We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not book your meals in advance. You are being ripped off” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not book your meals in advance. You are being ripped off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel was booked for us as a thank you for our hard work. It was suppose to be a relaxing break.

The stay cost £385 for a privilege room with breakfast and dinner.

When booking the hotel it said on their website, '£15 special Internet price for evening meal'. We had meals booked for the 2 of us for the 3 nights.

When we checked in the receptionist was stroppy and not really interested in us apart from shoving a form at us. Said sign here. There was no offer of carrying our bags up the flight of stairs to our room.

When we got to the room, the free movies as a privilege guest didn't work, the wifi didn't work and their were no robes or slippers. The room was exactly the same as the standard rooms apart from the coffee machine.

We complained to the duty manager who seemed put out. He moved us to another room which was smaller but we were told the tv works and the wifi works! We were also given our robes and slippers.

There was a menu in our room that stated that if you had evening meal in your package you can help yourself to anything upto £22 and pay any difference. We thought great. It was a different story at dinner!

We ordered food exactly upto £22 when we finished our meal we were greeted with a bill for £15. We were taken aback and slightly embarrassed. The duty manager kept saying the £22 is for all enclusive. I said hang on it doesn't say that online and the only info we have had is on the menu.

We were extremely embarrassed while he was talking to us in a loud enough voice for others to hear he was looking around smirking as if to say we are trying it on.

We paid the money on check out the following day. I also wrote to head office on the second day and as yet have had no response.

DO NOT FALL FOR ONLINE OFFERS. THEY ARE MISLEADING AND ARE NOT 'OFFERS' THEY ARE THERE TO DRAG YOU IN.

WE WILL NEVER BE STAYING AT THE NEWTON PARK AGAIN. BE WARNED!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priti42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I have investigated your concerns and have found that you booked on a bed and breakfast rate and then booked the dinner offer of 2 courses for £15 per person, a saving of £2 per person on our normal rate. This is not an inclusive dinner, bed and breakfast rate which includes a dinner allowance of £22 per person. I am sorry if you were confused by this. With regards your room, I am sorry the robes and slippers were not in your room on arrival. With regards the size of your room, as the hotel is an 18th century grade two listed building, all our rooms are differing shapes and sizes, and a privilege room is about the facilities in the room not the size. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    104
    103
    45
    26
See reviews for
72
117
8
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for work

great character hotel, really good bar meals, helpful & friendly staff.

only drawbacks were
- limited mobile coverage
- a bit out of Burton so easier if you have a car available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for posting this review. I was pleased to read you found the staff friendly and helpful. I will ensure they see your comments as they take great encouragement from such feedback. I hope it won't be long before we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Booked this as a last minute get away for me and my husband and we stayed for two nights. When we arrived at the hotels first impressed was very pleasant. The attendant that was at reception was polite and professional and very welcoming, she informed us that that had been a problem with the online system and it had let us book the privilege room for the Saturday night when they didn't actually have any available. She did say we would get all the extras that we had paid for, movies, wifi, robes ect and we would be billed for them but and we was put in a standard double. Problem solved.

When we got to the room which was on the 2nd floor it was of a good standard really. Bathroom needed updating but all facilities worked so only sore on the eye. But generally clean and comfortable.

The Friday night was so peaceful, it seemed like we were the only ones in the hotel. Saturday night was a different picture, me and my husband was into Willington by taxi for dinner as the hotel menu didn't take our fancy. We returned about 9pm and there was a wedding going on, so the bar was pretty full. We decided not to intrude on their space and got some drinks and took them to our room.

The music at the wedding went on until about 12 ish as that's when we couldn't hear the base. Some very drunk guests returned to their rooms a little later and were loud but nothing that bad that I couldn't get back to sleep.

Breakfast was ok, It wasn't what I expected when I asked if I could have the hot buffet breakfast and was then fetched a full English. It felt very formal like an evening meal being waited on.

would I stay here again, I think I would.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bouchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to read that you would stay again and enjoyed your stay. I hope it won't be long before we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The wife and I stayed overnight at Newton Park, for the wedding of a friend.

On arrival the check-in was efficient and cheerful. The room was a bit tired but then it is an old grand house. The central heating did not work but an electric heater was provided, and this was adequate. The room its self was clean and comfortable, with a nice view. The public areas were clean with period décor in good condition. Before joining the wedding celebrations, we had a very nice meal, in one of the side rooms.

The wedding its self, was well organised and the staff efficient and helpful. The period décor made this a nice place for a wedding, with a nice sized function room and conservatory. In particular, I must mention the night staff that looked after us, until we made our way to bed in the early hours of Sunday morning, for a good night’s sleep.

Much later in the morning, I particularly liked the cooked breakfast. There was a small glitch, in that the sausages were missing from our plates. This was quickly remedied by our waitress, who fetched some from the kitchen once we mentioned it. There were quite a few guests for breakfast, but there were sufficient staff to cope.

The check-out receptionist was helpful and efficient. I had mislaid my glasses and she did what she could to help, there were quite a few guests leaving at the same time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time & trouble to post this review as it is important to receive feedback as we strive to improve our customer service. I will ensure the team read your comments as they take great encouragement from such reviews. Thank you again for your review.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for a night whilst visiting our son at Loughborough University over the weekend. Greeting at reception on our arrival was very bright and enthusiastic.

Shown to our room on first floor which was lovely - looked out over the fields at the front of the hotel. It was very clean and comfortable and we had a really good nights sleep. The staff we engaged with were all very pleasant and professional.

There was a wedding on at the hotel which made the bar area a little noisy and busy in the evening. We therefore decided not to eat at the hotel and walked into the village and had our evening meal at a local pub which was vey good.

Enjoyed our stay and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timberwolf3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to read that you found the staff pleasant & professional and that you would visit again. I will ensure the team hear about your review as they take great encouragement from such comments. I hope it won't be long before we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a more traditional Mecure Hotel but kept to their high standard. Lovely old Georgian House in the middle of fields with a quiet village a few miles down the road. Our room was on the ground floor, looking onto the car park and there was a wedding taking place however we didn't hear any noise and had a brilliant nights sleep. Newspapers delivered to the door to start our day too. There was no air con, but a fan was supplied and the window opened so it wasn't an issue. Everything was spotless although some areas were a bit 'twee' but in keeping with the house. The restaurant was very quiet due to the wedding but the food was hot and well cooked. Little issue with chewy calamari but was instantly changed. The restaurant also accepted the Gourmet Society Card for all meal times so everything was on a two for one offer making the stay very cheap. We were blessed with good weather and ate lunch outside in a very pretty garden area. Breakfast main choice was cooked to order which is unusual nowadays. Some staff, such as reception and the bar worker were very polite and nothing was too much trouble. The waitress in the restaurant needed some customer care lessons, but I do think perhaps it was a language issue, rather than a poor attitude. There's a small village a couple of miles away and on Sunday the place was full of locals in for their Roast - always a good sign. This Mecure is ideal if you just want to relax, listen to the birds and unwind with good food and pretty views. We drove into Burton to the cinema and there are lots of things around with a 10 mile radius if you want to venture out. Came home well rested and totally chilled out. Looking forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: there is a disabled entrance and a lift to some rooms. Ours was next to the car park - Room 2, but v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. I am pleased to hear you are looking forward to returning soon. I will pass your comments on to the team as they will take great encouragement from them. Thank you again for this feedback.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Property: Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing