We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very slow service and the steak was tough”
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn

The Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Onneley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Shropshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very very slow service and the steak was tough”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Thought we'd try the wheat sheaf for the first time as we've recently moved to the area. Four adults and four children 9,6,3 and 2week old baby. Only three other families having a meal so I have no idea why we had to wait such a long time for our food. One family actually cheered when their food came out. Had the prawns to start and that was quite nice but the steak was terribly tough. Weren't given any steak knives so had to ask for those. Left the steak in the end and when asked if everything was ok, we told the waiter the steak was too tough. We didn't get charged for the kids ice creams as compensation but the price comparison between two steaks and three ice creams didn't make up for it to be honest. My sons beans were dried up and the sausages were tiny. Service was poor, far too long of a wait for food even between courses with no excuse. Kids got bored and started running about. Won't be going here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wheatsheaf p, Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We would like to sincerely apologise for your experience here at The Wheatsheaf. Estimating the volume of diners can be deceptive on a hot day, as many of our customers choose to eat in our garden. Despite numbers, we regret the fact that your food was not to standard on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    8
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wheatsheaf Onneley.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Went for Father's Day meal wonderful meal not rushed food lovely, portions very generous .Harry the chef very pleasant, as we're all the staff.Wonderful childrens play area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jepos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“how magical”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

well what a place. My family and I went for fathers day. needles to say they young Gentleman Serving the carvery was so polite and welcoming. The service was "top noch" from the young waitress. Although a little slow when we arrived and needed seating. But the atmosphere throughout the restaurant was relaxed and welcoming. we will be returning soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We found a little gem.stayed one night for rod stewart concert.ate in the afternoon great food great service.good location.after we got back from concert for the England bar stayed open and provided free sandwich and crisps nice touch thank you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 321Phil1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't Go!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

There is a previous comment which seems to be a similar experience to that of ours. We travelled 30mins to go for Sunday lunch at the Wheatsheaf Inn as I had heard that the food was very good. However we never go the chance to order as we were told that no food could be ordered or eaten outside except for a table on the car park right beside the door. As it was a warm sunny day and we had young children who wanted to play on their playground we obviously wanted to make the most of the sun and eat outside. There are tables to eat on the children's area but obviously the staff are to bone idol to make the walk across the cat park with the food! The staff we very unwelcoming, almost most rude and the man behind the bar certainly could do with a little re-training, assuming he is trained, in customer service. Needless to say, as like anybody else whether they have children with them or not, we intended to eat outdoors so carried a little further down the road to The Boar. A lovely meal outdoors with plenty of room for children to play and lovely friendly staff. Perhaps the Wheatsheaf should pay them a visit to gain a few tips!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Suzanne-Gary-Kyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wheatsheaf p, Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
As has been touched on by a previous customer's experience, we were extremely busy and were unable to stretch to policing food in our garden area on this occasion. You were offered a table on our patio area which is nicely furnished adjacent to the pub and certainly not on the car park. It is regretful that you have commented on the quality of the food when you have clearly not experienced it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf Inn also viewed

 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Wrinehill, Staffordshire
 
Wrinehill, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing