We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, comfortable, friendly , great service and beautifully cooked food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colton House
Ranked #1 of 10 Rugeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stylish, comfortable, friendly , great service and beautifully cooked food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Colton House over Christmas - it's a beautiful house with amazing ceilings, exceptionally tasteful with decor to a very high standard. The owners are a lovely couple who cater to your every need. They are friendly and offer a very warm welcome. All the veg and much of the produce is locally sourced- veg from their garden and Ron's breakfasts are worth getting up for! We had a very cosy and happy stay and will certainly return in the not too distant future. Thank you Colton House! Happy new year x

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We love having guests to stay over Christmas as it brings our house alive and gives a great atmosphere that everybody can enjoy.
We are pleased that we gave you a new insight in ceilings and that you found out what all the other guests had been talking about! We enjoyed having you here and pleased that you appreciated the way we have refurbished the house.
Thank you for wishing us a Happy New Year it been great so far and we hope that yours is as good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    26
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
182
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Fantastic quality and attention to detail in the rooms and the food.
We stayed for one night in the four poster room, we had dinner which was beautiful and breakfast which again was amazing. From the moment we came we were welcomed with open arms, Ron could not do enough for us. This place is a little gem for such High quality we were amazed at what a good price dinner, drink and the the stay all came to. We will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Four Poster room was lovely but I think all rooms would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Many thanks for your review we are glad that you enjoyed dinner and also breakfast. Ron has been trying some new recipes for dinner lately so glad that these went down well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

A really fantastic trip. Attention to detail was excellent. Soft furnishing excellent. Décor was in keeping with the original property. The Breakfast was very good. The staff got up early to cook it personally for a very early start. You don't get this style and service in a Premier Inn.

Room Tip: The Summer room was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and making an effort to leave us a great review. Its is Gay's eye for detail and colour co-ordination that helps make the rooms look wonderful. Ron is the early bird and is up at 5am, so we start breakfasts from that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

From the moment I walked through the door, the welcome was warm and relaxing. This establishment is first class throughout. If you require a base for touring around this part of the UK, please consider Colton House. You will not be disappointed. Luxury at very good rates. Hospitality that would make you feel like an ambassador. My only problem was I could only stay 1 night, maybe next time I can spend more time here. 10 out of 10. Ron`s eye for detail with the decor of the rooms and the quality furnishings is exceptional. Pure Excellence. Looking forward to my next visit.
Mr King
Dublin
Ireland.

Room Tip: Book it before it goes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKing122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thanks for a wonderful review and appreciating that there is more than one side to the business. Gay has to spend hours/days/weeks going out to research all the retail establishments of the land in order to find the right materials/lights etc!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Its like staying in the house you wish your parents had. They even waited up for me ... just like home. This is a lovely place, with great food, and exceptionally friendly hosts. A breakfast that will see you most definitely through the day is assured - and its local or from the garden. If you need somewhere for work this is better than any Travel/Sleep Inn Lodge rubbish. Ron is a legend. Long live Colton House.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djb1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thanks for a great review and for turning Ron into a legend in his own lifetime. We appreciate the time and effort taken in doing a review and are pleased that you felt happy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed at. Fantastic quality and attention to detail. Also, a top quality breakfast. It is located in a very quiet little village. I had a stroll up the road to a great pub also for an evening meal, "Ye Old Dun Cow". Highly recommend this place, and would definitely stay again. Either on business as this trip was, or, for a nice weekend retreat with your nearest and dearest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Many thanks for sharing your thoughts on your stay. Although Colton is a small village approx 600 people there is a vibrancy about, there is always something going on at the village hall, line dancing etc as well as at the two pubs. One of our regular guests joined one of the pubs teams and so had his name on the cup when they won that year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I recently stayed at Colton House and received a very warm welcome. The house is beautiful and its in a lovely village. All staff were great and the breakfast was superb. There was free wifi available. Couldn't ask for more really. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Softsoutherner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
We do appreciate that you have left a great review for us and that you appreciated the house and village. There are some wonderful walks in the neighborhood, even if its only up to the pub and back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugeley
24.6 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
7.3 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Rugeley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
8.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
20.1 mi away
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton House

Property: Colton House
Address: Colton House Bellamour Way | Colton, Rugeley WS15 3LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rugeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Colton House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Colton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton House Rugeley, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing