We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent eatery”
Review of Ash Tree

Ash Tree
Ranked #53 of 64 Restaurants in Rugeley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Ash Tree is a Marston's two for one restaurant. We have a wide variety of meals on our special boards that change on a regular basis.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent eatery”
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

Booked in advance as this country pub gets very busy, its just on the outskirts of rugeley town centre. Very friendly staff and helpful staff. The food was excellent and everyone around is enjoying their meals too. Would recommend to anyone,it had been a few years since I last went there. Will hopefully going again soon :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    97
    72
    71
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“standard”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

to big a menu, should keep to the basics, 2 4 1 menu so you get what you pay for - microwave classics except for the grill items

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK/IBZ
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good menu choice and great meals.”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

There is very good choice of meals on the Menu. They do 2 for 1 meals every night and on a Wednesday they do 2 Currys and 2 beers for £11.00. Also they do 2 Sundays lunches and 2 puddings for £15.00 great value. I had the Tikka Masala, naan bread and popadoms it was lovely. There is a large play area and outside seating area which looks really pretty at night with fairy lights. You can also sit along the canal and eat your meal also weather permitting. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickyaskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good lately.”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We live near the ash tree and it has become our regular place for family get togethers and birthdays etc.It has improved vastly since last year and the food is now plentiful and of a good standard , the steaks being our favourite.Service is good as are the prices.
It is nice sitting in the garden by the canal in the summer where the kids can play on the park.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ash25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ash Tree”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Called in on a Saturday night at 6pm and just managed to get a table for 4 after a 10 minute wait, so booking is recommended.Deciding what to have took an age as there was a good selection of meals, From ordering our meals to being served was about 15 minutes and the place was full so we were impressed.
Food was hot and really nice and the service was quick so we all had our food at the same time.
There is an outdoor seating area that has been renewed since our last visit with a play area as well.
The price of the meals vary but you only pay for the dearest meal and you get the second FREE so for four of us it cost £22 ,What a bargain....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ash Tree also viewed

Rugeley, Staffordshire
Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent
 
Rugeley, Staffordshire
Rugeley, Staffordshire
 

Been to Ash Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing