We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Burton on Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Wedding Experience!”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

A big thank you to Nigel, Jenny, Tom (the MD) and all the staff for making our daughter Philippa's wedding day so utterly brilliant.

Everyone was so attentive, supportive and courteous, and the food was delicious.

Duncan & Rosemary Ferguson

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post such a "fantastic" review of our hotel on tripadvisor following your daughter's recent wedding reception held here.

I am glad that her special day (and yours) was a great success and I will certainly forward your kind compliments to Nigel our Food & Beverage Manager, Jenny our Wedding Coordinator and all the team. I know that they will all take a great deal of encouragement and inspiration from your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Burton - Upon - Trent Newton Park Hotel to experience our outstanding levels of hospitality.

Kind regards

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    106
    105
    46
    28
See reviews for
74
119
8
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Lovely location overlooking the river, beautiful grounds and the downstairs area of the hotel was lovely. We had a lovely meal at the restaurant and all the staff were very pleasant. My only negative was the rooms - they basically need a good freshen up, the decor is bland and uninviting although the cleanliness of the room was perfect you just can't get around the fact that it needs updating and as for the bathroom not my idea of a hotel bathroom more B & B! and as our last stay at a Mercure was Sheffield St Paul there is just no comparison. But aside from my negatives you couldn't fault their service just get the decorators in!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I have noted your constructive comments in relation to the bathroom design and decor of the bedroom and this I will share with our property department.

I was glad to note that all other aspects of your stay including the cleanliness, hotel fabric ,catering and hospitality extended by my team was of a high quality.

Customer feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence. I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

i stayed here with before a day trip to Alton Towers. It is a very grand looking with a simple but elegant reception. The twin room we stayed in (with a 3rd bed) was more than suitable for three. It was used as the communal room for the 9 people that came up, that was the size of the room. The room was also very clean. They place a single "popup" bed in the room but I couldn't see a difference between that bed and the others, it was also very comfortable even for someone who sleep on a double. The only issues that I have with the room was that the Bathroom was dated and once the shower was on... it was on... the only way to turn it off was to get a maintenance guy in. The breakfast was OK the bacon was above standard however they need better Hash bowns and beans and larger sausages. (better hash browns will do though). The room was £44+£10 (additional bed) which i think was very good value for the size and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rza3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I have passed your comments on to the team as such positive feedback will inspire them to continue to provide excellent service in the future.
I hope that it will not be long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Burton upon Trent.

Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Laura Roe to Lee Cooke, the day was perfect right down to the smallest of details. Everything was so well organised the ceremony, the wedding breakfast and as the speaches were in progress the children were all entertained excellently by James who was fantastic with them. The evening reception and buffet were equally as well organised and the food both in the afternoon and the evening was excellent. The in house disco was great with music for all. I would recommend The Newton Park Hotel to any one looking for a wedding venue. Fantastic!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, it is very much appreciated. I have passed your comments on to the team as such positive feedback will inspire them to continue to provide great service. I have nominated James for a Star Award in recognition of his mention.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

An oldie world looking hotel full of beams and wooden staircases etc. The room I was in had a large double bed a modern tv and free wifi. The big negative in this hotel for me was the bathroom. The bath was made for someone no bigger than 3ft and with a shower head that was hand held rather than from the wall and I could have peed faster than the water from it Terrible. I was staying here for a business conference and to be fair to the hotel the catering was pretty good during the conference and the staff were polite and friendly. Would I stay here again? Probably not.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_Ramsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Tim_Ramsden,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I have noted your constructive comments in relation to the bathroom design and shower pressure and this I will share with our property department.

I was glad to note that all other aspects of your stay including the bedroom, hotel fabric ,catering and hospitality extended by my team was of a high quality.

Customer feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel which will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely

Tom Keaveny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, UK.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Booked as a surprise break visiting the Potteries and local steam train experience day. This mercure hotel exceeded expectations.Spacious room, excellent food, home style cooking, lovely grounds! We wished we had stayed more than one night as good value for money.
A nice walk to local village

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swaddy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Swaddy_7,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay here.
I am glad to note that we "exceeded your expectations" and that you awarded our hotel 5 stars.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel when you are next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom Keaveny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here Fathers Day for the weekend when we attended a wedding, we were a big party and my booking was 3 rooms.

Overall hotel and grounds - The hotel and grounds were lovely and the kids loved running around outside and the wedding reception, food and the attentiveness of the toastmaster towards us and the 2 children was lovely.

Staff - All the staff were very friendly and on mentioning we didn’t have a travel cot, within the blink of an eye, one appeared in our room, the only downside was that we had a pushchair and associated child stuff and we weren’t offered the use of a lift and my sister was located on the 2nd floor, we only realised there was a lift on the Sunday so for the 2 days we had to carry the pushchair up and down the stairs.

Communal hallways and bedroom - Moving onto the general décor, downstairs was lovely with nice little snug areas to gather, some of the hallways leading to the bedrooms although clean were very tired looking and could do with a little modernisation, the bedrooms were of ample size even with a travel cot and provided us plenty of room.

My sisters room where she had her 2 children sleeping was located above the dancefloor so on the Friday evening this was very noisy when trying to sleep for the kids and her, however the Saturday night would have been the same but we were guests at the reception.

Might be worth the hotel considering this when assigning people into rooms and ask if they are attending any function and perhaps not locate them in a room if they are not attending.

The bathroom was very dark and the showers were not very good, intermittent water pressure seemed to be an issue.

Drinks – the drinks as with most hotels were very expensive and did prevent us from consuming our local quota of drinks during the evening reception. I lived in London so I am used to high prices but I always used to find that as you travelled north up the country that a round of drinks was a little cheaper although this was not the case at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel if they have any function/disco's planned during your stay, if so, ask if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Footy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Footy_11,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post such a detailed review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to our hotel.

I have noted your constructive comments and areas you feel should be improved upon in terms of decor. These we will certainly bear in mind when planning our next refurbishement.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the high levels of hospitality as extended by my team.

Customer feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Tom Keaveny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Property: Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing