We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good English Food”

Bull and Spectacles
Ranked #19 of 64 Restaurants in Rugeley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
uk
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good English Food”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Visited here today for a lunch time meal, excellent value for money 2 course meal for £5.95. the food was well cooked plentiful very tasty, traditional English food, served with a smile as staff very accommodating and helpful, we are trying to find a traditional restaurant serving home cooked food and I think that we have found it in the Bull and spectacles, only down side was the rooms were a bit on the chilly side. lovely old country pub.. will definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sussieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    17
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, friendly service.”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We went for a meal last night, were a little surprised to notice no cars in the carpark and no customers inside, however apart from feeling slightly awkward at first the visit was really good.

The staff member was friendly but not imposing and the venue was beautifully decorated to fit with the feel and age of the building. The open fire was roasting and gave some much needed comfort from the cold night outside.

Food came in good time and every single dish was gorgeous, I've never tasted better chips, simply crunchy outside and fluffy inside. Perfect!

All in all, it's one of the best visits we've had at a pub in a long while and we will be going again soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Old-Fashioned Country Pub”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We were in the area as we had visited the reindeer centre next door and fancied a spot of lunch. We found this pub to be friendly and welcoming. The food was hearty and tasty, and it was a really refreshing change to eat in an old-fashioned family owned pub instead of the usual chains that seem to have taken over a lot of country pubs these days. The staff were very helpful and polite and we really enjoyed the food, which was reasonably priced and very fresh. We commented on the relaxed and convivial atmosphere and will definitely return if we're in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingStar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous birthday meal.”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We brought my dad here for his 70th birthday, as a group of eight. Our meals consisted of 4 mixed grills (huge!) with various 'tweaks' due to fussy eaters and allergies, two braised lamb shank meals, a curry, and a rump steak with the trimmings. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals without exception. The staff were very attentive and genuinely enjoyed providing a fantastic service. I can honestly say that this was one of the best meals out that I have had in a very long while. Thank you, and well done - we shall be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glenjarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lazy lunch”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Went for a ride out over Rugely and decided to go through the little villages round Colton and that way.Ended upon the Uttoxeter Road and although stands on its own as the management say "in the sticks" came across this little pub/restaurant.The view out the back was amazing deer mingling with goats roaming around. First time we had cold lunch absolutely lovely so decided to go back again for hot lunch.Couldnt fault a thing and so much on plates .We have recommended to friends and will certainly be back again ourselves.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janice l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bull and Spectacles also viewed

Rugeley, Staffordshire
Rugeley, Staffordshire
 
Abbots Bromley, Rugeley
 

Been to Bull and Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing