We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“much improved” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cedar Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rugeley
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“much improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Room was booked by my company. So much better, rooms look alot cleaner and better presented!! Reception girl was so helpful and polite, lovely trate!! The breakfast was very nice but it was such a shame it was served by a very ignorant man, wearing a cap and jumper, his body odour was over powering and honestly put me off my breakfast!! Sort out the body odour!!

Room Tip: The rooms need updating nothing a bit of paint wouldnt fix!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    15
    20
    24
    39
See reviews for
20
23
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Me and my two friends stayed here whist going to V... I personally have stayed before! Last time the rooms were shabby looking, duvets hanging to the floor, damp smells in rooms and generally untidy, however this time I was plesently surprised to find a neat and tidy bed, clean rooms that smelt fresh and looked nice and clean! We even had biscuits this time. The reception area smelt lovely on arrival and was spotless! Reception girl was kind and polite! The breakfast was scrummy and was enough to feed two!! All in all a huge improvement! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night as was working in the area and employer booked it as was only hotel on region that was available. Room was dirty, bedding smelt, shower broken, noisy, and overall a terrible experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori_BouncePR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rugeley hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed for one night in desperate need of a refurb !!!! Not a bad breakfast but had to share it with scruffy foul mouthed yobs bragging about their conquests the night before!!! They had kept my daughter awake all night with their antics and if the hotel wants family to stay there need to look at their policies around noise abatement !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiedee1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here or should I say tried to stay here for one night a few weeks ago!!!

What a hell hole is all I can say!! Staff were friendly but the place was horrendous, and I have never written a bad review in my life. Ceiling falling down, wallpaper hanging off, carpet in bathroom, mouldy windows, mildew! And that's before you even get to the room, which described as a sauna!! Radiators on full in the July heat as couldn't turn them off if wanted hot water!!

Terrible experience within an hour we booked a new hotel down the road!! No refund when asked either

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicityhildreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as I was down for a friends birthday, the young lady checking me in was very good and really friendly, the rooms were a little bit shabbier than I expected but it was only for one night but I wouldn't want to stay for longer than that.
That said there was nothing wrong with then as such it just felt like no one had been in them for a long time bit musty old house theme going on.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopley1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I Didn't like carpet in the bathroom and being asked what I wanted for breakfast then waiting till I noticed it wasn't on the plate before telling me they had run out...stressful. On the plus side the Fish and Chip shop over the road was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil6340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugeley
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Rugeley Hotel
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock
8.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Shoulder of Mutton Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Tree Hotel

Property: Cedar Tree Hotel
Address: 118 Main Road, Rugeley WS15 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rugeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Tree Rugeley
Cedar Tree Hotel Rugeley, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing