We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue but expensive bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Forests & Fens - Midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice venue but expensive bar”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

BEAUTIFUL building that needs a little TLC. We stopped for one night only as attending a party. I think the quality of the room you get is a bit pot luck....we stopped in 206 which was very spacious and comfortable and was good value for money, however two of our friends were allocated 106 which was tiny with barely room to move around the bed...looked like a single room that had a double squeezed in. The staff were all very friendly and efficient and seemed well trained. The three course meal we had was very nice, of good quality with big portions for those with a larger appetite, the breakfast next morning was better than average hotel fare; all the normal self serve fruit, toast, juices etc followed by a well cooked full English - again good value as was included in the room price. Only gripe made by at lot of people
was the prices at the bar..... very expensive for the area, but I suppose they have a captive clientele and make the most of it. Overall I would give this hotel a good rating and would recommend it (as long as you don't get room 106)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RelaxOrDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased you enjoyed the Christmas Party night. WIth regards the bedrooms, room 106 is situated in the original house which dates back to the 18th century so all the rooms in this part of the hotel are of differing sizes. Room 206 is in our Trent wing which was added on in the 1960's so the rooms are all a uniform size. Thank you once again for your feedback and I wish you a Happy Christmas and New Year.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    112
    107
    49
    34
See reviews for
81
127
9
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is a beautifully situated hotel in lovely grounds. However our room was rather tatty and tiny with a weeny bathroom without a bath. Dinner was ok; nothing special and we ate to the accompaniment of a very tired old tape. I counted on track played five times!

Some rooms were very cold though titchy fan heaters were provided.

Mystified by four star status. toiletries were inadequate. No safe. No water in room.

On the plus side the staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room, had you mentioned this to the team while you were here they would have endeavoured to have moved you to the more modern extension which has rooms which are larger. The hotel is a Grade two listed building so some of the rooms in the original house are of an unusual shape. WIth regards our four star status, the AA rating is mainly based on service and not amenities or size of rooms. I believe our Guest Care Manager offered to provide you with a shower cap when you commented that there was not one in your room. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newton Solney hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely hotel. Me and my partner booked this hotel as we were visiting family in the surrounding area. When we arrived my partner had actually booked the wrong date but thankfully they had one room available, the only downsides were this was without a shower and on the top floor (and I do not use lifts!), but we could not moan as it wasn't the hotels fault we had booked the wrong date! Although the view was beautiful! We did stay during the very hot months of this year and as we were right at the top the room was extremely hot and the windows did not open much, but a desk fan was provided (thankfully!).
The staff were friendly, and the room was very clean, we ordered room service and although it took a while to get through as the reception area was very busy it was a very efficient service with a lovely meal. The venue is beautifully decorated with stunning grounds. There was a rather large wedding party happening at the time of our stay but we could not hear anything from our room.
Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Make sure you book the right date!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for posting this review. I am pleased we were able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will stay again whn visiting your family. Thanks again for this review.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Went last night for a works bash, cant believe i was charged £9.50 for a pint of coke and a vodka & coke, a pint of beer is cheaper than a pint of coke, you dont do much to discourage drink driving, maybe thats the plan, as then you can stay there for the night..i thought it was disgusting...i went on tap water for the rest of the night just on principal...hopefully wont have to go there again...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for posting this review. As we do not have soft drinks on draught, we have to use 2 bottles of pepsi to make a pint serving; hence the price. However, we do offer special drinks packages and wine offers to all parties including a designated drivers bucket at a reduced prices. Obviously your party organiser chose not to pass on this information or book any of the offers. Thank you once again for this feedback.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for one night dinner, bed and breakfast in a privilege room. All the staff we met were lovely and very courteous. Our room was good - excellent size and very well equipped.
Dinner in the restaurant was adequate. Four of us ate and none of the meals were very special. Two things ordered were completely different to the menu description, for example, roasted root vegetables with chestnuts and bacon contained no bacon no chestnuts and no root vegetables. They did take the items off the bill.
Breakfast had minimal choice of cold items and again the hot items were not as described - potato rosti arrived as sliced potato.
I would stay here again because the staff were so good but do not expect a gourmet dining experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAXINEOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I will ensure your comments regarding dinner/breakfast are passed on to the Head Chef to ensure this does not happen again. I will also pass your comments on to the team as they take great encouragment from hearing that you found them courteous and lovely.
Thank you again for this review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My partner and I went to view the mercure as a possible wedding venue and fell in love with the ceremony room and views. We were keen to take the next step so we asked the wedding planner to send us some package prices ASAP. A few days later we had not received anything so I called her and left a message - no reply. I called again and was assured they would be sent. The next day - still nothing, so I called again and was told it was on her list of things to do. I gave it another few days but still nothing, so I called again. This time age said there was obviously a problem with email so she would post the information out to us. Keen to get things moving still at this point, I asked her to go through it with me over the phone but was told it was too complicated, that it would be sent in the mail. Two weeks later, we're still waiting. We would not have our wedding here now as the wedding planner is evidently too busy with the groupon deals the hotel has recently been promoting to put together a package for individual weddings. If this is the service you get while the hotel are trying to get out custom I can't imagine what it would be like once we paid a deposit

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. May I take this opportunity to apologise for the lack of service you have received. This is not our usual standard and I will investigate this matter with the Events team.
Yours sincerely
Moria Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
91 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
420 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
455 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Property: Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing