We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Rugeley
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Common Farm Motel(Great Haywood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Weston Hall(Stafford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moat House(Acton Trussell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
111
24
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
24
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspecials boardextensive menubirthday lunchcatch upprawnsexcellent foodcouldn tsea basscooked to perfectionfamily celebrationfantastic stayb and bpubsmokiescoltoncidervillage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

really disappointed with the dining experience this time round, been previously and enjoyed it.
Friday evening only one other table occupied, lack of ambience lack of interest and a general lack of that something special that we had on previous visits, and for once we felt we did not receive good value for service and food. It was expensive which is fine if you enjoyed it.
I will say that the food was still good but for £40 each ?

Room Tip: food only did not have an overnight stay
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank missmc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here for one night after visiting Alton Towers. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. We had booked a table for 8pm but as we were running late we phoned ahead to put back our dinner reservation which was no problem at all. In fact we were advised to come downstairs whenever we were ready. The meal was gorgeous and the table service was excellent. Have to say, like many others on Tripadvisor, that the cheesecake is to die for!
Due to the heat and a little noise from downstairs neither of us slept particularly well, but the bed was extremely comfortable and I for one loved the soft, fluffy pillows!
Breakfast again was delicious. And many thanks to the very kind breakfast cook who helped me out with an embarrassing "ladies issue"!
All in all a charming B&B, with excellent food and fabulous hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caggy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We discovered Ye Olde Dun Cow last year when we wanted somewhere to stop overnight on our way to the Lake District and booked two nights, one on the way up and one a week later, taking a chance that it would be as good as advertised.

We were so impressed with everything that we said we would go back to the area and stay a few days, visiting Shrewsbury and other places.

We have just returned from those few days and were left even more impressed than we were originally.

Although named as a B&B it serves evening meals and has Real Ale on tap!

The owners Kristian & Georgie  made us feel almost part of the family and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was clean and comfortable and we have recommended it to my son and family as a place to stay when visiting Alton Towers which is about half an hour's drive away.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a comfortable double with shower.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Met up there for lunch with a couple of friends who were familiar with the establishment. What can I say but the staff were friendly and the food was superb: as well as the regular menu there was a big board of specials. Its a little off the beaten track but punch WS15 3LG into your satnav and get yourself down there!! The Dun Cow smokies is a starter to die for!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jsharpe208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We didn't stay here but had a wonderful evening meal with friends,
we chose different meals so we could get an overall look at what they were offering ,
I have to say I was impressed with all of them, all well presented as well as just right portion sizes,
The cheesecake is to die for.....
Very good food as well as very good customer service who didn't rush you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews