We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and good service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Its a bit of a trek getting there but the hotel is visible from the main road and looks impressive in its setting. The top points about this hotel was the friendly staff and great service in the restaurant. The room I had was small and needed some modernisation and the bathroom was a challenge to use because it was so cramped. The best thing about the hotel is the classic style of the building and its sense of history.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I was pleased to read you found the staff friendly and the setting impressive. As the original house is a 17th century Grade 2 listed building, some of our rooms in the old house are unusual shapes. I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    104
    103
    45
    26
See reviews for
72
117
8
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here on business just for the one night. I arrived fairly late and received a very warm welcome from the young lady on reception. Check-in very easy with no delays. My room was on the first floor but sadly overlooked a back car park, bushes and some bins...... So no pretty view for me? However, the room was pleasant with a very comfortable bed and lovely fresh white linen etc. likewise the towels were lovely and white and fluffy. My only grumble with the room was the lack of sockets for us modern day traveller. Been on my own I don't tend to do restaurants, so it was refreshing to see a good selection of food on the room service menu. This was delivered promptly and with a smile. It was an eventful night as the fire alarm went off, which meant a full evacuation. I'm a H & S advisor for a large government organisation, so I was pleased to see how efficiently the staff dealt with the evacuation, roll- call and dealing with the fire service. So well done. Letter posted under the door from the manager thanking us for our cooperation. Nice touch. All in all a nice stay and I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

Room Tip: I guess a room over looking the Trent valley would be nice, so ask for one at the front of the hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased that the staff dealt with the fire evacuation properly. I will be sure to pass your comments onto them as they take great encouragement from such comments. Thank you again for this review and I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best Mercure we have stayed in, the staff were absolutely brilliant and friendly, made you so welcomed, my little boy who is 3 was made a fuss of which was really good of them, the both breakfasts we had was very hot and tasty,our evening meal was excellent in the restaurant really enjoyed, I would highly recommend this hotel, very pretty grounds, thanks to all the staff that made our weekend so special

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased you had a good weekend and the staff looked after you well. I will pass your compliments on to the team as they take great encouragement from them. I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

A lovely hotel in a quiet location, surrounded by picturesque gardens. Food quality was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Superior room spacious and comfortable, although more information on how to access the wi-fi and movies upon arrival would have improved my visit. Staff willing to help with this when asked. Will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidDavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will return.
Kind Regards
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We attended a Navy reunion weekend in the hotel and the staff could not have done more to make us welcome. We had two dinners and two breakfasts in the dining room and the food and service were of a very high standard. This is the second time we have used the Newton Park and we will undoubtedly return because it's an ideal venue for functions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It was a pleasure to welcome your group back to the Hotel for the second year. I will ensure the team here read your comments and we will look forward to welcoming you back in 2015. Kind Regards
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My company hired the use of the boardroom meeting room. We were really impressed with building and the gardens were beautiful. This hotel is located in a lovely village with a couple of pubs and lovely surrounding countryside. Our meeting room was well equipped with the usual flip charts, pens, plentiful tea, coffee, fruit etc. our buffet lunch was plentiful, well presented and very tasty! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault this hotel, and we would use it again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. The team here will take great encouragement from this. I hope it won't be long before we get the opportunity to welcome you and your colleagues back to the Hotel.
Kind Regard
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Property: Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing