We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit - Perfect!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rugeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blithfield Lakeside Barns
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Second Visit - Perfect!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having had a memorable and enjoyable stay her last year with the family, 29 of us decided to descend of Blithfield Lakeside Barns this year to.

We arrived on Friday 11th April for a 3 night stay. The cottages were clean, welcoming and even had a bottle of wine and milk in the fridge to welcome us- lovely touch!

The location is perfect if your after a peaceful break away with the family. Maxine the owner is very helpful, efficient and friendly and is more than happy to help out with any queries.

In the process of booking trip number 3!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xEmilyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed for a group reunion of 20+ and had 4 cottages. All we're perfect, clean and spacious.
The owners were fantastic in making our stay as we wanted it by providing extra tables so we could all eat together.
The location on the lake is stunning, great for a brisk walk.
Couldn't have asked for a better overall package.
Will definitely be recommending to others!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pipstant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a great place for a quiet getaway.
Cottages are really homely and comfortable with everything you'll need to keep you occupied and cater for yourselves.
Location is excellent for discovering the area and all cottages have wonderful views of the lake and beyond.
Most importantly though, the owners care about you as customers and want you to have an enjoyable stay.
We had a problem whilst we were there with "noisy neighbours". We were moved to another cottage for our comfort and the troublemakers were dealt with very efficiently.
It's nice to know that places still exist where the "silent" majority are treated with respect.
We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Second time at the cottages. Had a brilliant time. Love the space and grounds for the kids to play on. The reservoir makes the place feel like we're really away. Well recommended if you just want to get away with no frills. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed here for the second time as part of a big family gathering over the weekend. Unfortunately I feel standards have dropped since last year, cob webs are everywhere, windowsills, beams in the lamps, nothing a duster couldn't reach! The bathrooms also need a good scrub, lots of mould and mildew in the shower cubicle, doesn't feel clean and the shower are far from powerful! Kitchen pans and utensils were rusty and dirty, everything needed washing or going in the dish washer before use. We rented out most of the cottages apart from 2 so I speak on behalf of all of them.

On the plus side, good location and lovely scenery. Would visit the area again, lots to do with families of all ages but I probably wouldn't stay at the cottages again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roshn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine B, Owner at Blithfield Lakeside Barns, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
I am terrible sorry that you have were not happy with the cleanliness etc of our cottages but I am both distressed and confused by your comments. We have not had any complaints of this nature in the 10 years since we opened and if there was a problem I wish you had pointed it out while you were with us and given us a chance to rectify it. You say you are representing the whole of your group yet the comments posted on 4th July I believe were from one of your party who gave us 5 stars and also the party organizer wrote thanking us for a wonderful stay again (2nd time) and stating she hope to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We booked all the cottages for a family celebration in April 2013. We had a brilliant time. All the cottages were lovely and comfortable, and the surrounding area beautiful. The owners were very helpful prior to our stay and when we managed to lock ourselves out came to our rescue very quickly!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherring2ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Myself and 22 other members of the family hired the cottages (except grebe) for 3 nights from Friday 5th April 2013 - Monday 8th April 2013. On arrival we were truely taken back by the location and the quality of the cottages. Each cottage was decorated and kitted out to a high standard. We were even greeted by a pint of milk in the fridge and a bottle of wine in each cottage, what a lovely touch. We mainly gathered in Heron cottage and there was plenty of room for all 23 of us to eat, drink and enjoy the weekend together. We were lucky enough to have the sun shinning most of the weekend so made the most of the patio area at the rear of the cottages, with views of hot air balloons, microlights and a wide variety of wild birds. I do agree with Hay0211 that the website does not do the cottages any justice. We absolutely loved these cottages and are in the process of booking for next year already even though we only returned yesterday. Thank you for making our weekend so Brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xEmilyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugeley
6.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
8.1 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
807 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colton House
Colton House
#1 of 10 in Rugeley
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Wychnor Park Country Club
Wychnor Park Country Club
#1 of 1 in Barton-under-Needwood
438 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Rugeley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blithfield Lakeside Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blithfield Lakeside Barns

Property: Blithfield Lakeside Barns
Address: St. Stephens Hill Farm Steenwood Lane | Steenwood Lane, Adamston, Rugeley WS15 3NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Rugeley
Hotel Class:4 star — Blithfield Lakeside Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blithfield Lakeside Barns Rugeley, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing