We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, pub ok.”
Review of The Unicorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Unicorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely room, pub ok.”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at the Unicorn - we were in the rooms at the back and ours was really comfortable; a very peaceful nights rest and we really couldn't fault the stay. Great value and a great breakfast!!
A bit of a let down was the pub itself...it was a bit soulless and the decor just doesn't seem right to me - not what I expected and this is why I can't give a rating of 5. However, if it is a restful night you're looking for, definitely give this place a go!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn0wman89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    30
    7
    11
    8
See reviews for
12
33
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We had been planning to go to The Unicorn since it had been taken over, but work etc had got in the way. However, we were able to go last week and it was a thoroughly enjoyable dinner.
Good pub classics on the menu and a realy good atmosphere in the bar with plenty of locals enjoying a pint or three of Bass.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Big thankyou to John and his staff for a great weekend. The boys loved your hospitality, good food and good beer...shame about the Rugby, but the two welsh contingent seemed happy!!!!. Breakfast excellent and no pressuer or rush. Sorry for the problems Friday night.....unbelievable in such a idylic little hamlet. I thinK pegasus21 stayed during the chageover of landlord, but John has a good business and is getting the pub back to its former glory...the best pub in Newton.
Cheers

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fos_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and atmosphere and good reasonably priced food.clean rooms well equipped and looking forward to returning.a handy location in an interesting area.loved the black pudding for breakfast and no pressure on vacating when leaving

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Sadly not the place it used to be but much better than Newton park down the road. It use robe owner managed now I think it's a small chain but they did a reasonable job overall. The pub has lost it's atmosphere but the rooms are good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We recently visited the Unicorn Newton Solney for New Years EVE 2012. We have previously visited the resturant/bar and had an exceptional experience, we were looking forward to the meal and atmosphere.However we were very sadly disappointed the menu has become typical bar food (a long way from the bistro balanced menu previously offered). Small things like the wine menu has been reduced to red or white...???? The bar was empty and the chef had to notify the waiter to even acknowledge we needed a drink on arrival. The meal itself was drab, boring and tasteless!!!

We left feeling highly disappointed at then having to pay the previous menu prices and having to queue quite a while for the priviledge ... (whilst the bar staff chatted randomly amongst themselves????)

We will NOT be revisiting the Unicorn any time soon... bring back old management PLEASE!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegasus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

stayed here for the weekend and it was very nice. Lovely little village, lovely little pub. We stayed in the cottage, we had rooms 5 and 6 (2 couples) our room, room 6 was huge, double bed, sofa bed and a pull out single bed so there is plenty of room for a family. The room was very clean and the bed comfy, Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We did not have an evening meal here but the menu looked great. The place has just been taken over by new management and she is lovely. Our first night was a little noisy as a staff party was going on but by 12.30 all had quietened (and we were assured that it was a one off). only criticism is that the smoking area for the pub is right next door to the cottage which causes an issue for non smokers to walk past and again the noise on the first night was a bit of an issue.

Room Tip: the rooms on the cottage are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
0.4 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
2.5 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
449 reviews
2.5 mi away
ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
#1 of 1 in Willington
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
419 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
219 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Inn

Property: The Unicorn Inn
Address: Repton Road, Newton Solney DE15 0SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Unicorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Unicorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing