We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rugeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Rugeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uttoxeter
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Poor food.”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Went for a pub lunch to celebrate a birthday . The food was very poor. Tasteless luke warm soup. Dried up curry clearly reheated possibly more than once andwas in fact just a very small amount of brown mush. Halve a nan which was more like a piece of thick bread soaked in oil and very dried up rice. I asked for mango chutney and I don't think it had been heard of before and they certainly had none. Friends had chips which looked like last nights which had been badly warmed through in too cold oil which, saturated them but left them totally inedible, certainly not crisp on the outside and clearly a reheated stale version when you cut them open. Salad was a very small poor offering of chopped up greens with a bottle of something tipped onto it. One of the worst meals I have had in a very long time and I would definitely not recommend going there to anyone again. It wasn't even cheap, a pub chain would have been more appetizing. Overall not an experience I would repeat or recommend. Possibly somewhere trading on a previously good reputation that has long since disappeared. Evening menu looked very expensive and if the lunch time offerings were anything to go by I would rethink your choice of restaurant.

Room Tip: did not stay only ate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suedUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    22
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
53
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed at Ye Olde Dun Cow on Friday as visiting friends in the area. This was our third stay and it was every bit as good as our previous experiences. The pub has a lovely atmosphere with a mix of locals either eating or just having a drink. I wish we had a similar pub in our village. We had a fantastic meal in front of the fire followed by a restful nights sleep and a lovely breakfast in the morning.

As well as really high quality, value for money, food and nice rooms, what makes Ye Olde Dun Cow stand out is the staff. Christian (owner / chef) had specially prepared the potted crayfish that we had requeste, having had it before and even gave us one to take away with us. Georgie (his wife) takes time to have a chat with everyone and make you feel welcome. This really personal level of service is reflected through all the staff to whom nothing is ever a chore and look after you in a friendly and attentive way.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We have always had room no.1 and would definately recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elliottofhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Called here for lunch yesterday (Nov 4) as the place we intended going to for lunch was closed. Absolutely delighted that we did stop here as we both had a delicious meal. A swift greeting by staff as we entered and after placing our drinks order we selected a table and both the drinks and menus were brought quickly. We opted for the 2 course lunch menu at £9.95 and selected garlic mushrooms in cream sauce, homemade fish pie and gammon & eggs. The starters came quickly and were lovely and hot, served with crusty bread. There was plenty of sauce which really needed a spoon to finish. No long wait for the mains either once starters cleared, and my fish pie was certainly homemade with lots of salmon and lovely mashed potato. My partners gammon was a large thick slice cooked perfectly. The sides of vegetables, salad and sautéed potatoes were cooked just enough and not too soft. Although the sweets were tempting I'm afraid we were both too full to try but will do so on our next visit. The pub itself is charming, full of brass and copper and what must be a very inviting log fire on cold days. A definite lucky find with return visits planned.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DianeToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Dropped in on saturday lunchtime I ordered a steak of the special board it was one of the best cooked and tender steaks that I have had for a long time my wife had gammon equally as good the presentation and service was excellant the real ale wonderful thankyou

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We ate here on Monday evening, taking advantage of the Early Bird menu, which can be ordered up to 7pm (3 courses for £12.95). We had wondered whether we would be rushed to make way for later customers paying à la carte prices but not at all; service was very leisurely and we were there 1¾ hours, making for a pleasant evening. Although the pub was quiet, there was a cosy atmosphere and the waitresses were charming and efficient.

All the food was excellent, very hot and the portions of a good size - no attempt to save cost with meagre portions just because it's a cheap deal. My wife's pate and my fish pie were particularly good and there was a lovely selection of vegetables.

Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Ye Old Dun Cow is a pub with accommodation. We stayed a night as we were visiting family in near by Admaston.
We were unable to get access to the room until 545pm, but we had booked a room before we arrived. We were advised at booking time that the only available room was a double with no bathroom, however, the bathroom was next door to the room.
We were happy with this arrangement for one night.
The accommodation is very basic, but clean . Our room did not have space for more than one suitcase and was very small. The toilet and bathroom next door were not sound proof and we were woken several times through the night by visitors to the bathroom. We had booked at table for dinner and the meal was very acceptable and the breakfast the next morning was substantial, but there had been no fresh deliveries of milk etc that morning.
The staff were exceptionally nice, but try as they may they could not get us any Internet access.
The pub is situated in the small village of Colton, near Rugley and would not be a must do destination unless there was business or friends in the area.
For one night it was acceptable, but I was surprised that it had received a Trip Advisor prize.

John D

Room Tip: Rooms with ensuite best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We see the Dun Cow as our local friendly restaurant, so we asked them if they could cater for 30+ people (our extended family) for a three course meal at lunchtime on a Saturday for a family celebration. We had a menu for everyone to make their choices in advance and it could be varied to allow for children etc. We had a lovely time. Everything was ready for us, and they waited for latecomers (due to traffic). All three courses and coffees were served quickly and efficiently by friendly staff. Everyone commented on the great food and wondered how on earth they managed to serve so many different meals to so many people so efficiently. They gave us just what we wanted - a friendly atmosphere where our extended family could catch up and chat over a lovely meal in a warm and friendly village inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmo228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rugeley hotels
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Rugeley
Travelodge Rugeley
#2 of 3 in Rugeley
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colton House
Colton House
#1 of 10 in Rugeley
405 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Shoulder of Mutton Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Rugeley Hotel
3.4 mi away
Silver Trees Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn

Property: Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn
Address: 73 High Street | Colton, Rugeley WS15 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rugeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at the excellently situated Dun-Cow Inn in Colton, Staffordshire. This charismatic inn is home to not only a bed & breakfast, but a charming old English pub with an idyllic beer garden. Surrounded by green countryside, this inn boasts log fires and a relaxing atmosphere, where the comfort of the guests is the main concern. Whether you are visiting nearby Alton Towers or would enjoy walking in the beautiful Cannock Chase, Ye Olde Dun-Cow Inn offers a delightful atmosphere and the best in Staffordshire hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Dun Cow Hotel Rugeley
Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn Rugeley, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing