We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family visit to derbyshire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Reviewed 19 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for a night whilst visiting our son at Loughborough University over the weekend. Greeting at reception on our arrival was very bright and enthusiastic.

Shown to our room on first floor which was lovely - looked out over the fields at the front of the hotel. It was very clean and comfortable and we had a really good nights sleep. The staff we engaged with were all very pleasant and professional.

There was a wedding on at the hotel which made the bar area a little noisy and busy in the evening. We therefore decided not to eat at the hotel and walked into the village and had our evening meal at a local pub which was vey good.

Enjoyed our stay and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timberwolf3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to read that you found the staff pleasant & professional and that you would visit again. I will ensure the team hear about your review as they take great encouragement from such comments. I hope it won't be long before we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a more traditional Mecure Hotel but kept to their high standard. Lovely old Georgian House in the middle of fields with a quiet village a few miles down the road. Our room was on the ground floor, looking onto the car park and there was a wedding taking place however we didn't hear any noise and had a brilliant nights sleep. Newspapers delivered to the door to start our day too. There was no air con, but a fan was supplied and the window opened so it wasn't an issue. Everything was spotless although some areas were a bit 'twee' but in keeping with the house. The restaurant was very quiet due to the wedding but the food was hot and well cooked. Little issue with chewy calamari but was instantly changed. The restaurant also accepted the Gourmet Society Card for all meal times so everything was on a two for one offer making the stay very cheap. We were blessed with good weather and ate lunch outside in a very pretty garden area. Breakfast main choice was cooked to order which is unusual nowadays. Some staff, such as reception and the bar worker were very polite and nothing was too much trouble. The waitress in the restaurant needed some customer care lessons, but I do think perhaps it was a language issue, rather than a poor attitude. There's a small village a couple of miles away and on Sunday the place was full of locals in for their Roast - always a good sign. This Mecure is ideal if you just want to relax, listen to the birds and unwind with good food and pretty views. We drove into Burton to the cinema and there are lots of things around with a 10 mile radius if you want to venture out. Came home well rested and totally chilled out. Looking forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: there is a disabled entrance and a lift to some rooms. Ours was next to the car park - Room 2, but v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. I am pleased to hear you are looking forward to returning soon. I will pass your comments on to the team as they will take great encouragement from them. Thank you again for this feedback.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had arranged a private lunch event for 60 friends and family for a special event. From the beginning of the event we were met with a " computer says no" attitude - staff were not ready for the sixty guests coming and bar opened twenty minutes late. Lunch was scheduled for 1pm but room was laid out for too few tables. One person was on hand to try and sort this out but was clearly out of his depth not offering any solutions. A few of us (i.e. myself and a few of my guests) spent the next 30 mins setting up the missing tables, with the one staff member flustering around and shouting at a few other staff that were asked by him to help but disappeared quite quickly.
We ended up sitting down to lunch 1hr40 mins late, which also meant some friends had to rush off to catch their train on time.

I have had no apology from the hotel even when i have contacted them to complain - in fact their response was to deny anything went wrong!

All in all not what we wanted for a special occasion. Such a shame as we went to a very memorable wedding at this venue years ago before it changed hands.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kperkins78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Mrs Saddington who made all the arrangements for this function has had a written apology and a part refund for the shortfall in service. However, Mrs Saddington was advised that the table plan she provided would not fit in the function room and it needed changing. The team on the day did their best to accommodate by adding another table. Thank you again for posting this review.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Booked in for Sunday lunch with the Burton Mail voucher offer and had a very tasty three course meal.The staff from the reception,bar and restaurant were friendly and attentive. we've booked again as we were most impressed with the service we received.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 684,308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your lunch and have booked again. I will pass your comments onto the team here as they take great encouragement from hearing such reviews. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank historyboy28
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Last year September my husband and I got married at this hotel and it was THE most amazing, fantastic, wonderful day ever in the world. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was beyond spectacular in presentation and taste. None of our guests nor my husband and I could fault a single thing. As a wedding gift we were not only given a beautiful engraved photo frame, but also an anniversary dinner meal.

Returning this year, we decided to make a night of it and booked a night in the hotel to go along with our anniversary dinner. The room cost us an additional £125 for B&B but did not live up to the price as the bathroom was dated, wall tiles cracked, spider webs in the air vent above the shower, shower head too low and dirty, the water pressure was lacking as well as the shower heat, no rubber mat for the bath/shower, the bed was two singles pushed together which made for an uncomfortable night sleep, the pipes banged from around 6am, the before mentioned weddings guests woke us when they returned to their rooms, the TV was a couple stations short and the breakfast included was what we would call a child's portion as there was only 1 bacon, 1 egg, 1 small sausage, half a tomato, a few potatoes, few pieces of mushroom and a tablespoon full of beans. They did seem to make up the rest of the food in toast as we were given two lots without even asking for it. Bearing in mind the breakfast is advertised at £13.95... There was also a small selection of cereals and fruit with pastries, but we saved ourselves for the cooked breakfast which was disappointing.

After we arrived we decided to spend an hour or two in the bar before our meal. As I'm pregnant I'm trying to stay away from alcohol and caffeine and asked for a decaf tea. I was informed that they had sold out ( Even though we later discovered that the rooms were stocked with decaf tea, clearly too much effort to get one of them for me...). I then enquired about non alcoholic drinks and was informed that they only had Becks Blue...I don't drink beer... I settled for a decaf coffee in the end which came with a delicious biscuit. When I asked for more milk I asked if there was any more of the delicious biscuits but was informed that I had had the last one... We spent some time playing with the dominos which were in the bar and enjoyed the atmosphere (there was a wedding taking place).

For our wedding breakfast last year we had the biggest, most delicious profiteroles I've ever seen and tasted and enquired weather they had any on the menu in the restaurant as we were really looking forward to them. Unfortunately they did not, however the wedding that was taking place had profiteroles for their desert and it just so happened that they had two portions spare and we could have them. We were overjoyed! We ordered our meals and both starter and mains (even the Amuse-bouche which was a lovely surprise) were delicious and well presented, however the profiteroles, which we were looking forward to for so long, were dry and small and we were so disappointed... One great thing about dinner, apart from the before mentioned starters and main, was that I was allowed to take a glass of my own non alcoholic wine down to dinner with me without paying for corkage.

Upon checking out the receptionist (Louise I think her name was) was very sympathetic to our complaints and said she'd pass on the comments to the relevant departments, which was nice albeit a bit late to change our experience.

All in all a rather average/disappointing stay after the excellence we experienced the year before.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKru1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for feedback which is a duplicate of your husband's which has already been posted and acknowledged on this site.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
441 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
345 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
516 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range: £44 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing