We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth another go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
1 review
“Worth another go”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

I had an enjoyable stay here overall last Tuesday. Pleasant building and grounds. Restaurant food and service was good, only downside to the stay was service in the bar. The two young men behind the bar seemed unable to work out if they were more bothered about me and other guests, or their own conversation: 5 minutes of this in a hotel I can generally tolerate, this seemed to go on all evening. Apart from that, breakfast was top class and I congratulate the management on an enjoyable stay and I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H55c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the building and grounds so pleasant. I was also pleased to hear you found the restaurant food and service good and I will take the liberty of passing on your comments to the team, who will take great encouragement from such comments. Please rest assured that the two members of staff mentioned have been received 'corrective' training.
I hope this incident did not deter your stay too much and that we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    106
    105
    46
    28
See reviews for
74
119
8
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Having recently stayed at the Letchwoth Hall Mercure, it was interesting to stay at this sister hotel. The building is a nice regency building, but nothing is done to enhance its features. It lacks atmosphere and at the height of a good summer the gardens had aneglected feel to them. The room was comfortable and clean, but overhot on the hottest day of the year. We dined in the hotel the first night, the food was ok but lacked any wow factor and was quite pricey for what was a bit middle of the road. Two of the staff, Emma on reception when we arrived and Richard in charge of dining on the first night and generally around were exceptional . The rest were ok but breakfast on the second day was disappointing...although the hotel was less than half full, there was no fresh fruit available40 mins before the end of service, and the buffet lacked bread, yoghurt milk on request. This was in part down to the staff member who gave a clear impression he would rather be elsewhere and in fact started to clear the buffet away 20 mins before the end of service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are apparently always hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I was pleased to read that you found Emma on Reception and Richard in the Restaurant exceptional, they will take great encouragement from your comments. As a Grade 2 listed building we are unable to fit AC, which would make the rooms more comfortable on hot days, however, upon request we are always happy to supply fans to rooms. We have taken onboard from comments regarding service issues, without which we cannot improve.
Thank you once again for your feedback which is invaluable in helping us improve our service standards.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

A very nice hotel with very helpful staff especially Louise on reception who could not do enough for us. The rooms in the new part of the hotel are larger and more comfortable than the old part. The gardens are beautiful and the breakfast delicious and freshly cooked for you. The village is lovely so do have a stroll to the river whilst you are there and the locals in the village pub were great fun.

Room Tip: Choose the new part of the hotel - Room 203 has a four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was pleased to read that you found the staff very helpful especially Louise and I will pass your comments onto all the team. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Price :

managed to get pre-paid B&B rate for about £90 which is fairly decent value.

Accommodation :

It's a fairly tired ex-lord of the manor gaff, that is quite dark in decor, and is desperately needing significant remedial work to the interior and exterior. (rotten window frames, doors that won't shut properly.) Gardens are very pleasant.

Rooms advertised as A/C, not in ours. Standard double, very compact, with a micro bathroom and toilet, beds and pillows not bad.

Staff :

reception staff very good, although on departure I wasn't asked "if everything had been alright during our stay".

Waitress at dinner didn't have any sort of grasp of English, and when we asked for the Pork she responded with a loud "NO NO NO NO", with finger wagging. Would somebody please explain to her that the response is "I'm sorry sir but the Pork is off tonight".

Young girl on breakfast very pleasant.

Food :

Dinner was of generally good quality food, but served on cold plates, and the fillet whilst tasty was also nearly cold. Again, our waitress declined to ask if everything was okay, and noisily set about clanging the breakfast table settings into place at about nine o'clock.

Breakfast was good, eggs benedict very tasty.

So overall, no big issues, but I probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. As a grade 2 listed we are unable to fit AC and I am unaware of this being advertised anywhere. We have taken on board your comments regarding the service issues and will be retraining the team to improve these areas. Thank you once again for your feedback which is invaluable in helping us improve our service standards.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with work so its location was perfectly placed for my business needs.

The room I was given was on the very top floor of the hotel - there is no lift however I was offered help with my luggage.

The rooms while practical are a little on the tired side and would benefit from an update. We used the bar and restaurant on two occasions, food was ok, not overpriced but just seemed to lack some flavour.

Wifi in the hotel is ok but not blisteringly fast - you can just about hold a FaceTime conversation. The hotel offers free wifi which you have to log into each day and is quite a struggle to get connected to - they also offer a 'fast service' but you are expected to pay for this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry you had some trouble with our Wifi connection, I have asked our IT department to look into this. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Property: Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing