restaurant on numerous occasions and they have yet to let me down. The staff are friendly and always greet you with a warm smile. The food is also brilliant (I recommend the cheese and onion pies!). All this for fantastic value for money.
I have also ordered cupcakes from Winkles Cupcakes (part of the Lawton Company). The cupcakes not only looked fantastic but tasted just as good!

I would recommend Lawtons Pies to anyone visiting Leek!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 587sjb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve p, Owner at Lawtons pies, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks for taking time to leave a comment.i will pass it on to the girls who will be chuffed to bits they are keeping folks happy.
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Home delivery”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I ordered a box of 18 pie's to be delivered to Cornwall, they delivered on time, and well packaged so they were as fresh as they were baked also included was a preheating and freezing instructions.they were enjoyed muchly by my Partner and his son who were missing a taste of home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J1972S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve p, Owner at Lawtons pies, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are glad your pies reached you in excellent condition and that we solved your pie craving problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly and great food.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My parents and I often visit Leek and I had heard good things about Lawtons and their pies so we decided to have lunch there. The place is small but we got a table even though it was very busy. The menu is excellent, service is fast and I can't fault the food. Meat and potato pie, chips peas and gravy went down an absolute treat. All the time we were eating people were coming in for pies to take out and I don't blame them at all. The staff were wonderful, friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. I bought some pies to take home and they were kept behind the counter until we left, and they were just as good later that day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipstones, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best pies around”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Lovely pies with thin pastry and lots of tasty filling, the meat and potato are the best I've ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A staple of leek-ness”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Re-invented but still a classic. So many memories from childhood to adulthood. And of course still the worlds best pie.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliverjhambleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lawtons pies also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to Lawtons pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing