We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location - needs investment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Leicester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful location - needs investment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The hotel is set overlooking the river in beautiful grounds. The staff are friendly and very helpful. However, the rooms are awful. They are outdated and very tatty and quite frankly dirty! The bathroom was very dirty, especially the sink and the bath. The carpet in the room was dirty and hadn't been vacuumed for a very long time! The walls were dirty and covered in marks. The room also smelled very fusty. When I checked in they put me into a ground floor room which meant that even though it was a hot night, I couldn't open the window. When I checked out I said that I would have been happier on the second floor and they seemed amazed at my comment. I thought that most hotels put single females into second floor rooms. My male colleagues were all on the upper floors! The breakfast was fine and the checkout was fast and friendly. The building is absolutely beautiful but unloved. It needs a massive investment before I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeloresLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Burton Upon Trent Hotel, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

With regards your allocation of a ground floor room, it is our standard to put female guests on the upper floors and, as a result of your comment, we have conducted training with all our front office team to stress the importance of this.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back Mercure Burton Upon Trent Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Moira Banks

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    104
    103
    45
    26
See reviews for
72
117
8
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Newton Park was everything we could have hoped for in a wedding venue. The staff, from receptionists, to wedding co-ordinators, the toast master, to duty managers, Kitchen staff and Bar staff were great. The hotel was a great choice and from day one, communication and organisation made our wedding planning very easy. Room 121 is a fantastic room and breakfast is also great. The food on the day (3 course wedding breakfast and evening BBQ) offered great value and large portions. The wedding packages are affordable and very good value. Thank you very much.
Nathan and Esther Morland

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post such a "fantastic" review of our hotel on tripadvisor following your recent wedding reception held here.

I am glad that yourspecial day was a great success and I will certainly forward your kind compliments to all the team. I know that they will all take a great deal of encouragement and inspiration from your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Burton - Upon - Trent Newton Park Hotel to experience our outstanding levels of hospitality again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

A big thank you to Nigel, Jenny, Tom (the MD) and all the staff for making our daughter Philippa's wedding day so utterly brilliant.

Everyone was so attentive, supportive and courteous, and the food was delicious.

Duncan & Rosemary Ferguson

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post such a "fantastic" review of our hotel on tripadvisor following your daughter's recent wedding reception held here.

I am glad that her special day (and yours) was a great success and I will certainly forward your kind compliments to Nigel our Food & Beverage Manager, Jenny our Wedding Coordinator and all the team. I know that they will all take a great deal of encouragement and inspiration from your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Burton - Upon - Trent Newton Park Hotel to experience our outstanding levels of hospitality.

Kind regards

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Lovely location overlooking the river, beautiful grounds and the downstairs area of the hotel was lovely. We had a lovely meal at the restaurant and all the staff were very pleasant. My only negative was the rooms - they basically need a good freshen up, the decor is bland and uninviting although the cleanliness of the room was perfect you just can't get around the fact that it needs updating and as for the bathroom not my idea of a hotel bathroom more B & B! and as our last stay at a Mercure was Sheffield St Paul there is just no comparison. But aside from my negatives you couldn't fault their service just get the decorators in!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I have noted your constructive comments in relation to the bathroom design and decor of the bedroom and this I will share with our property department.

I was glad to note that all other aspects of your stay including the cleanliness, hotel fabric ,catering and hospitality extended by my team was of a high quality.

Customer feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence. I do hope that you will return to the Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

i stayed here with before a day trip to Alton Towers. It is a very grand looking with a simple but elegant reception. The twin room we stayed in (with a 3rd bed) was more than suitable for three. It was used as the communal room for the 9 people that came up, that was the size of the room. The room was also very clean. They place a single "popup" bed in the room but I couldn't see a difference between that bed and the others, it was also very comfortable even for someone who sleep on a double. The only issues that I have with the room was that the Bathroom was dated and once the shower was on... it was on... the only way to turn it off was to get a maintenance guy in. The breakfast was OK the bacon was above standard however they need better Hash bowns and beans and larger sausages. (better hash browns will do though). The room was £44+£10 (additional bed) which i think was very good value for the size and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rza3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I have passed your comments on to the team as such positive feedback will inspire them to continue to provide excellent service in the future.
I hope that it will not be long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Burton upon Trent.

Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Laura Roe to Lee Cooke, the day was perfect right down to the smallest of details. Everything was so well organised the ceremony, the wedding breakfast and as the speaches were in progress the children were all entertained excellently by James who was fantastic with them. The evening reception and buffet were equally as well organised and the food both in the afternoon and the evening was excellent. The in house disco was great with music for all. I would recommend The Newton Park Hotel to any one looking for a wedding venue. Fantastic!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, it is very much appreciated. I have passed your comments on to the team as such positive feedback will inspire them to continue to provide great service. I have nominated James for a Star Award in recognition of his mention.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Property: Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing