We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”

Longdon Old Hall Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rugeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Longdon Old Hall Farm
Ranked #9 of 10 Rugeley B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed overnight whilst visiting the area for a family party. Andrew was very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the main building which has some lovely original features, including the odd bit of sloping floor, (so you might not have had quite as many drinks as it feels). The rooms are immaculate, and the beds are very comfortable. Our rooms weren't en-suite but the bathroom and shower room were just across the landing and were gleaming. For breakfast there are plenty of cereals to choose from, plus fresh bread for toast, all finished off with a supberb full english breakfast cooked by Andrew. You can look out over the beautuful countryside and see horses, cattle and sheep; and you might have a visit from Mel, the sheepdog who is afraid of sheep (Andrew can tell you the full story). When we need accommodation again in this area we will certainly look no further than Longdon Old Mill Farm.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We spent just one night there during the weekend. Andrew was very welcoming and accommodating (he asked at what time we preferred having breakfast). Good big room, big tasty breakfast, good bathroom, beautiful location. The cherry on the cake that made my day: we fed milk in a bottle to the lambs in the morning!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the second time we stayed here and again it is fantastic!
Last time we stayed in the annex but this time Andrew put us in the attic , we were the only ones in the main house and felt really privileged to have this opportunity .
The room was rustic with beams and a really really comfy bed !!!
Breakfast was great once again , as I am vegetarian I was asked what I would like and Andrew offered an omelette it was fantastic very filling with fresh ingredients !
We both sat and enjoyed our breakfast in the grand room with the sheep dog wondering through, we gazed through the window at the lambs bouncing round the fields .... You cannot start your day any better !
As for Andrews mum , she isn't well and we missed her .... What a great character!
If you are venturing in the area you 'must' stay and enjoy this experience .

Room Tip: I don't think which room you choose you can go wrong !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends whilst staying in the area to watch a concert in Cannock Chase forest. Andrew, the owner was really welcoming, making us tea and shortbread once we got there. We had one room in the main house- two singles and a double. A fridge was provided on the landing. The overall style was rustic but beautifully clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Some of the party were in the self contained flat which was well appointed and again very clean. Breakfast was fantastic- right down to the homemade jam and unlimited tea and coffee. Can't recommend this place highly enough...we will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay for over night after my sisters wedding. Very friendly, rooms great. Food great very accommodating of dietary needs. I am Celiac and host was able to give me alternatives so I didn't feel left out. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewinborns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

If you are on business and you have to work a long way away from home Longdon Old Hall is a real find. It is comfortable, reasonably priced and good quality - a home from home, important if you are away from home for most of the week, most weeks.

Longdon Old Hall offers it all, lovely rural location, clean, comfortable, full of character, excellent hospitality. Andrew does serve an excellent breakfast in the 17th century oak panelled dining room. The B&B does what they do so well, they have a regular clientele who have created a real community during the week.

Just a word of warning. The elderly mother can inexplicably decide she doesn't like the look of you. She can be REALLY unpleasant. Be warned and give her a VERY wide berth. This is why, despite the fact that the service is generally excellent, no guest should ever have to be subjected to the kind of vitriol she dishes out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carolsoriginalprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at the farm when we were visiting the National Arboretum with our 91 year old father. As dad cannot do stairs very well he was allocated a ground floor double room with no premium. We stayed in the main farmhouse and the room was very good, although the en-suite would benefit from an update (and a hairdryer).

Andrew was most attentive and knowledgeable about the area and couldn't do enough for us. The dining room is 16th century and oak panelled. Breakfast is extensive and well presented.

Location was good for us but not the easiest to find in the dark, A car is essential.

If we stay in the area again we won't look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you can get the apartment/family unit you shouldn't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugeley
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Rugeley Hotel
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cannock (Orbital) Hotel
4.9 mi away
Colton House
Colton House
#1 of 10 in Rugeley
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
St Johns House
St Johns House
#2 of 11 in Lichfield
259 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cannock
212 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Shoulder of Mutton Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longdon Old Hall Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longdon Old Hall Farm

Property: Longdon Old Hall Farm
Address: Longdon Old Hall Farm Thorleys Hill | Longdon, Rugeley WS15 4NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rugeley
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Longdon Old Hall Farm Rugeley, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing