We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding day at a perfect location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect wedding day at a perfect location!!”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My wife and I booked our wedding breakfast at Newton park almost a year in advance and from that day have had swift communication and excellent customer service from the staff. Even sorting out a projector at the last minute for us to use.

The night before myself (the groom) and my family/friends stayed at the hotel and opted to set the wedding room up ourselves (despite being offered to have it all sorted for us). Whilst doing this, there was nothing that the staff would not do for us, helping out at the drop of a hat. James was particularly helpful and very friendly. At 'the last supper' we all enjoyed a lovely meal (though quite pricey) and were able to take over the bar area to watch the football. Again very attentive service from the staff throughout.

The rooms were generally well equipped and appropriate to the age of the property (I don't think rooms that are too fresh and modern would suit it). No complaints here whatsoever.

On the wedding day itself I must first mention that we opted not to pay the £250 odd for an MC. This turned out to be a great decision. Nigel the coordinator for the evening was incredible. He went above and beyond expectations and was attentive to my wife and I's every need. He planned everything to perfection and delivered with professionalism and humour. Newton park should be proud of this member of their team - a true gem. The food and service was fantastic and the day was amazing. I highly recommend if ever you are thinking of a venue for a wedding - particularly at Christmas time!

In summary, 5 stars does reflect the quality of the venue, however this does not reflect the quality of the service from staff. They give the place something that cannot be bought - excellence! Thank you very much.

Mr and Mrs Williams

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan221184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. It gives the team and myself great pleasure in reading such reviews. I will pass your thanks on specifically to Nigel and James, and, of course the rest of the team. Happy New Year and I hope it won't be long before we welcome you back to the Hotel.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    110
    106
    49
    34
See reviews for
79
124
8
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2012



I was lucky enough to be invited on my wife’s works Christmas party at Newton Park Hotel! It was great, extremely well organised, excellent service with fantastic food – portions were great as well! The theme of Black white and diamond was stunning as were all the ladies in their refinery!

The only problem we had was the bar was very busy ... only to be expected it was a Christmas party and the drinks were priced reasonably for a hotel (not pub prices though!). The hotel staff did try to ease the stress of the busy bar by introducing a cocktail bar....which our ladies loved! The Christmas quiz was fun during dinner and caused much discussion on our table, shame we didn’t manage to win the wine! My favourite part was the Casino....that was a lovely touch to gamble with fun money!!

I plan to return to Newton Park hopefully for the Charity Comedy night in the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. The feedback we have been receiving for our Black, White and Diamond parties has been excellent and it gives the team great encouragement to read such positive comments. We hope you do get the opportunity to come back and join our Comedy and Curry Night on 26th January as we are sure it will be an excellent night.
Thanks again for this great review.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Recently had a works christmas party night here and would never recommend to anyone for the following reasons, I can't begin to express my disgust at the price of the drinks, £18 for a bottle of wine and £5.50 for a pint of lager is self defeating on there part as most of our part stayed sober and hardly brought any drinks because of the cost just disgraceful when you can't celebrate because of the blatant rip off of this hotel, also there was a very poor quiz, the food was average at best, and the service was poor,left early which was a real shame and went to a local pub where I wasn't ripped off, ruined the night completely, will advice friends never to book a party night unless you don't mind being RIPPED OFF.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for posting this review. I was sorry to read you felt ripped off and felt the need to leave rather than speak to a member of the management team to address your concerns; however, I feel I must correct a few of your points. Firstly, a pint of lager is £3.70 which is average for a 4 star hotel and wine prices start from £7.00 per half bottle. We also sent out a form detailing various drinks offers to all our party organisers which could be preordered and offered great value in line with many pubs. Thank you for your feedback.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newton Solney hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012

At the end of the day, a room is a room is a room... and we did have a nice room with all that was expected for this type of hotel and more.
The building had character, the bar area was inviting, warm and comfortable. The restaurant is lovely, big windows overlooking the grounds, etc.

However, our five stars-rating is for the staff.

From the minute we set foot in the hotel, we were looked after as if we were the only customers around (we were not, there was a big wedding party staying at the same time as us).
The receptionists were friendly, chatty and very helpful.
The bartender /waiter was attentive and friendly. He came up with a full cream tea for us, even though it was not on the menu and the kitchen was not open yet.
The breakfast staff was outstanding. There was an older couple having their breakfast and one of the waiters did all the back and forward to the buffet for them, so that they wouldn't have to get up.
Speaking of breakfast, do try the eggs benedict. Now that is breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It is great to get such good feedback as the team here take great encouragement from this. As a popular wedding venue, we work hard to ensure all our customers feel valued and are not overlooked when we are busy. I hope it won't be long before we get the opportunity to welcome you back.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I certainly appreciate smaller, older hotels, but only if they are well kept and have character. Unfortunately this one was just old, oh and yes, small. But it was just a tired old house with worn furnishings and local young (untrained) staff. Bathroom was a mess, poorly conceived and poorly cleaned. The basics are also missing....wifi didn't work anywhere except in the bar.
Sorry, not worth using again....

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. I was sorry to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations. With regards the wifi, we are due to have an upgrade to our bandwidth in late January which will enable us to offer wifi throughout the hotel; however, internet access if available throughout the hotel currently through hard wired connections. As the Hotel is grade 2 listed, our decor is in keeping with this in mind. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Brilliant stay. I travel a lot for business but this hotel had the service of a small boutique hotel. Rooms are good and very comfortable. Grounds are immaculate. Wifi is poor on upper floors but good speed in bar area. Food good quality. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you very much for posting this review. I have passed your comments on to the team as they take great encouragement for hearing such good feedback. I hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to the Newton Park.
Thanks again
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
89 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
419 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
448 reviews
2.8 mi away
ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
#1 of 1 in Willington
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Property: Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing