We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!”
Review of Castro's

Castro's
Ranked #23 of 99 Restaurants in Leek
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ilchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our wedding anniversary. We decided to book here as we had read some excellent reviews, managed to get a table booked for 9:15pm on a Saturday and so so glad we booked as they had to turn people away at the door! So book well in advance!!

We had a little wait when we arrived as another couple had arrived before us and some people were settling their bills etc... We ordered some drinks and were shown in to the lounge where we were given menus to look over, was so difficult to choose as everything sounded so yummy! But very chilled out setting, relaxing!

We went for a shared starter of Nacho Mountain... be aware it is a mountain! Looked amazing and tasted amazing, only problem was that we wanted to eat it all, but had to leave some room for mains! ;)

Mains: Alambre Chilango & Coconut Chilli Chicken with Lemon Cashew nut Rice... These were fantastic, my husband's Alambre Chilango was perfect, absolutely spot on with spices! My Coconut Chilli Chicken was delicious, never had anything like it and unfortunately I was not able to eat very much (even though I wanted to) as we had eaten a few snack a few hours before and then the Nacho Mountain I just couldn't, the Lemon and Cashew nut rice was totally amazing, I wish I had asked to take the left overs with me!!

Dessert: Dime Bar Cheesecake... I squeezed it in well half of it, had to! And it was so very worth it, the base was quite salty but with the sweet creamy top it was perfect and I loved it!

I do have one negative comment though... Where we were seated was not very nice, a very small table for two next to the wall and in the corridor where everyone walks in and out - very breezy! And was a little annoying to see the next couple (Who actually arrived before us) shown to a large table for 4 which was empty when we were shown in! We did feel we were treated not as well as others...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SomersetSweetheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    45
    22
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Honest and fresh Mexican”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great value meal. Wine was very reasonably priced and the ingredients were fresh. Portions were rather too large for us, but I doubt that would be a problem for most

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great restaurant with good food and service. Need to go when it's busy as that's when you get the best atmosphere

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra_oldbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Early bird catches the steak”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went last night for the early bird menu 6pm to 7pm,two course's for £13 or thee for £16. All adults had garlic mushrooms for starters. The lad had garlic bread. Four adult steaks cooked to perfection with wraps for the grandson. Super sweets you must try the homemade cheesecake or fudge cake. We had a great meal not rushed, good service and quality food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Every cloud..............!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A beautiful sunny evening encouraged us to go and eat out, normally we head into Leek but this night we headed for Cheddleton, The Red Lion was fully booked, and the newly refurbished Black Lion only served until 4pm, so we decided to give Castros a try for the first time.Situated besides the canal we managed to get a table outside, the restaurant inside was packed which is always a good sign.
We were very quickly given our menus and our drinks followed shortly after.
The starters looked great but we went straight to the main.2 Sirloins with all the trimmings.The food was EXCEPTIONAL!Steaks perfectly cooked and so very tender, fantastically tasting veg plus onion rings and mushrooms and a peppercorn sauce..........compliments to the Chef.Had to sample desserts, great ice cream, super syrup sponge with custard and ice cream.
Castros Restaurants offers quality food, reasonable priced in a great setting and I have to mention the staff who were very friendly and very efficient.We will definitely return very soon...........So Every cloud does have a silver lining.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryStorer1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castro's also viewed

 
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Leek, Staffordshire
Thorncliffe, Leek
 

Been to Castro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing