We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcoming”
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn

The Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Onneley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

On a very sunny Sunday lunch, passing thru, stopped here for lunch to eat outside. Park and play area for kids and benches there to eat. On entering the resteraunt we ordered drinks and asked waitress for menu for food outside. A very stand offish man from behind the bar bellowed over to us,, no food in the children's play area today to the waitress, not even to us. You can eat on the patio, ( 20mtrs closer to the pub than the play area) but not in the park. The waitress was very apologetic and more embarrassed we thought. That's the 2nd rude experience we've had there so won't be returning..
Shame because it's a lovely summers day kinda place to take the kids...

    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wheatsheaf p, Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We apologise unreservedly for your welcome, we served over 200 lunches on Sunday here, and although we are always happy for customers to eat on our patio area, we could not stretch to policing food in the garden on this occasion. Its unfortunate that you felt that your experience was 'terrible'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    7
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service and real value for money.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I recently held my stag party at the Wheatsheaf Inn. It included an afternoon clay pigeon shooting followed by dinner at the restaurant/hotel.

Paul the manager organized everything to perfection.

The shoot was held about 15 mins away, the owners of the shoot were genuinely passionate and never stopped helping, even when some of us were rubbish. Feedback from the group was consistently positive.

Paul (the Wheatsheaf Manager) put on a great steak and ale dinner ( with fish and veggie options) followed by monster cheese board(s). Very generous portions and excellent value for money.

The whole experience was made outstanding by Paul's caring. He went out of his way many times to ensure any request was met. An absolute professional. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piers_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wheatsheaf p, Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“lunch for four”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile


Called in for lunch last week, staff very welcoming food served quickly was well presented & tasted wonderful - only problem was the diners on the next table coughed all through our meal - could not get out quick enough !!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on trent
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Booked a table for my family for the Sunday carvery was not disappointed excellent service and food fantastic value for money will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stokie1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my Family attended around 12.30 on a sunday afternoon, a place we have used before. We all sat outside as it was a lovely day, kids park was brilliant. All going well, until we went to ask for a menu.. Rudely told, we could only have a meat bap outside which were £5.95 or the carvery but she couldn't serve us until 3pm! We asked for a table inside and she insisted it would be 3pm, when I suggested we sit separately as there was 13 of us, she replied with "what do you want me to do, tell the customer's they have to eat faster??" I think that just did it for me and we decided to go elsewhere.. rookery woods down the road who seated us straightaway and the food and service was great :)
When we got served the bar person split half of the drink on the bar, didnt offer to top it up, the staff are extremely rude, im sure it was the manager who we spoke to aswell. Will not be returning, shame really, nice playarea and decor, just a shame about there attitude towards customers.

Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wheatsheaf p, Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Our roast carvery baps were served in the garden all day yesterday, we were fully booked in our restaurant area until c.2.30pm and were unable to estimate a time when tables would become free to accomodate your party. I am sorry if your customer experience was so poor on this ocassion to warrant such a review! Here at The Wheatsheaf, we strive to deliver excellent service and hospitality standards at all times. Booking a table for your family in the future would be advisable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf Inn also viewed

Madeley, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Wrinehill, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing