We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by appearances!!”
Review of Cedar Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rugeley
Reviewed 17 June 2008

I found the hotel on the internet, thought it looked lovely, reasonable price, so booked it - we were a party of 5, so took 3 rooms. When I got there, I was a bit disappointed - like others, I thought the outside was in need of TLC, and it was more like a pub. How wrong can I be!!

Room nothing special but very clean and comfortable beds - details like lined curtains to keep light out appreciated. But the service and food!! We stayed 3 nights, ate there each evening and raved about it so much that 2 friends joined us on the Sunday night, who said they'd thought we were exaggerating about the food service and atmosphere but realised we weren't!!

Truly amazing - I've stayed in my share of 4 / 5 star hotels but never have I been as well treated as here - Tom and Eva's hospitality has to be tried to be believed!! And all the comments about breakfast - they don't do it justice - you could have breakfast and not eat the rest of the day!!

Will definitely stay again if in area!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Broomsticklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2008

The exterior of this hotel gives the impression that it has closed down, there was an old bed in the garden across from reception and a load of junk visible in a room in one of the outbuildings. The car park at the rear looks like some waste ground.

The reception area looks ok but shock horror! very poor decoration on the way up the stairs to the room. The room was clean and comfortable but very dated. What seemed to be watered down soap in the dispensers so make sure you bring your own. Wooden floor in the room, this is a first for me and made it feel cold in the morning.

I did not eat in the hotel during the evening but had breakfast which was nice but there may have been a problem with the toaster burning rather than toasting.

Based on the fact that the choice in Rugeley seems to be the Travelodge or this hotel, this is the best of a bad couple, they did not seem to have many guests which might be a reflection on the need to improve the facilities. I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Truetripadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2007

i stayed at the cedar tree while visiting friends for a short break. what a great hotel. the staff were frendly very helpful. the food was excellent with lots af diffrent menus to choose from. the bar & waiting staff were very polite, the service was fantastic. the rooms were very clean&beds very comfortable we also had a power shower.

i would advise anyone visiting this area to stay at the Cedar Tree Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rachael86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

i stayed in this hotel for three nights at the beggining of september and i have to say i was really taken aback by the whole experience, i stay at hotels across the country some good, some not so good but this place has really got it right.
i booked it over the internet through the hotels own website which was very informative and easy to use. when i arrived i was greeted with a freindly face, my room was on the front of the hotel which at first i thought might be a problem with the noise of the main road but there was no problem at all and the room was cleaned to a very high standard.In the residents bar their was a frendly atmosphere and unlike some places i stay it was female freindly, you can eat in the bar or the resaurant and the food was first class during the three days i was there the chef changed the menu twice and all the food was freshly cooked, well presented and served with a smile.the owner was in the bar a couple of nights and he really did go the extra mile with people,he gave me a drink on the house and made sure i was always looked after.checking out was quick and easy, but the best thing i thought about the whole hotel was BREAKFAST! it was stunning anything you want from kipper to eggs benedict to omlettes to full english again all freshly cooked to order and the cold buffet was full and spoiling everybody for choice. overall i would seriously recommend this place to anyone and i hope to revisit again soon some of these other reveiws ive read really dont do them justice.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank waynetta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

I'm just back from a wedding which was held at this hotel. I will admit, when you see the front of the hotel you wouldn't expect much, reception is small and the common areas in the hotel definitely need a lick of paint, however, room was spotless, not too small, could do with a little bit of updating but that's it. Wedding itself was excellent, room was beautifully presented, food wonderful and staff were fantastic. Brekkie the next morning was full irish (owner I believe, is from tipperary) and was cooked to order, rather than cold soggy buffet style which some hotels choose to serve. All in all, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Daisybelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

I stayed at the cedar tree hotel back in July as a business women I get to stay in some good and not so good places my 3 nights stay was fantastic best places ive stayed in for a while the food was good the pricing was excellent rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly I will be staying at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cassy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2007

I stayed at the Cedar Tree on a business trip recently and was pretty happy with the place overall. The bar's nice, though I do think the restaurant tries a bit too hard to be a "fine dining experience" where I think they'd be better going for a cosy country feel. I couldn't quite figure out why every course had to come on a different shaped plate, or why the plates where black!!! The food was pretty good though which is the main thing.

The hotel room, though not totally to my taste, was perfectly acceptable and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rossi6920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugeley
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Rugeley
Travelodge Rugeley
#2 of 3 in Rugeley
157 reviews
1 mi away
Premier Inn Rugeley Hotel
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
2.7 mi away
Colton House
Colton House
#1 of 9 in Rugeley
431 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Shoulder of Mutton Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Tree Hotel

Address: 118 Main Road, Rugeley WS15 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rugeley
Price Range: £49 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Cedar Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Tree Rugeley
Cedar Tree Hotel Rugeley, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing