We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a few days away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    106
    105
    46
    28
See reviews for
74
119
8
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My company hired the use of the boardroom meeting room. We were really impressed with building and the gardens were beautiful. This hotel is located in a lovely village with a couple of pubs and lovely surrounding countryside. Our meeting room was well equipped with the usual flip charts, pens, plentiful tea, coffee, fruit etc. our buffet lunch was plentiful, well presented and very tasty! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault this hotel, and we would use it again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. The team here will take great encouragement from this. I hope it won't be long before we get the opportunity to welcome you and your colleagues back to the Hotel.
Kind Regard
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

spacious room , good check out time for 20£ had room till 6pm lovely old bar area lots of easy parking good bathroom clean and comfortable . i will stay again when next in the burton area , the only thing i had to eat there was a sandwich which was pretty good and a very good espresso.

Room Tip: room 2 twin room was vcomfortable looked into car park but caught sun a bit in afternoon (which didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason p H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for posting this review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope it won't be long before we welcome you back to the Hotel.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This has been our forth lunch in the last few months and each time we have not been disappointed with the service and quality of the meal. On Sunday, we took my wife's mother and she was most satisfied with the choice of menu,quality and quantity of the food. The service was first class and Richard was very helpful, as were the reception and bar lady. Please pass on our comments to the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 684308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for posting this review, it is much appreciated by the team as they take great encouragement from such feedback. I will ensure that the team read this review. I hope it won't be long before you join us for Lunch again.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is in the village pleasant Newton Solney set in lovely grounds which were a pleasure to walk around. On arrival we were greeted with a smile from the nice reception staff.
We had a room on the first floor facing out to the front of the hotel which was nice and clean.

We used the restaurant both night the food was great and plentiful the waiter was a really nice Guy and easy to talk to. I loved the music which was playing whilst we ate it made the evening more enjoyable. All members of staff were very pleasant. All in all we could not fault it and would most certainly stay again.

Well done every one and thanks for making our stay a very good experience.

5 stars all round

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogere1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I will ensure the team here read your comments as they will take great encouragement from them. I hope it won't be long before we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
510 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a pleasant village outside Burton-on-Trent. It's a traditional old building that looks a bit like an old school.

The staff were pleasant but, in the main, unmanaged. This is a sleepy place and on check in the chef, duty manager and receptionist just stood around gossiping! My room on the first floor was freezing cold and the radiators wouldn't work; the bathroom was basic and freezing and the shower tap fell off in my hand. The bed was fine.

I had dinner and breakfast. Dinner was edible but the dining room is horrid. Piped music, cheap Formica tables and no candles. Think 1970's.

One of the reasons I booked this hotel was because they say they have a fitness room......the reality is a large cupboard with a bike, a runner and a cross trainer! I was very disappointed .

I can't recommend this hotel and wouldn't stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry you found your room cold, with the recent mild weather we have been asked to switch the heating off as many of our guests have found the rooms too hot at night. We advertise as having a mini gym and it is used by many of our regular guests who appreciate the added facility. I will speak to the team about your comments regarding gossiping. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newton Solney hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Property: Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing