We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good reputation lost”
Review of The Unicorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Unicorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Having not been for some time we called in for something to eat and a drink.really struggled with the poor menu selection compared with what was previously offered at this location and then found out food was not served all day so could not eat anyway very poor attitude and unwelcoming staff restaraunt and bar area looking very unclean and scruffy. Took our drinks to the beer garden to find it had been turned into a smelly petting zoo full of farm animals no wonder there was nobody about which we thought was strange as the place used to be packed.very disappointed bring back the old Unicorn.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Cottonsox68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were attending a wedding in Newton Solney and the brides family had booked a room at the pub to host dinner for all the guests who were staying at the Mecure(another story) the night before. We arrived at 7pm, ordered drinks and were told that the kitchen was too busy to take our food order and that the waitress would come and take orders from our party in 10 minute gaps. That never happened despite several reminders. Finally at about 8.10pm we lost our patience and demanded that the orders be taken. Some people had food, some did not. It was not the most relaxed of pre wedding dinners. The service was terrible and the attitude by one particular waitress was appalling despite being told we had a diabetic in our party who needed His dinner. Her attitude was appalling. We did finally get our food around .8.40 and it was Ok. Needless to say we moved on the the other pub in the village as soon as we could . The Unicorn has the advantage of being the only food serving pub in village but they were not able to cope with our party of about 20 even though we had booked for that number and they knew we would be eating. If you are going to a wedding at Newton Park and are staying in the village, then check out alternative places to eat if you are a large party.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank DMKent2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We decided to visit here as a last minute option for tea one Thursday evening . We often drive past and comment as to how inviting the pub looks ..... Boy were we wrong :-( We were seated in the restaurant and given a menu by a very disinterested young girl . I think the menu had been stolen from the transport cafe in Burton ! Grilled everything ! The word basic spring to mind ! I had grilled chicken and jacket potato , flavourless and boring .
We were the only ones in there at that point and it took ages for the food to arrive , I felt really sorry for the couple sat next to us as they had to wait longer !
Received the bill and nearly choked ! What a rip off and the staff were off putting and rude ! Won't be going back !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Visited The unicorn Inn in Newton Solney on the 18th for a meal with my boyfriend, I had stayed in the rooms and popped in for drinks and been delighted but hadn't yet dined :) I was pleasantly surprised when my food arrived with large portions for a great price, food was delicious and wel presented :) friendly staff and lovely atmosphere, will definitely be visiting again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Didn't stay at the hotel but visited the pub restaurant for a meal Saturday night. The meal was lovely and the service was excellent. The gammon steak was really good as was the chicken kiev and the homemade chips were awesome. Special mention to our waitress who made us feel very welcome. Really enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timberwolf3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Visited on a Sunday lunch as a party of 10 for a birthday only to find 2 other larger parties booked in at the same time. This included a larger party plus a table of 4 all crammed into the same room, not a good start as we had to rearrange chairs to make room for people to actually sit down. We then had to wait 50 minutes for our starters to be served, except the four that had ordered soup, who waited an hour and the person that had been forgotten altogether, who waited longer. Some of us enjoyed our starters, some of us did not. Little details to mention: no lemon wedge with the smoked salmon (a must, lemon mayo doesn't cut it!), no pickle with the pate, cremated bacon and only one small sliced up mushroom on the bacon and mushroom salad. The soup looked OK.
Then the mains came, eventually, served by the dourest waitress ever who never once smiled. Most of the party had the roast dinner option which came with a huge, mostly charred, yorkshire pud, varying amounts of gravy from barely any to far too much, and some cooked/some uncooked (depending on your luck) stuffing balls. The sides of veg and mash had gone cold by the time the mains had arrived due to being bought out too early on plates and not on hot dishes. Apparently the meat was tasty but that was as far as it went. Instant gravy, rock hard roasties and over done yorkies. I had the grilled trout which was OK but my salad consist of far too much iceberg lettuce and red onion (what's difficult about some nice salad leaves?), 2 quarters of tomatoes and 2 slices of cucumber, and no dressing. No offer from unsmiley waitress to get us some more drinks either. And no, we didn't give her hard time about the service or the food, so there was no excuse.
The whole lunch took about 2 hours, usually we don't like to rush our dining experience at all, but we really didn't want to prologue this experience any longer than necessary. The other table was very noisy and were singing to the kids on the table a fair bit. The only saving grace about the whole experience was that we all got charged off the set £11.95 for 2 courses menu despite a couple of dishes that were from the more expensive evening menu. The courses that had come from the evening menu were drastically over-priced for the quality of the food received had we been charged properly.
Beware the soft drinks! A large coke/lemonade (a mere half pint) was £2.50! We thought we had been charged incorrectly but apparently a half pint is a large drink! Also charged £1 for soda water!
Would any of our party return to The Unicorn? Not ever. Tips for The unicorn: Don't book more people in that you can cope with. Teach your staff that smiling is an important attribute in the service industry. Your food is overpriced for the quality given.
Overall we had a great birthday party; although this started after we left the pub and had nothing to do with The Unicorn.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank AngieC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I am writing this at the time of eating. We are Visiting for a Sunday lunch for my grandmothers birthday. Upon arrival it was rather busy (3 large parties including ourselves). We sat down at 2:20pm and we finally started to recieve our starters at bang on 3:20pm! An hour from sitting down to getting our starters is unacceptable. We are being served by a young Eastern European girl who, so far, has failed to crack a smile which is bringing the mood down a bit. Once the starters came out, all but the soups had arrived and it took another ten minutes for those to come out! The main roast dinners came out fairly quickly which was better but we were quickly disappointed again. The meat was fine. But that's it. The Yorkshire was huge but burnt, I had to ask for gravy as the trickle I had been provided with was just depressing, my stuffing ball was crispy on the outside and cold mush on the inside, the veg on the table was cold and had obviously been sat for a while and the vegetarians option was covered with iceberg lettuce leaves which didn't quite constitute the advertised "side salad". Also watch out for your drinks. We had small Pepsi glasses of lemonade/Pepsi. These are classed as large and charged £2.50 each. Even while I write this the waitress still hasn't smiled either.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keen_rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
0.3 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
344 reviews
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
4 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
513 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Inn

Address: Repton Road, Newton Solney DE15 0SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range: £48 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Unicorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Unicorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing