We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

The Green Man Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Man Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Leek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Green Man overnight as we were going to a wedding reception at the Ashes in Endon (which cost us £24 return by taxi).

We stayed in the family room which consisted of a double and 2 single beds with it's own bathroom. It was very clean and comfortable and had a flat screen TV and tea & coffee making facilities. The room was on the ground floor and at the front of the building so may be worth taking ear plugs if you are a light sleeper but we didn't have any trouble on a Saturday night.

The breakfast was good and cooked to order as well as plentiful!

Would return if we were looking for somewhere in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
22
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As a family of four we stayed at this motel for one night during a trip to see friends and visit Alton Towers (15 mins drive from the motel). We stayed in a family room which was perfectly adequate for our requirements and was very clean and tidy. Wife even commented on how nice the freshly laundered bed linen smelt (apparently she could tell it was washed properly "like at home" and not in a big industrial washer like most larger hotels!!). A great breakfast was included in the price and overall our I thought our stay was very good value for money. Nice friendly owners whom when we stayed had only recently taken over the establishment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drinkstone
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here when working local very friendly owners
Spotless rooms good size, TV coffee tea home from home.
If you like a cooked breakfast this you will not beat
Parking off road 2 mins walk into town where you will find some of the best ales in the country

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just had 3 nights at Green Man - Leek - first class accommodation -flat screen T.V .& Wi Fi
etc - very pleasant rooms - secure off street parking, and a good breakfast. Friendly staff.
our first visit - but, we shall return, good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We went to leek for the weekend and came across this surprise,they are little cottage type rooms separate from the main house,but they are clean warm and well equipt.the breakfast in the morning was lovely as were the staff.

Room Tip: All the same .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed at Green Man for 2 nights over christmas. We stayed in a family room with my wife and grown up son. The room was a good size and had three single beds. I found the bed very comfortable. Unfortunately we had a ground floor room with another room above. It was rather noisy when guests above moved around their room. Not their fault but a bit irritating particularly when they arrived late back on one of the evenings. All the other rooms are single level so obviously they would not have this issue. We were also next to the main road but this was not a problem for us as and didn't really notice any traffic noise. The guest house is very convenient for the town centre so you have to expect some traffic!. Back to the room and we found the small electric heater slightly frustrating to get working on a cold night. I would suggest perhaps some instructions may help guests although I think we finally got the hang of it on second night! The water heater in sink in bathroom also leaked and for me shower could do with a bit more power!. Breakfast was fine and service very good. Car park also very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed at RHE GREEN MAN for two nights last weekend the staff were very friendly, the room and bathroom were spottless there was a flat screen tv and tea and coffe making facilitys in the room the breakfast wasvery nice and very large i would recomend this place to anybody

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terryshaw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leek
2.7 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
2.3 mi away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#3 of 3 in Leek
238 reviews
8.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Daintry
The Daintry
#1 of 17 in Leek
75 reviews
3.6 mi away
Prospect House
Prospect House
#8 of 17 in Leek
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Man Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Man Guesthouse

Property: The Green Man Guesthouse
Address: 38 Compton, Leek ST13 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Leek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 7 en-suite rooms with free wi-fi and secure parking. All our rooms have TV/DVDs, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. We are situated close to the town centre and a 15 minute drive to Alton Towers. Ideally situated for exploring the Peak Distict National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Green Man Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Man Guesthouse Leek, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing